We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay with family” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Desert Palms Hotel & Suites

Save Saved
You added Desert Palms Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Desert Palms Hotel & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   631 West Katella Avenue, Anaheim, CA 92802   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Free Hot Breakfast + 10%
Ranked #15 of 112 hotels in Anaheim
GreenLeadersBronze level
Hawaii
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great place to stay with family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The Desert Palms Hotel & Suites was Outstanding...
I am one of those travelers that is always worried about the accommodations whenever I travel. The Desert Palms Hotel & Suites was beyond my expectations. From the moment we arrived at the front desk at about 6:30p, the staff greeted us with friendly smiles and helped us get situated in 3 different rooms as there was 17 of us traveling together. All three (3) of our rooms were clean, looked great, and were all on the 3rd flr. Not sure who our maid was in room 345 on Nov 2 - Nov 7, but Thank you for making sure our room was clean everyday we returned to our room late in the evening from Disneyland. We asked for an extra blanket and pillow and by the time we came back to our room it was already there. I read some other reviews about the breakfast choices that were offered, I have to say that during our stay the choices were great. The waffles were delicious since all anyone needed to do was pour and flip it themselves. During our stay, we had something different each day, sausage, link patties, breakfast burritos (yummie). The breakfast staff was great at keeping everything filled and CLEAN...The kids enjoyed the pool, 7-11 was next door to us on one side and on the other side was the Alamo Car & National car rental that made our lives so much easier. Thank you so much Desert Palm Hotels & Suites, you've made this one of the greatest vacations that we've gone on so far. We will definately be back again!!!

Room Tip: The borrega room was great, clean and spacious. Breakfast is on the 5th floor. Laundry room availabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,342 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    571
    437
    183
    78
    73
See reviews for
887
98
12
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

Just left the Desert Palms after a one week stay while visiting Disneyland. Chose this hotel because of great price we got and rank on trip advisor. This was our fourth trip to Disneyland from our home of Canada. We have found that all the reasonably priced hotels within walking distance are nothing to get excited about and this hotel is the same. Great that it is right next to 7-11 as it was a convenient place to pick up a drink or snack before or after the park. Walk was about 10-15 minutes to park entrance - liked this end of the strip of hotels on Harbour Blvd better than the end closer to I-5 as it made it more convenient to walk to restaurants at Anaheim Garden Walk and back to hotel at the end of the day. Hotel was clean enough but very basic - again expected because of price. Pool was lame and not really worth using. We had a basic room with 2 beds not a suite - again very basic. Two major complaints about the room are the beds - VERY uncomfortable as were the pillows and coverings - sheets and I blanket. Temperature control was another big issue as it was either hot or cold - no thermostat to control the temp so you are always up in the night adjusting. While the free breakfast is convenient it is not very tasty and after a day or two we opted for granola bars bought at Target. Don't think I would stay here again but would next time try the neighboring hotels such as Candy Cane Inn or Portofino Inn - same good location but maybe better beds.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, B.C.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

This was our first tme staying at the Desert Palms but would not hesitate to recommend it to family and friends! The staff were very friendly and helpful and the accomodations were better than other hotels we have stayed at in the past! It is a little bit of a walk to the Disney main gate but worth every step :)
I would like to offer a special thank you to the staff that looked after the breakfast crowd as they do a fabulous job with very little thanks from the guest.

Stew and Laurie Bellamy

Room Tip: Ask for upgrade upon arrival.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

For location The Desert Palms ticks all of the boxes. It's an easy walk to the Disneyland Parks.

The train station, bus stops and restaurants are all within easy reach. There is a 7/11 and ABC Stores right next door.

The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room wasn't large but it was comfortable.

Unfortunately that's where it ends.

We have been travelers for 20 years. After the 2nd night of zero sleep because of the excessive noise we contemplated checking out. A week later I'm still shell shocked by the sound of the blasted doors clanking shut as far away as 10 rooms down the hall. We have never had this happen before traveling all over Malaysia, the Pacific Islands, Thailand and South East Asia.

The Hotel did publish a policy of quiet time after 9pm.

We booked a two room suite which had double bunks in a sealed off area at the rear of the room. We were on the 4th floor. Breakfast is served on the 5th floor so the kids enjoyed a wake up call daily listening to all the families having breakfast right above their heads. The walls and floors must be paper thin.

We didn't sleep at all for the first two nights. The noise from the adjoining rooms and the hallway was way too much.

