We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Desert Palms Hotel & Suites

Save Saved
You added Desert Palms Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Desert Palms Hotel & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   631 West Katella Avenue, Anaheim, CA 92802   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 112 Hotels in Anaheim
GreenLeadersBronze level
Gladstone, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed here for 9 nights in Sept/Oct on our first trip to the USA. Nice place, clean, friendly staff and only about a 10 minute walk to Disneyland which was great for the kids. Breakfasts were awful, not what we would normally eat or be used to staying in a hotel and we usually just ate elsewhere (nearby IHOP). Pool was good for an afternoon swim for the kids. Some issues with the phone being faulty and woke us up at 5am one morning. We disconnected it, but was difficult to keep in contact with other family members saying on other floors. The phone never got fixed but no big deal. Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    579
    443
    185
    79
    73
See reviews for
899
101
12
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

The staff, location, and room where excellent.The staff, location, and room where excellent.
The staff, location, and room where excellent.The staff, location, and room where excellent.
The staff, location, and room where excellent.The staff, location, and room where excellent.



John R.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Good: Breakfast was included. They always have a waffle station, oatmeal, frosted flakes, fruit loops, milk, coffee, tea, water , OJ, grapefruit juice, whole apples and oranges. They alternate with either scrambled eggs, sausage potatoe wedges OR scrambled egss with diced ham, biscuits and gravy. The hotel is within walking distance of Disney. There is a convenience store right next door. Rooms clean and comfy. The suite included a full sized fridge, microwave and stove.
Bad: It was a bit cold. I turned on the heater. The heater started smoking and smelling really bad. The smoke alarm went off. Called maintenance - they said that since the heaters rarely get used it was common. Ok... maybe the cleaning people could turn it on for a minute or two to avoid this in the future. The alarm in the entire hotel went off twice for some unknown reason. Nobody ever mentioned why. If it would have been a real emergency then the hotel is definately lacking... The bathroom had some mold around the tub. The water pressure was not the greatest.

Room Tip: Free breakfast is on the 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ceres, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,



Thank you for your interest in how our stay was with your hotel. This was our first time staying at the Desert Palm Hotel. Our stay was plesant and the hotel is clean and well appointed. I would recomend your hotel to friends and family. We look forward to our next stay at the Desrt Palm. Thank you and happy holidays!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We all enjoyed our stay at Desert Palms Hotel. It would have been nice to have more seating in the two-bedroom suite, though the two bathrooms worked out great! And, the proximity to Disneyland is excellent! We also ate at the restaurant, which was quite good. We just wish we had more time to enjoy some of the amenities.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaluma, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We had a wonderful stay…your staff worked overtime to be sure we had everything we needed. The rooms were comfortable and clean…the only draw back was the thin ceilings, we had very noisy stompers upstairs. The children loved the pool, and your breakfasts were very enjoyable and had a lot of variety to choose from. We would definitely consider staying with you again. Thank you

Room Tip: If you have young children, they have suites to accomodate, they are roomy and comfortable..
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed at the Desert Palms in a Yuha Kids Suite from December 31, 2012 to January 6, 2013. Hotel check in was quick and painless. Room was as described in photos/text seen on their website; clean and tidy. Nice to have a sliding door to seperate the kids's area from the adult area. Two sinks (one inside the bathroom and one outside) were very handy. Beds were OK for comfort, but the pillows are really terrible. Sheets were OK; towels were not very fluffy and kind of scratchy. We had a microwave and a fairly large fridge in the room (the fridge was kinda noisy, but it seemed to work well). The in-room safe was on a high shelf in the closet - I could hardly reach it and had to get my son to reach it for me. For a $1.00 a day, I should be able to reach the safe myself. There was a tiny self service laundry on our floor (handy).

Buffet breakfast was pretty much the worst we have had at any hotel, ever. I will say they did have three waffle stations which was nice. Juice was either orange or grapefruit. Coffee (reg and decaf). Milk, two kinds of cereal (did not change). One flavour of yougert (strawberry) with canned pineapple (didn't change). Doughnuts and muffins and danish pastries (rotation of these). We got to choose from apples and oranges for fresh fruit each day. There was also a rotation of potatos (2 times), sausage patties (two times) biscuits and gravy (2 times) and scrambled eggs every day (one time with ham mixed in). That was it. Really no variety at all. I will say that the breakfast room was very clean - those ladies worked hard! When it got crowded, another banquet room just down the hall would open up so you could find a table in there to eat at.

Pool and hot tub looked small but functional; we did not partake of that.

There was a 7-11 right on the corner, which was great.

We did have a few slight problems. One night after Disney we stopped in at the desk and asked if they could check prices on cab rides for us for the next day and arrange one for us. The lady tried to get though on the phone but could not; she said that she would keep trying and call us with the results before 11:00 pm (end of her shift). She did not call us. Also, one night we had no washcloths in our bathroom. We called housekeeping twice to ask to please bring us some up; I finally called the front desk and complained, and asked if they could please bring some up in a bag and hang them on the door for the morning because we were going to bed. Guess what? 10 minutes later someone is knocking on our door....with a stack of 8 washcloths! I hope they liked my PJ's... One morning what looked like concierge approached us (we thought to help us with a cab) - trying to get us to attend a time share sell - you know - and offered us money if we attended. What a waste of our time while we were trying to get our day going! We didn't appreciate that at all, and our kids really did not like it.

By the time the taxes, room safe, resort fee (everyone has this, what a load of garbage) tax, toruism assessment, more tax (at least parking was free, which we didn't need)...the total bill for our stay for 6 nights was just over $1000. About average for the area; we were within walking distance to Disney, and walking distance to a few restaurants.

It was an average hotel in an average area and an average stay. I'm not displeased, but I'm not tooting their horn, either.

Room Tip: Rooms around the pool are very noisy - our friends were on the bottom floor and they didn't like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Desert Palms Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Palms Hotel & Suites

Address: 631 West Katella Avenue, Anaheim, CA 92802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Anaheim
#5 Green Hotel in Anaheim
#14 Family Hotel in Anaheim
#22 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Desert Palms Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Desert Palms Hotel and Suites is located in the heart of the Anaheim Resort. It is right on the corner of business and pleasure; located next door to the Disneyland Resort and across the street from the Anaheim Convention Center. Along with our spacious rooms and suites we offer Free Breakfast, Free Parking, and a Free Hot Breakfast Buffet. All rooms and suites come equipped with a microwave, mini-fridge and coffee maker. You are sure to find the perfect place for your family vacation at the Desert Palms Hotel. Our room offering start with the Deluxe Room, which offers 2 queen beds and continues with a number of different suites. Our Borrego Suites offers a sunken living room with sofa sleeper for up to 6 people. Our Yuha Kids Suite offers a bunk bed for the kids! Our Sahara Condo Suite offers a full kitchen, perfect for longer stays. Our largest room, the Kalahari Family Suite sleeps up to 8 people with 2 private bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. There is something for everyone at the Desert Palms Hotel. Kids will have a blast at our arcade corner and even have their own special check in at our Kids Registration. In the lobby they can start the scavenger hunt to find our hidden Mickey and Minnie and receive a prize! Our lobby also features a photo kiosk, perfect for taking that family photo and uploading it straight to Facebook or Twitter. Choose the Desert Palms Hotel for your next Anaheim Vacation and Experience the Oasis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Desert Palms Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Palms Hotel And Suites
Desert Palms Anaheim
Desert Palms Hotel Suites
Desert Palms Hotel Anaheim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Desert Palms Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.