We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, quick, one-night stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Desert Palms Hotel & Suites

Save Saved
You added Desert Palms Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Desert Palms Hotel & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   631 West Katella Avenue, Anaheim, CA 92802   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Free Hot Breakfast + 10%
Ranked #15 of 112 hotels in Anaheim
GreenLeadersBronze level
Portland, OR
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great, quick, one-night stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

My sister and I ran a race in Disneyland this last weekend, and the Desert Palms was the perfect place for us to stay. Close enough to the park, but not right in the thick of things. We got a wonderful upgrade to a larger room (bonus!), and the room was clean, quiet, and well appointed. The shower water pressure wasn't great, but it was plenty hot! Having the fridge in the room was nice, as we kept water and snacks in there. We slept through the night (couldn't hear the neighbors, which is rarely the case in hotel rooms), and the staff couldn't have been sweeter. We got free parking (again, bonus!), and it was just what we needed. The breakfast was a little lacking, but for such a great deal, we didn't really care.

Room Tip: I always ask for a higher-level floored room, away from the elevator. It always works well for me!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,342 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    571
    437
    183
    78
    73
See reviews for
887
98
12
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I stayed here (while 8 months pregnant) with my 3 yr old son and 62 yr old mother for 3 nights. We rented a 1 bedroom suite with kitchen.

The Good:
Clean, well appointed kitchen with a nearly full sized refrigerator, walking distance to Disneyland, decent pool, friendly staff, reasonable prices (used AAA rate). Comfortable beds. Plenty of room. Free full breakfast! :)

Not so good:
While it is walkable to Disney it was a little far for a 3 yr old, 62 yr old and 30-something old prego. We walked it both ways the first day and took the city shuttle after that. The pull-out couch sofa is horrible to sleep on. The pool is a bit small but this really didn't bother me because we didn't spend much time there.

Would I stay again? Absolutely! That being said, I am going to try and find something a little bit closer next time. I'm just not sure I will be able to find another 1 bedroom suite as this one. If not, we'll be staying here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

Comfortable rooms. Stayed in a double suite ( 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms)- worked great for a mom,dad, 2 kids and grandparents. Super friendly staff - very accommodating! Allowed us to keep our luggage in storage until we could check in. Parking easy. As well allowed us to leave vehicle after we checked out so we could finish off another entire day at Disney. Good walking distance fr Disneyland - a comfortable walk and nice unwind when comin back fr the park. Breakfast great - scrambled eggs, sausage, fresh waffles, fresh fruit, oatmeal, cereal. When busy could use more stations and tables (do have an overflow room but a little ways away. Ordered food through room service -was fast, good and inexpensive ( had a $10 pizza deal at the time). Would absolutely stay there again. Very happy.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Stayed at the hotel for business in January every year for, at least, the past decade. The hotel is exceptional with friendly, helpful staff and excellent services. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the area.

We will continue to return to this hotel year as I don't think the value, service and location can be beaten.

Thank you so much for years of excellent service.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This hotel was perfect for our whirlwind trip to Disneyland in October. When looking at accommodations I wanted three main things: 1) close proximity to the parks, 2) a suite with separate sleeping area for the kids, and 3) a place that was clean and reasonably updated. The Desert Palms Hotel & Suites delivered on all counts, and had free daily breakfast included as an added bonus (not gourmet, but definitely ample and good enough to get us going in the mornings).

Location is great - right across the street from California Adventure and a well-lit, quick (even with a 3 and 5 year old on foot) walk to the main gates. We spent three nights in a Yuha Suite, and loved the layout with the kids in bunk beds separated from our bed by a wall/window and sliding door. Our 4th floor room was clean, comfortable, equipped with a mini-fridge and enough towels/bedding for everyone, and even had a view of the fireworks. Maybe it was because we were up pretty early and absolutely exhausted at night, but we never had any issues with noise from neighbors or the hallway.

Check-in/check-out were quick and easy, and all staff we encountered were friendly and patient. The pool and spa are not particularly large or scenic (they're entirely surrounded by the hotel itself with very little deck), but were clean and well-heated. The 7-Eleven next door is super convenient for drinks/snacks, and we enjoyed a tasty pizza from the restaurant in the hotel lobby one night.

All in all, this place wasn't fancy but had everything we were looking for and more! We will definitely plan on another stay at the Desert Palms next time we visit Disneyland.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed here while on our trip to Disneyland. The location was very close and on average took about 10 min to walk from the park to the room. We stayed in the suite with the kids bunk beds. Since we were with my inlaws we gave them the queen bed in the other room and my wife and I "slept" on the pull out mattress. The pullout was extremely uncomfortable. You could literary see the waves in it from the gouging support beams. Mid way through our first night I had to seek refuge on the bunk bed which actually wansnt too bad. I would recommend staying here just dont be the one to sleep on the pullout. PS the breakfast is a good meal that will keep you full.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, OR
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is clean, staffed with friendly people & has an on site restaurant. Great for families with children. Close enough to walk to the parks & the complimentary breakfast has a large variety with plenty of seating. We have stayed at every Disney on site hotel & in comparison, this one is a much better value. You won't get the huge pools & Disney themed rooms that the on site parks offer, but this allows for more spending money at the park. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Desert Palms Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Palms Hotel & Suites

Address: 631 West Katella Avenue, Anaheim, CA 92802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Anaheim
#5 Green Hotel in Anaheim
#14 Family Hotel in Anaheim
#25 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Desert Palms Hotel & Suites 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Desert Palms Hotel and Suites is located in the heart of the Anaheim Resort. It is right on the corner of business and pleasure; located next door to the Disneyland Resort and across the street from the Anaheim Convention Center. Along with our spacious rooms and suites we offer Free Breakfast, Free Parking, and a Free Hot Breakfast Buffet. All rooms and suites come equipped with a microwave, mini-fridge and coffee maker. You are sure to find the perfect place for your family vacation at the Desert Palms Hotel. Our room offering start with the Deluxe Room, which offers 2 queen beds and continues with a number of different suites. Our Borrego Suites offers a sunken living room with sofa sleeper for up to 6 people. Our Yuha Kids Suite offers a bunk bed for the kids! Our Sahara Condo Suite offers a full kitchen, perfect for longer stays. Our largest room, the Kalahari Family Suite sleeps up to 8 people with 2 private bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. There is something for everyone at the Desert Palms Hotel. Kids will have a blast at our arcade corner and even have their own special check in at our Kids Registration. In the lobby they can start the scavenger hunt to find our hidden Mickey and Minnie and receive a prize! Our lobby also features a photo kiosk, perfect for taking that family photo and uploading it straight to Facebook or Twitter. Choose the Desert Palms Hotel for your next Anaheim Vacation and Experience the Oasis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Desert Palms Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Palms Hotel And Suites
Desert Palms Anaheim
Desert Palms Hotel Suites
Desert Palms Hotel Anaheim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Desert Palms Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.