We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a big family...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Desert Palms Hotel & Suites

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Booking.com
and 8 more sites!
Desert Palms Hotel & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   631 West Katella Avenue, Anaheim, CA 92802   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Hot Breakfast + 10%
Ranked #9 of 111 hotels in Anaheim
GreenLeadersBronze level
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Perfect for a big family...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We stayed for four nights during our visit to Disneyland. It was very convenient, about a 10 minute walk to the entrance.
We were a family of five kids and four adults. The two rooms we reserved was perfect. Each room had two queen beds and a step down suite with a convertible queen size sofa. The room also had two LCD flat screen TV's.
Breakfast is also included. The first morning I was very disappointed in the breakfast, it was inedible. The following three mornings were much better.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,252 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    532
    407
    175
    70
    68
See reviews for
807
93
11
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

This was a business trip and the location was close to the Anaheim Convention Center. Not a bad walk, but not real close either. We didn't rent a car and were disappointed that there weren't more restaurants in the walkable area. T

he rooms were clean, but very dated. If this place was rennovated it could be real nice. I didn't eat breakfast, but a co-worker said it was average, lots of kids and always full. They need to move the main food further back in the room. It causes congestion in the hallway entry area.

There was one gentleman at the front desk on several of the evenings we were there that was very helpful and personable. Too bad they all weren't.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to suites. That's a stretch to call it a suite. An orange naugahyde love seat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooloolaba, Australia
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 12 nights in a kids suite. The room was a little smaller than the photos show, nevertheless, we were really only there to sleep and base ourselves whilst we explored Southern California and Disneyland. It was not too far for us to walk to Disneyland, we actually enjoyed it. It would be too far if you had small kids unless you had a stroller or pram. Throughout the stay, our door handle, both inside and outside fell off and needed to be fixed. It was fixed quickly, but still I do not think this should have happened at all.
Pros: Complimentary parking and breakfast. Location. Cost. Excellent shower temperature and pressure, beds were very comfortable.
Cons: Walls very thin and towels so thin that they were see through.
After reading some reviews on trip advisor, we asked for a room at the back of the hotel and we were able to see the fireworks from within Disneyland from our balcony.
There was an instance I needed to attend to the front desk early in the morning and the person at the front desk got up to speak to me and the staples holding his pants together did not work and the side of his pants had spit open again. Not a good look!

Room Tip: Ask for a room towards the back of the hotel, no road noise and can see fireworks from the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

We spent 2 nights here and found the quality of the accommodation was good and the closeness to Disneyland and some decent restaurants was great. The included breakfast wasn't great, but it didn't detract from our stay. Would stay again on the next trip.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, CA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

So this isn't The Ritz, but for the money, it is a great place for families on a budget. We were a party of 8 - two of us (older folks) in a double queen room and a family of 6 in room 460, a room with 2 queens and a sort-of separate space (divided by a curtain) with a sleeper sofa. Plenty of room for a wild bunch of kids - that is why grandpa & grandma opted for a separate room. The rooms were older, but clean and I really inspected the place. The beds were fine, but you may want to ask for additional blankets if you get cold at night and I always bring my own pillow no matter where I stay. The rooms were very quiet. Again, a good value for the money.

The free breakfast was exactly what you would expect, waffle stations, fruit, eggs, donuts, cereal and the staff was always there to replenish supplies. It did get crowded at certain times, but it seemed to clear out quickly and the staff was right on top of keeping the tables and area clean.

The walk to Disneyland was very doable, even with all the kids. If you are going to complain about the distance you have to walk to get to Disneyland, then stay home - you are going to be on your feet and walking all day, so consider this a little warm up!

We used the pool one evening - the water took a little getting used to, but the kids did not care in the least. The hot tub was very relaxing and everything was clean. A bit heavy on the chlorine, but at least that kept the germs away.

The staff was always helpful and courteous and the parking is free. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We are a family of 4 and can really recommend this hotel. Very close to Disney, 15 min walk. Free parking, great location. The rooms were a great size and or a high standard for the money. The family room was awesome with 2 TV's. The free breakfast was great. Offered excellent value for money. The only negative was our fridge was quite noisy in the middle of the night, which I'm sure is fixed by now. free Wi-fi :).

Room Tip: If you have kids get a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garland, Utah
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Our stay at the Desert Plams was great! Our kids had a fantastic time and loved the breakfast (we did to, but they are harder to please). We especially liked having the 2 TV's in our suite (that way the kids and dad did not fight over what channel to watch). We enjoyed the walk to and from Disneyland, it was really nice not haveing to take the shuttle. Thanks for making our hotel stay wonderful. Staying in a nice, clean place makes for a better vacation.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Desert Palms Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Palms Hotel & Suites

Also Known As:
Desert Palms Hotel And Suites
Desert Palms Hotel
Desert Palms Anaheim
Desert Palms Hotel Suites
Desert Palms Hotel Anaheim
Address: 631 West Katella Avenue, Anaheim, CA 92802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Anaheim
#4 Green Hotel in Anaheim
#9 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#10 Family Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Desert Palms Hotel & Suites 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Otel, Amex, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Desert Palms Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Desert Palms Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Desert Palms Hotel & Suites to your Saves list