We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Desert Palms Hotel & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Desert Palms Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Desert Palms Hotel & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   631 West Katella Avenue, Anaheim, CA 92802   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #21 of 112 Hotels in Anaheim
GreenLeadersBronze level
Riverside, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

From our entire family: the stay was terrific!

The first time we stayed with here a few months ago, we were having a horrific day and just needed to get away. The upgrade we got and the wonderful service turned that right around. Right then and there we decided that when we would stay in Anaheim again it would be at this hotel.

Our recent stay was another last minute thing. The only issue was we were given keys to a room that was already occupied. Was just very awkward to walk in and see luggage and food sitting there. BUT, the front desk was super apologetic and upgraded us to a 5th floor room, which my 12-year-old niece LOVED! Being an only child, she had never slept in a bunk bed before and had the best time. You'd think she was at Disneyland.

Unlike other hotels in Anaheim we've stayed at, we've never had a bad thought about this one.

Room Tip: Some rooms have great views of the Disneyland fireworks, make sure to ask if you're intertested.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    610
    480
    207
    82
    77
See reviews for
962
108
13
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (371)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

stayed at this hotel with the whole family and enjoyed every minute of it. first of all the staff here is very friendly the room was super clean and perfect for my family.The location was great not to far from the Disney parks and lots of good restaurants around it. I recommend this hotel for anyone traveling with the family really nice hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marsh Lake
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights in early January. We were travelling with 4 children (6,8,8 and 11) and found the kids suite worked well for us. The staff were friendly. The kids enjoyed the pool after a day at Disney. We walked to Disney in about 10 minutes. We went for the free breakfast 3 out of the 4 mornings and it was sufficient to get us going for the day.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

I love this hotel and I would definitely come back! Everybody treats you great and if you have any complains they take care of it right away! Most places don't pay as much attention but they made everything feel like home.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladstone, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed here for 9 nights in Sept/Oct on our first trip to the USA. Nice place, clean, friendly staff and only about a 10 minute walk to Disneyland which was great for the kids. Breakfasts were awful, not what we would normally eat or be used to staying in a hotel and we usually just ate elsewhere (nearby IHOP). Pool was good for an afternoon swim for the kids. Some issues with the phone being faulty and woke us up at 5am one morning. We disconnected it, but was difficult to keep in contact with other family members saying on other floors. The phone never got fixed but no big deal. Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

The staff, location, and room where excellent.The staff, location, and room where excellent.
The staff, location, and room where excellent.The staff, location, and room where excellent.
The staff, location, and room where excellent.The staff, location, and room where excellent.



John R.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Good: Breakfast was included. They always have a waffle station, oatmeal, frosted flakes, fruit loops, milk, coffee, tea, water , OJ, grapefruit juice, whole apples and oranges. They alternate with either scrambled eggs, sausage potatoe wedges OR scrambled egss with diced ham, biscuits and gravy. The hotel is within walking distance of Disney. There is a convenience store right next door. Rooms clean and comfy. The suite included a full sized fridge, microwave and stove.
Bad: It was a bit cold. I turned on the heater. The heater started smoking and smelling really bad. The smoke alarm went off. Called maintenance - they said that since the heaters rarely get used it was common. Ok... maybe the cleaning people could turn it on for a minute or two to avoid this in the future. The alarm in the entire hotel went off twice for some unknown reason. Nobody ever mentioned why. If it would have been a real emergency then the hotel is definately lacking... The bathroom had some mold around the tub. The water pressure was not the greatest.

Room Tip: Free breakfast is on the 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Desert Palms Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Palms Hotel & Suites

Address: 631 West Katella Avenue, Anaheim, CA 92802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Anaheim
#6 Business Hotel in Anaheim
#22 Family Hotel in Anaheim
#27 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Desert Palms Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Desert Palms Hotel and Suites is located in the heart of the Anaheim Resort. It is right on the corner of business and pleasure; located next door to the Disneyland Resort and across the street from the Anaheim Convention Center. Along with our spacious rooms and suites we offer Free Breakfast, Free Parking, and a Free Hot Breakfast Buffet. All rooms and suites come equipped with a microwave, mini-fridge and coffee maker. You are sure to find the perfect place for your family vacation at the Desert Palms Hotel. Our room offering start with the Deluxe Room, which offers 2 queen beds and continues with a number of different suites. Our Borrego Suites offers a sunken living room with sofa sleeper for up to 6 people. Our Yuha Kids Suite offers a bunk bed for the kids! Our Sahara Condo Suite offers a full kitchen, perfect for longer stays. Our largest room, the Kalahari Family Suite sleeps up to 8 people with 2 private bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. There is something for everyone at the Desert Palms Hotel. Kids will have a blast at our arcade corner and even have their own special check in at our Kids Registration. In the lobby they can start the scavenger hunt to find our hidden Mickey and Minnie and receive a prize! Our lobby also features a photo kiosk, perfect for taking that family photo and uploading it straight to Facebook or Twitter. Choose the Desert Palms Hotel for your next Anaheim Vacation and Experience the Oasis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Desert Palms Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Palms Hotel And Suites
Desert Palms Anaheim
Desert Palms Hotel Suites
Desert Palms Hotel Anaheim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Desert Palms Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.