We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Desert Palms Hotel & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Desert Palms Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Desert Palms Hotel & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   631 West Katella Avenue, Anaheim, CA 92802   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #24 of 115 Hotels in Anaheim
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
East Hampton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Very nice hotel only a 10 minute walk to Disneyland. Very comfortable and clean room which also had a separate sitting area with a couch. Made it easy to stay up later than the kids without disturbing them. Very good breakfast which included scrambled eggs, hash browns, fresh baked waffles, cereal, etc. Very friendly staff at the desk and breakfast room. Lots of family restaurants close by also. Didn't use the pool since we were at the park all day, but it looked nice. Price was very reasonable, way less than the Disney hotels. All in all, no complaints.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,570 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    659
    519
    220
    91
    81
See reviews for
1,046
114
13
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Hotel was easy to access and front desk area inviting and cool. Upon check in we were upgraded to a larger suite with two bathrooms. I was delighted as we were 4 adults and 1 child. Staff were friendly and informative. Underground parking was free. Our room was really clean with fridge and microwave. The bathrooms were meticulously clean. Our airconditioning kept both rooms cool throughout our 5 night stay in excessive temperatures of 100 degrees. The shuttle just across the street ran every 5 minutes to Disney. Cold bottles water in gift shop available for 99 cents. Pool area shaded in afternoon. Subway and convenience store nearby. Full breakfast buffet a real saving. I really feel our hotel had a great contribution in making our disneyland experience great in spite of soaring temperatures. We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: recommend 2 bathrooms when travelling with extended family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy, Utah
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We packed out one of the six-person suites with an extended family that included two children, and we were pleased with our choice of hotel. The room was clean, the staff friendly and the location convenient. Disneyland and California Adventure are an easy walk away, and there are plenty of nearby restaurants (including some bargains in the strip mall across Harbor Boulevard). Accommodations are excellent for the price range; our only complaint is that the pull-out sofa/bed wasn't particularly comfortable. The free breakfast each morning was a nice plus; there's a wide variety of food, nothing fancy but certainly tasty. We'd stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel over two nights at Disney ! I am afraid we found to be over rated and over priced....the booking was jumbled up..we were told that the room we booked on-line was not available and we had to go for a change....overall forgetful experience..But the staff was quite friendly..particularly their travel desk...

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

I thought we were in for a disaster when we arrived after a 15hr flight to Desert Palms Hotel & Suites Anaheim to find our travel agent had incorrectly cancelled our booking!!!!
The staff could not have been more sympathetic and helpful and as I had all the previous booking paperwork, the manager Shirley honoured our booking at the original price, which was wonderful and I'm sure saved me having a breakdown at the front counter.
The room was very clean and comfortable. I loved that we had a fully equipped kitchenette, so I could cook lunch or dinner on any days I wanted. Our room on the second floor did get quite a lot of noise however from the room above. Sounded like a herd of elephants stomping around some nights which was a bit disappointing.There is a fully provided buffet breakfast each day in the breakfast room and although a busy room, everything was very clean and trays replenished quickly.
A great pool is provided which was a relief each day in the heat.
Desert Palms is in a perfect position if your heading to Disneyland. Only a ten minute walk to the front gate.
We did not realise Anaheim is so difficult to get back and forwards to LA. Public transport is pretty terrible and you will need to organise day tours if you want to go up and down and explore LA. However, Anaheim is much less expensive to stay in than LA, so "pros and cons".
We had a great time here and appreciate all the hotel did for us re our booking stuff up.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with nobody above you....not sure if all the same but the room above us was very nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

My family stayed here a weekend in July in a suite with bunkbeds and we were pleasantly surprised. We normally stay at a different hotel in the area but they were booked so we went to the desert palms instead and I think they have won us over. The staff was lovely and very helpful, the breakfast in the morning was great and it was really close to disneyland. The only thing I could possibly fault them on is the bathroom fan is soo loud! But overall a great stay and I will definately be returning soon.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, Connecticut
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

We booked this hotel as part of a vacation package on the Disney website. After we checked in, we knew we had made a good choice. The young lady that checked us in was very friendly and helpful. We had arrived early, so we left our luggage in a secure area while went and explored Downtown Disney. We timed it: form door to park walking at a normal pace (with 7-year-old), it took us 10 minutes.

When we returned, the same nice lady was there and she upgraded us to a mini-suite with sunken living area, microwave and fridge. Fantastic!

We enjoyed the free secure underground parking and Wifi. Two big reasons for us to stay here as husband had to do work while on vacation as well, and Wifi was a necessity. I loved having a coin laundry area.

The breakfast was ample: waffles, eggs, sausage, potatoes, cereal, oatmeal, tea and coffee. There was also fresh fruit available. We ate breakfast here only 3 times during our 9 night stay as that was the only negative for us - on days we went to park, we were out the door by 7:15 to walk to park - and earlier for Magic Morning hours. If the breakfast started at 6, that would have been ideal.

Pool area was very nice as well, but can get very crowded in afternoon. Towels are provided at pool and you need a roomkey to access it. Bonus: get a cocktail from Sanbox Bar / Restaurant in the hotel and they put it in a plastic cup to enjoy poolside.

All in all a fantastic stay and I would return with no hesitation!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
#2 of 115 in Anaheim
4.5 of 5 stars 588 reviews
0.2 mi away
Castle Inn and Suites
Castle Inn and Suites
#12 of 115 in Anaheim
4.0 of 5 stars 1,100 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ramada Plaza Anaheim
Ramada Plaza Anaheim
#32 of 115 in Anaheim
4.0 of 5 stars 920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn Anaheim Resort
0.7 mi away
Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Palms Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Palms Hotel & Suites

Address: 631 West Katella Avenue, Anaheim, CA 92802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Anaheim
#7 Green Hotel in Anaheim
#23 Family Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Desert Palms Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Desert Palms Hotel and Suites is located in the heart of the Anaheim Resort. It is right on the corner of business and pleasure; located next door to the Disneyland Resort and across the street from the Anaheim Convention Center. Along with our spacious rooms and suites we offer Free Breakfast, Free Parking, and a Free Hot Breakfast Buffet. All rooms and suites come equipped with a microwave, mini-fridge and coffee maker. You are sure to find the perfect place for your family vacation at the Desert Palms Hotel. Our room offering start with the Deluxe Room, which offers 2 queen beds and continues with a number of different suites. Our Borrego Suites offers a sunken living room with sofa sleeper for up to 6 people. Our Yuha Kids Suite offers a bunk bed for the kids! Our Sahara Condo Suite offers a full kitchen, perfect for longer stays. Our largest room, the Kalahari Family Suite sleeps up to 8 people with 2 private bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. There is something for everyone at the Desert Palms Hotel. Kids will have a blast at our arcade corner and even have their own special check in at our Kids Registration. In the lobby they can start the scavenger hunt to find our hidden Mickey and Minnie and receive a prize! Our lobby also features a photo kiosk, perfect for taking that family photo and uploading it straight to Facebook or Twitter. Choose the Desert Palms Hotel for your next Anaheim Vacation and Experience the Oasis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, BookIt.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Venere so you can book your Desert Palms Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Palms Hotel And Suites
Desert Palms Anaheim
Desert Palms Hotel Suites
Desert Palms Hotel Anaheim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Desert Palms Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.