We went and brought ear plugs.

The noise abated for the next two nights as I guess other travelers checked in and out so we persevered. All hell broke loose again on the nights prior to our departure. Breakfast was uninspiring but having said that it was sufficient if you wanted a bowl of cereal and a drink prior to heading off to the theme parks. Many parents with younger kids appeared to be tolerated taking food back to their rooms.

There are two IHops located nearby so having a more hearty breakfast at your expense is not an issue.

I am trying to be objective and fair with my review here.

If you are a traveler then consider this.........when you check into your Hotel the first thing traditionally you see is either a storage area or your bathroom just inside the entrance to your room. The further the Hotel can design to get the beds back inside the room and away from the room's entrance acts as sound deadening. Our room had our double bed right inside the entrance to our room so there was no barrier to any hallway sound.

If you have already booked here then pack some hearing protection.

You want your Disneyland experience to be memorable. I expected to be at the Park daily then have a quiet refuge at night resting prior to tackling the Park again on the next day.

The Desert Palms failed miserably regarding that for us. It's a pity. If this place was refurbished and updated I'd stay there again. But not right now.

Our advice? Do your research because it's just far too competitive with so much accommodation in that area. I feel you could do better.

I have also noted similar noise issues with other travelers with other accommodation other than The Desert Palms in the Anaheim district. It's Disneyland so I expected lots of toddlers and kids running berserk. The Desert Palms was just too noisy at night for us.

If you are only spending a day at the Park consider commuting from Hollywood or LA by train. We used the Metro service in LA and Hollywood and the station is close to the entrance to Disneyland. Our kids are 14 and 18 and I understand that may be prohibitive with toddlers.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

Fantastic everything! Loved our stay here (: everything was perfect, location was perfect, no complaints whatsoever. I only wish we had more time to stay. We only had time to stay one night but I wouldn't have wanted to stay anywhere else. Definitely the perfect place to stay!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We usually go ever year to Disneyland. This was our 8th year staying in this hotel, and always wonderful and excellent customer service, food and the rooms are clean and covered with new items like nice tvs, new carpet and everything else. The stuff helps you asap.
This is a honestly experience off a wonderful visit.

Room Tip: If you have a bigger family, they have rooms with kids suits in it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

After a horrible two days at the Days Inn down the street I called 1800hotels and was referred to the Desert Palms Hotel. We were greeted by Nevine who was awesome letting us check in early and giving us an upgrade so we had more than enough space for our triplet girls. The staff was so gracious, the room beautiful, and the breakfast was amazing. Just a short walk from Disneyland, this is now the only place we will stay. We recommend this hotel 100x over!!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Desert Palms Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Palms Hotel & Suites

Address: 631 West Katella Avenue, Anaheim, CA 92802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Anaheim
#5 Green Hotel in Anaheim
#14 Family Hotel in Anaheim
#25 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Desert Palms Hotel & Suites 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Desert Palms Hotel and Suites is located in the heart of the Anaheim Resort. It is right on the corner of business and pleasure; located next door to the Disneyland Resort and across the street from the Anaheim Convention Center. Along with our spacious rooms and suites we offer Free Breakfast, Free Parking, and a Free Hot Breakfast Buffet. All rooms and suites come equipped with a microwave, mini-fridge and coffee maker. You are sure to find the perfect place for your family vacation at the Desert Palms Hotel. Our room offering start with the Deluxe Room, which offers 2 queen beds and continues with a number of different suites. Our Borrego Suites offers a sunken living room with sofa sleeper for up to 6 people. Our Yuha Kids Suite offers a bunk bed for the kids! Our Sahara Condo Suite offers a full kitchen, perfect for longer stays. Our largest room, the Kalahari Family Suite sleeps up to 8 people with 2 private bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. There is something for everyone at the Desert Palms Hotel. Kids will have a blast at our arcade corner and even have their own special check in at our Kids Registration. In the lobby they can start the scavenger hunt to find our hidden Mickey and Minnie and receive a prize! Our lobby also features a photo kiosk, perfect for taking that family photo and uploading it straight to Facebook or Twitter. Choose the Desert Palms Hotel for your next Anaheim Vacation and Experience the Oasis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Desert Palms Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Palms Hotel And Suites
Desert Palms Anaheim
Desert Palms Hotel Suites
Desert Palms Hotel Anaheim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Desert Palms Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.