We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice for the Convention Center” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Desert Palms Hotel & Suites

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Booking.com
and 7 more sites!
Desert Palms Hotel & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   631 West Katella Avenue, Anaheim, CA 92802   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Hot Breakfast + 10%
Ranked #9 of 111 hotels in Anaheim
GreenLeadersBronze level
Morris Plains, NJ
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good choice for the Convention Center”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I generally find convention hotels expensive and bland, and so look for other hotels within walking distance. I was very pleased with the Desert Palms. I arrived early and my designated room was not ready. I was shown a smaller room which I declined and offered to wait. I was upgraded to a Borrego Suite which was great. The fridge was large and microwave convenient.The room was spotless and I did not experience any of the noise other reviewers experienced. I needed to ship some boxes by FedEx and the receptionist offered me a cardboard box and tape without asking!
It is an easy 10-15 walk to the Convention Center and the adjacent Hilton and Marriott Hotels where many meetings are held. It is also a short walk to downtown Disney or GardenWalk for shopping. There are no supermarkets within walking distance, so if you are without a car you will need to relay on the limited supplies at the 7-11 right next door.
The only disadvantage staying here is seeing so may families in happy vacation mode that you might feel inclined to skip the conference and head to Disney!
The front desk staff here are exceptionally friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a twin bedded room or suite at the side or back on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,252 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    532
    407
    175
    70
    68
See reviews for
807
93
11
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westfield, Indiana
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed in Borrego Suite and really enjoyed the set up of the room as well as the quiet in spite of the busy street next to us. It was a 10-15 min walk to Disney or an easy shuttle trip. Tip if you take the shuttle...pick it up across the street in front of the Garden Shopping Center instead of at the stop outside the door... The Garden Shopping center is the last stop before Disneyland so you won't have to ride the full loop. Desert Palms is the first stop (on Anaheim Resort Transit) after Disneyland making the shuttle home a nice quick ride. Another tip: buy the unlimited use ART pass to allow for easy on/off and easy midday breaks if desired.

Room Tip: we loved our Borrego suite! We were in 445 and loved that it was close to a stairwell that emptied...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Stayed for two nights- was able to check in early because my room was available. Parking was free and there was tons of it, even if we returned late back to the hotel. Had no issues with Wi-Fi (worked great). We had two queen beds and a little living room area. Loved that the room had a fridge and microwave. Lobby has a fun little arcade. Breakfast was convenient - only complaint is that the OJ was extremely sweet (did not taste like real OJ). The breakfast room was very nice though and the waffles were delicious. They also had a really nice deck where you could eat outside. Perfect location, very close to downtown disney/disneyland. Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Heard the people upstairs walking around quite a bit during our stay...try to stay on the top floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle Point, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Great place to stay, staff was great and informative. A ten minute walk to Disneyland or hop on the ART. Breakfast was great. Pool and hot tub were good. Thanks Nevine for you r help. Lobby and rooms were clean and the room service ( maids) were kind. Would stay again.

Room Tip: A Borrega suites 4th floor is great, hardly any noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

My family and i have just completed our twenty fourth year at this lovely hotel. There are many reasons we have stayed at this hotel. Location,walking distance to Disneyland,Convention Center,Restaurants.Transportation, right out your front door,public transit,and tour buses.Car rentals right next door.Shopping centers South Coast plaza,Main Mall,Brea Mall, just to name a few.If your choice is to relax, then take in the pool you can order food and refreshments from the sand box, this is also a great place to eat,or you can have it delivered to your room. The rooms are very spacious, clean, and comfortable. Elevators are fast and plenty of FREE parking. And last but not least the staff.They are always so friendly and always so accommodating.FIVE STAR.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parksville, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

we have stayed here on two differentholidays with our kids. The hotel is a short walk yo disneyland. The hotel offers a great breakfast,located on the top floor where you can eat outside and enjoy the great view. Their is also a pup in the hotel. The rooms are clean and comtorable. very enjoyable.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ogden, Utah
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

As a mom you want you family vacation to be great, safe and reasonably priced. This hotel made our trip just that! We had a fabulous experience there. The staff was amazing. Our room was spacious and clean! We stayed in the Borrego suite. We had plenty of room for our family to spread out a bit and relax after a day at Disney. Our boys loved the bunk beds! The location was fabulous and very close to Disneyland. So close we were able to walk back for lunch and a rest in our room. We felt safe walking to and from the park even at night. The free breakfast is very yummy and has a bit of everything for everybody. No question we are going back to Desert Palms next time!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Desert Palms Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Palms Hotel & Suites

Also Known As:
Desert Palms Hotel And Suites
Desert Palms Hotel
Desert Palms Anaheim
Desert Palms Hotel Suites
Desert Palms Hotel Anaheim
Address: 631 West Katella Avenue, Anaheim, CA 92802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Anaheim
#4 Green Hotel in Anaheim
#9 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#10 Family Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Desert Palms Hotel & Suites 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Otel, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Desert Palms Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Desert Palms Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Desert Palms Hotel & Suites to your Saves list