We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Desert Palms Hotel & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Desert Palms Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Desert Palms Hotel & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   631 West Katella Avenue, Anaheim, CA 92802   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off + Free Breakfast
Ranked #19 of 112 Hotels in Anaheim
GreenLeadersBronze level
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Stayed at the hotel for business in January every year for, at least, the past decade. The hotel is exceptional with friendly, helpful staff and excellent services. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the area.

We will continue to return to this hotel year as I don't think the value, service and location can be beaten.

Thank you so much for years of excellent service.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    605
    471
    202
    81
    75
See reviews for
950
108
12
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This hotel was perfect for our whirlwind trip to Disneyland in October. When looking at accommodations I wanted three main things: 1) close proximity to the parks, 2) a suite with separate sleeping area for the kids, and 3) a place that was clean and reasonably updated. The Desert Palms Hotel & Suites delivered on all counts, and had free daily breakfast included as an added bonus (not gourmet, but definitely ample and good enough to get us going in the mornings).

Location is great - right across the street from California Adventure and a well-lit, quick (even with a 3 and 5 year old on foot) walk to the main gates. We spent three nights in a Yuha Suite, and loved the layout with the kids in bunk beds separated from our bed by a wall/window and sliding door. Our 4th floor room was clean, comfortable, equipped with a mini-fridge and enough towels/bedding for everyone, and even had a view of the fireworks. Maybe it was because we were up pretty early and absolutely exhausted at night, but we never had any issues with noise from neighbors or the hallway.

Check-in/check-out were quick and easy, and all staff we encountered were friendly and patient. The pool and spa are not particularly large or scenic (they're entirely surrounded by the hotel itself with very little deck), but were clean and well-heated. The 7-Eleven next door is super convenient for drinks/snacks, and we enjoyed a tasty pizza from the restaurant in the hotel lobby one night.

All in all, this place wasn't fancy but had everything we were looking for and more! We will definitely plan on another stay at the Desert Palms next time we visit Disneyland.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed here while on our trip to Disneyland. The location was very close and on average took about 10 min to walk from the park to the room. We stayed in the suite with the kids bunk beds. Since we were with my inlaws we gave them the queen bed in the other room and my wife and I "slept" on the pull out mattress. The pullout was extremely uncomfortable. You could literary see the waves in it from the gouging support beams. Mid way through our first night I had to seek refuge on the bunk bed which actually wansnt too bad. I would recommend staying here just dont be the one to sleep on the pullout. PS the breakfast is a good meal that will keep you full.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, OR
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is clean, staffed with friendly people & has an on site restaurant. Great for families with children. Close enough to walk to the parks & the complimentary breakfast has a large variety with plenty of seating. We have stayed at every Disney on site hotel & in comparison, this one is a much better value. You won't get the huge pools & Disney themed rooms that the on site parks offer, but this allows for more spending money at the park. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

This was our 3rd stay here and the first time in the Kalahari Family Suite. The room had 2 bedrooms connected by a hallway with two bathrooms in it. It was a bit of an odd layout but it was nice having 4 queen beds and 2 showers. We had 4 adults and 3 kids there and had adequate privacy and space. Breakfast was included in the price and featured eggs each morning as well as waffle makers and fruit. Nothing spectacular but it satisfied the family.
The main complaint is the noise.. windows facing the pool get noise until the pool closes and in the room closest to the hall it was easy to hear all kinds of conversations from passers by.
Stay here if you want a family friendly layout with breakfast and a very easy walk to the park entrances.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We spent two nights and enjoyed our visit. The hotel staff are polite and go out of their way to answer our questions and to accommodate us. We changed our mind on the room we wanted and "it was no problem" with a smile from the desk clerk. We wanted directions and the young lady left and came back with a map. The breakfast was yummy and we had 2 different breakfasts those two mornings so we had variety. The breakfast room was warm and had a view. The location is close enough to walk to Disneyland and restaurants. There is an indoor pool that kids played in and a fitness room. Would go again to this hotel on a future trip.

Room Tip: We got a double queen room as the room is bigger than a room with a king bed and that gave us room t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, BC
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 6 nights as part of a 10 day Southern California trip. We are a family of 4 and we stayed in the 2 room kid suite.

Pros: Staff very friendly, allowed for early check in and assisted us with locating a lost cell phone from Disneyland. The free breakfast was a great way to start the day, there was plenty of variety and the kids loved the mini waffles. Location was perfect and we easily made the treck to Disneyland twice a day. The 7-11 and ABC next door were very convenient. The beds were quite comfortable and the linens were nice.

Cons: Noisy, noise from the bathroom fan, AC vents and hallways. There never seemed to be any quiet times. The room layout felt very cramped for a two room suite, with no seating in the main room accept for the bed. Breakfast room was crowded most days and finding seating was a challenge, with everyone heading to the park at the same time. Pool too cool for me to swim and the hot tub was tiny and maxed at 5 people, both very basic. Lastly I found two live bugs (they looked like silver fish) one in the bathroom under the sink and one that crawled out of a drawer when I was unpacking

We would only stay here again if we got a great deal and moved to the larger two bedroom with kitchen.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms by the elevator, too much noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Desert Palms Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Palms Hotel & Suites

Address: 631 West Katella Avenue, Anaheim, CA 92802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Anaheim
#5 Business Hotel in Anaheim
#18 Family Hotel in Anaheim
#28 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Desert Palms Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Desert Palms Hotel and Suites is located in the heart of the Anaheim Resort. It is right on the corner of business and pleasure; located next door to the Disneyland Resort and across the street from the Anaheim Convention Center. Along with our spacious rooms and suites we offer Free Breakfast, Free Parking, and a Free Hot Breakfast Buffet. All rooms and suites come equipped with a microwave, mini-fridge and coffee maker. You are sure to find the perfect place for your family vacation at the Desert Palms Hotel. Our room offering start with the Deluxe Room, which offers 2 queen beds and continues with a number of different suites. Our Borrego Suites offers a sunken living room with sofa sleeper for up to 6 people. Our Yuha Kids Suite offers a bunk bed for the kids! Our Sahara Condo Suite offers a full kitchen, perfect for longer stays. Our largest room, the Kalahari Family Suite sleeps up to 8 people with 2 private bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. There is something for everyone at the Desert Palms Hotel. Kids will have a blast at our arcade corner and even have their own special check in at our Kids Registration. In the lobby they can start the scavenger hunt to find our hidden Mickey and Minnie and receive a prize! Our lobby also features a photo kiosk, perfect for taking that family photo and uploading it straight to Facebook or Twitter. Choose the Desert Palms Hotel for your next Anaheim Vacation and Experience the Oasis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Priceline, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Desert Palms Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Palms Hotel And Suites
Desert Palms Anaheim
Desert Palms Hotel Suites
Desert Palms Hotel Anaheim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Desert Palms Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.