We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room for the price!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Desert Palms Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Desert Palms Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Desert Palms Hotel & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   631 West Katella Avenue, Anaheim, CA 92802   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #24 of 115 Hotels in Anaheim
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Fowler, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great room for the price!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We have stayed here 2 times now. It is close enough if you are up for a walk to Disneyland. They have a nice free breakfast on the top floor so can can see Disneyland as you eat. The last time I asked for a upgrade I am not sure if I got one or not but it was definitely bigger than a standard room. It's a good location and the price is usually very good although you must check it seems like sometimes they are way higher than at others. The parking gets quite crowded and is a little hard to find sometimes, but overall it's a good place to stay.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,598 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    672
    528
    223
    94
    81
See reviews for
1,069
116
13
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (411)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sfo
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

What a great plalce to stay for 5 nights. Front desk so friendly. Ya gotta love that Sand Bar - those fish tacos were the best!!!! The service at the Sand Bar was excellant. They are so friendly and accomodating. It was like being at home staying at this facility. Altho my heater in the room was not working, the engineer followed up to be sure he got it fixed and the even on the next day, he wanted to double check everything was fine............NOW that's what I call a nice touch. I definitely would recommend this place. I didn't make use of t he spa so can not provide any comments but that pool sure looked inviting. Breakfast was fabulous - a large clean seating room with some outside seating. Some good healthy choices to start your day. Thank you Desert Palms.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Front desk staff, very friendly and helpful. Rooms and breakfast area very clean. Room was small (we had the king bed/bunk bed configuration). Real plates and silverware would have elevated the breakfast considerably. All that trash being created, and trying to eat with those flimsy forks and knives... And the coffee...sigh. Coming from the Pacific NW, the coffee in the breakfast room was terrible. The"in room coffee" was also a joke. A single serve coffee maker with only one serving of coffee (also terrible). The ABC market around the corner had Seattle's best which saved us. The breakfast had a good selection, but after a few mornings, the scrambled eggs seemed a little contrived. Fresh fruit was whole oranges and apples. Internet was slow during busy times. 10 minute walk from disneyland, that was convenient.
Next time I think we will splurge and stay at a Disney hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadbeach, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We arrived early in the morning after a long flight from Australia and were advised our room would not be available until appox 12 noon. We went across the road to Ihop for breakfast and returned a short time later. The lovely girls on reception, who could tell we were very tired, advised us they had upgraded us to a room that was available. We had a fantastic time, Disneyland was in walking distance, room was fantastic and breakfast was great. We are a family of 2 adults and 2 teenage children and would definitely recommend Desert Palms.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

My sister and I ran a race in Disneyland this last weekend, and the Desert Palms was the perfect place for us to stay. Close enough to the park, but not right in the thick of things. We got a wonderful upgrade to a larger room (bonus!), and the room was clean, quiet, and well appointed. The shower water pressure wasn't great, but it was plenty hot! Having the fridge in the room was nice, as we kept water and snacks in there. We slept through the night (couldn't hear the neighbors, which is rarely the case in hotel rooms), and the staff couldn't have been sweeter. We got free parking (again, bonus!), and it was just what we needed. The breakfast was a little lacking, but for such a great deal, we didn't really care.

Room Tip: I always ask for a higher-level floored room, away from the elevator. It always works well for me!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I stayed here (while 8 months pregnant) with my 3 yr old son and 62 yr old mother for 3 nights. We rented a 1 bedroom suite with kitchen.

The Good:
Clean, well appointed kitchen with a nearly full sized refrigerator, walking distance to Disneyland, decent pool, friendly staff, reasonable prices (used AAA rate). Comfortable beds. Plenty of room. Free full breakfast! :)

Not so good:
While it is walkable to Disney it was a little far for a 3 yr old, 62 yr old and 30-something old prego. We walked it both ways the first day and took the city shuttle after that. The pull-out couch sofa is horrible to sleep on. The pool is a bit small but this really didn't bother me because we didn't spend much time there.

Would I stay again? Absolutely! That being said, I am going to try and find something a little bit closer next time. I'm just not sure I will be able to find another 1 bedroom suite as this one. If not, we'll be staying here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

Comfortable rooms. Stayed in a double suite ( 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms)- worked great for a mom,dad, 2 kids and grandparents. Super friendly staff - very accommodating! Allowed us to keep our luggage in storage until we could check in. Parking easy. As well allowed us to leave vehicle after we checked out so we could finish off another entire day at Disney. Good walking distance fr Disneyland - a comfortable walk and nice unwind when comin back fr the park. Breakfast great - scrambled eggs, sausage, fresh waffles, fresh fruit, oatmeal, cereal. When busy could use more stations and tables (do have an overflow room but a little ways away. Ordered food through room service -was fast, good and inexpensive ( had a $10 pizza deal at the time). Would absolutely stay there again. Very happy.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
#3 of 115 in Anaheim
4.5 of 5 stars 622 reviews
0.2 mi away
Castle Inn and Suites
Castle Inn and Suites
#11 of 115 in Anaheim
4.0 of 5 stars 1,126 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ramada Plaza Anaheim
Ramada Plaza Anaheim
#34 of 115 in Anaheim
4.0 of 5 stars 946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn Anaheim Resort
0.7 mi away
Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites at Anaheim Resort/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Palms Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Palms Hotel & Suites

Address: 631 West Katella Avenue, Anaheim, CA 92802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Anaheim
#7 Business Hotel in Anaheim
#22 Family Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Desert Palms Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Desert Palms Hotel and Suites is located in the heart of the Anaheim Resort. It is right on the corner of business and pleasure; located next door to the Disneyland Resort and across the street from the Anaheim Convention Center. Along with our spacious rooms and suites we offer Free Breakfast, Free Parking, and a Free Hot Breakfast Buffet. All rooms and suites come equipped with a microwave, mini-fridge and coffee maker. You are sure to find the perfect place for your family vacation at the Desert Palms Hotel. Our room offering start with the Deluxe Room, which offers 2 queen beds and continues with a number of different suites. Our Borrego Suites offers a sunken living room with sofa sleeper for up to 6 people. Our Yuha Kids Suite offers a bunk bed for the kids! Our Sahara Condo Suite offers a full kitchen, perfect for longer stays. Our largest room, the Kalahari Family Suite sleeps up to 8 people with 2 private bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. There is something for everyone at the Desert Palms Hotel. Kids will have a blast at our arcade corner and even have their own special check in at our Kids Registration. In the lobby they can start the scavenger hunt to find our hidden Mickey and Minnie and receive a prize! Our lobby also features a photo kiosk, perfect for taking that family photo and uploading it straight to Facebook or Twitter. Choose the Desert Palms Hotel for your next Anaheim Vacation and Experience the Oasis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Desert Palms Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Palms Hotel And Suites
Desert Palms Anaheim
Desert Palms Hotel Suites
Desert Palms Hotel Anaheim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Desert Palms Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.