We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money and convenient.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Desert Palms Hotel & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Desert Palms Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Desert Palms Hotel & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   631 West Katella Avenue, Anaheim, CA 92802   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 112 Hotels in Anaheim
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Value for money and convenient.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

It is within a 10 min walk to Disneyland, 7-11 and ABC mart next door for snacks and water, subway, Chinese and Mexican take out across the road. Convenience plus! We (husband, me and 2 teens -17 and 19) stayed 3 nights in a Sahara suite. The sofa bed was not too comfortable but I haven't come across one that is. The free breakfast was appreciated, not the fanciest but toast and coffee normally does me. There were waffles, cereals, scrambled eggs (could be powdered), breakfast sausage patties and fruits as well.
The time we were there, the hotel was full of excited kids and excited kids tend to be noisy! It is a Disneyland hotel after all.
The staff were super friendly and we asked for and received an early check-in (12 noon) as we had just arrived from Sydney that morning.
We enjoyed our short stay.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    598
    462
    197
    79
    74
See reviews for
936
105
12
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa, Ca
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

So this isn't The Ritz, but for the money, it is a great place for families on a budget. We were a party of 8 - two of us (older folks) in a double queen room and a family of 6 in room 460, a room with 2 queens and a sort-of separate space (divided by a curtain) with a sleeper sofa. Plenty of room for a wild bunch of kids - that is why grandpa & grandma opted for a separate room. The rooms were older, but clean and I really inspected the place. The beds were fine, but you may want to ask for additional blankets if you get cold at night and I always bring my own pillow no matter where I stay. The rooms were very quiet. Again, a good value for the money.

The free breakfast was exactly what you would expect, waffle stations, fruit, eggs, donuts, cereal and the staff was always there to replenish supplies. It did get crowded at certain times, but it did seem to clear out and the staff was right on top of keeping the tables and area clean.

The walk to Disneyland was very doable, even with all the kids. If you are going to complain about the distance you have to walk to get to Disneyland, then stay home - you are going to be on your feet and walking all day, so consider this a little warm up!

We used the pool one evening - the water took a little getting used to, but the kids did not care in the least. The hot tub was very relaxing and everything was clean. A bit heavy on the chlorine, but at least that kept the germs away.

The staff was always helpful and courteous and the parking is free. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We were in 412 and 460, both quiet rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havre, MT
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

This Hotel is decent-ish, but the beds are hard, hard, hard. We chose a "Kids Suite", good thing, I'll be sleeping with my 4yr old tonight, his bed is softer than mine. The staff is excellent, but the beds and hairy towels are hard to miss.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antioch, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

The hotel is 10 minutes walk from Disney, CA adventure and down town disney. We enjoy our stay very much. The hotel was clean and the beds comfortable. The complimentary breakfast was excellent. The only suggestion we had is to start the breakfast buffet at 6:30 am instead of 7. If you choose this hotel you will be satisfy.

Room Tip: The rooms are shown in the hotel's web page and it is depends how many people is staying in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The Desert Palms Hotel & Suites was Outstanding...
I am one of those travelers that is always worried about the accommodations whenever I travel. The Desert Palms Hotel & Suites was beyond my expectations. From the moment we arrived at the front desk at about 6:30p, the staff greeted us with friendly smiles and helped us get situated in 3 different rooms as there was 17 of us traveling together. All three (3) of our rooms were clean, looked great, and were all on the 3rd flr. Not sure who our maid was in room 345 on Nov 2 - Nov 7, but Thank you for making sure our room was clean everyday we returned to our room late in the evening from Disneyland. We asked for an extra blanket and pillow and by the time we came back to our room it was already there. I read some other reviews about the breakfast choices that were offered, I have to say that during our stay the choices were great. The waffles were delicious since all anyone needed to do was pour and flip it themselves. During our stay, we had something different each day, sausage, link patties, breakfast burritos (yummie). The breakfast staff was great at keeping everything filled and CLEAN...The kids enjoyed the pool, 7-11 was next door to us on one side and on the other side was the Alamo Car & National car rental that made our lives so much easier. Thank you so much Desert Palm Hotels & Suites, you've made this one of the greatest vacations that we've gone on so far. We will definately be back again!!!

Room Tip: The borrega room was great, clean and spacious. Breakfast is on the 5th floor. Laundry room availabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

Just left the Desert Palms after a one week stay while visiting Disneyland. Chose this hotel because of great price we got and rank on trip advisor. This was our fourth trip to Disneyland from our home of Canada. We have found that all the reasonably priced hotels within walking distance are nothing to get excited about and this hotel is the same. Great that it is right next to 7-11 as it was a convenient place to pick up a drink or snack before or after the park. Walk was about 10-15 minutes to park entrance - liked this end of the strip of hotels on Harbour Blvd better than the end closer to I-5 as it made it more convenient to walk to restaurants at Anaheim Garden Walk and back to hotel at the end of the day. Hotel was clean enough but very basic - again expected because of price. Pool was lame and not really worth using. We had a basic room with 2 beds not a suite - again very basic. Two major complaints about the room are the beds - VERY uncomfortable as were the pillows and coverings - sheets and I blanket. Temperature control was another big issue as it was either hot or cold - no thermostat to control the temp so you are always up in the night adjusting. While the free breakfast is convenient it is not very tasty and after a day or two we opted for granola bars bought at Target. Don't think I would stay here again but would next time try the neighboring hotels such as Candy Cane Inn or Portofino Inn - same good location but maybe better beds.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, B.C.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

This was our first tme staying at the Desert Palms but would not hesitate to recommend it to family and friends! The staff were very friendly and helpful and the accomodations were better than other hotels we have stayed at in the past! It is a little bit of a walk to the Disney main gate but worth every step :)
I would like to offer a special thank you to the staff that looked after the breakfast crowd as they do a fabulous job with very little thanks from the guest.

Stew and Laurie Bellamy

Room Tip: Ask for upgrade upon arrival.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Desert Palms Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Palms Hotel & Suites

Address: 631 West Katella Avenue, Anaheim, CA 92802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Anaheim
#5 Business Hotel in Anaheim
#18 Family Hotel in Anaheim
#21 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Desert Palms Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Desert Palms Hotel and Suites is located in the heart of the Anaheim Resort. It is right on the corner of business and pleasure; located next door to the Disneyland Resort and across the street from the Anaheim Convention Center. Along with our spacious rooms and suites we offer Free Breakfast, Free Parking, and a Free Hot Breakfast Buffet. All rooms and suites come equipped with a microwave, mini-fridge and coffee maker. You are sure to find the perfect place for your family vacation at the Desert Palms Hotel. Our room offering start with the Deluxe Room, which offers 2 queen beds and continues with a number of different suites. Our Borrego Suites offers a sunken living room with sofa sleeper for up to 6 people. Our Yuha Kids Suite offers a bunk bed for the kids! Our Sahara Condo Suite offers a full kitchen, perfect for longer stays. Our largest room, the Kalahari Family Suite sleeps up to 8 people with 2 private bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. There is something for everyone at the Desert Palms Hotel. Kids will have a blast at our arcade corner and even have their own special check in at our Kids Registration. In the lobby they can start the scavenger hunt to find our hidden Mickey and Minnie and receive a prize! Our lobby also features a photo kiosk, perfect for taking that family photo and uploading it straight to Facebook or Twitter. Choose the Desert Palms Hotel for your next Anaheim Vacation and Experience the Oasis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Otel, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Desert Palms Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Palms Hotel And Suites
Desert Palms Anaheim
Desert Palms Hotel Suites
Desert Palms Hotel Anaheim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Desert Palms Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.