We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average - wasn't bad but I would try another next time” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Desert Palms Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Desert Palms Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Desert Palms Hotel & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   631 West Katella Avenue, Anaheim, CA 92802   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #24 of 115 Hotels in Anaheim
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Boston
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Average - wasn't bad but I would try another next time”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

Pros:
- very convenient to walk to Disney and shopping/restaurants
- friendly staff
- free parking.
- clean

Cons:
- everywhere smelled like the cleaning solution they used.
- breakfast was super greasy potatoes, rubbery eggs, not enough pastries
- the pool is in a center atrium and rooms facing it get a LOT of noisy echos from pool users
- our room was split into 2 sections, separated by a wall. The sleeping section didn't seem to have A/C, so it got stuffy when we closed the door to block out the pool noise.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    658
    518
    220
    90
    80
See reviews for
1,044
114
13
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

Chose this hotel while attending the Disneyland park. It is very convenient, located on the corner of Katella and Harbor adjacent to the park property. Stayed three nights. The room and facilities appear to be recently renovated. Everything looks new and reasonably well maintained. Our King room had a very comfortable bed, large screen TV and a choice of wireless or wired Internet. Had one minor problem. Requested laundry service for a few items at 8:30am on the day before checkout and was assured that it would be ready that same night. It was not. In fact we found the next morning that it had not been picked up that day as promised but was picked up early the morning we were checking out. After several discussions with the front desk staff they finally offered the solution of having the items returned uncleaned so our departure would not be further delayed. That was disappointing but at least the items were not lost. I would be careful with use of that service if I stay here again.

Room Tip: Very nice facility but staff is somewhat lacking in professional courtesies
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

Stayed there for 1 night, and wish we would have scheduled more nights there! Great location with a short walk to Disneyland. Room was great for a family of 4 --- had a separate room with bunk beds for the kids, including a couch, TV and door --- they had their own space! Very clean, and friendly / helpful staff.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

the advertised spacious family kids room is narrow and dirty; when we open the room I felt claustrophobic, NOT ENOUGH SPACE for the family as they advertised; DON'T GET FOOLED! this hotel is not family-friendly, the bathroom is very unsafe for kids, NO non-skid flooring, my son almost hit the floor, if I wasn't there! and their so-called FREE Internet access?? you are Risking yourself if you LOG-on, it's UNSECURED, I even called the Manager about it and she says "that's what we have" you Log-on to word "PALMS" and OPEN Internet and Risk yourself! and we are paying a lot for the stay in this Hotel with all the Risk!! Also, NOT ENOUGH FOOD served during their so-called continental breakfast in OASIS Ballroom as they advertised; guests came to form up lines til the hallway; awaits for the egg and potato trays to be filled! our room doesn't even have a trash can when we first came; We have to call the front desk to provide us, and we expect good service since we paid too much for their family suite accomodation - NOT WORTH FOR THE PRICE, no basic providence, no quality care, not friendly staff; everything here is a FRUSTRATION!! will NEVER STAY - DESERT PALMS HOTEL in ANAHEIM, CA..!!!

Room Tip: Dont' be fooled with this Hotel's Ads!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

Thank you very much we did enjoy the stay.We had a delux suite which had a seperate room with TV and lots of space outside of the twin Queen bedroom ...very comfortable.

Im visiting from Australia ,first visit to Disney. Your staff were always pleasent and helpful. The breakfast setup was very flexible and sensible menu.

We didnt leave the MAID card out one day and the housekeeper came along later and replaced the towels and took the rubbish which was most appreciated.

The Hotel is about a five minute walk from the Disney Park, as we had a three year old and one of us had a foot injury we used the bus which runs every 20 minutes to and from the park ..(.you purchase daily tickets for about $3.00 one way or $4.00 unlimited trips)
Would recommend the Desert Palms to others.

Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Jordan, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

Upon entering our room, there was a feeling of claustrophobia. The bunkbed suite was a long narrow corridor, and the only windows were in the bunkbed section of the room. No matter though, we were at Disneyland. The kids loved the bunkbeds, we moved on. The next morning, we had a visitor in our bathroom. A large cockroach. We called down to the desk, who told us that they had never had a report of cockroaches before (which I am certain is untrue as one of the other comments on this site mentions them.) A maintenance person came to our room, removed the offending creature and we were shuttled to a different room (no more bunkbeds unfortunately.) The new room was also a long corridor, but had two bathrooms, which both turned out to be quite dingy. The feeling of unease was growing. We then had either blisteringly hot water or no hot water in the shower. There was no in-between. The elevator worked about half of the time and, thanks to our guest the first morning, my wife did not sleep the remainder of our time there.
The only good thing about this hotel was the friendliness of the front desk people. Unfortunately this is not enough to get me to try this hotel a second time.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daly City, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

As always, upon arrival we were greeted warmly and in no time at all checking into oour rooms. This year we had a group of over 50 staying at this property and all those in our party were more than pleased dwith the rooms and ammenities. Rooms were clean and ready in a timely manner. The morning breakfast was a perfect starting point for each day. Additionally, I required the use of a scooter and it was waiting and charged in the lobby. At the end of each day, the front desk personnel took charge of the scooter and had it ready to go the following morning. My hasband and I have been staying here annually for over ten years and have never been disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
#2 of 115 in Anaheim
4.5 of 5 stars 584 reviews
0.2 mi away
Castle Inn and Suites
Castle Inn and Suites
#12 of 115 in Anaheim
4.0 of 5 stars 1,095 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ramada Plaza Anaheim
Ramada Plaza Anaheim
#32 of 115 in Anaheim
4.0 of 5 stars 916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn Anaheim Resort
0.7 mi away
Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Palms Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Palms Hotel & Suites

Address: 631 West Katella Avenue, Anaheim, CA 92802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Anaheim
#7 Green Hotel in Anaheim
#22 Family Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Desert Palms Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Desert Palms Hotel and Suites is located in the heart of the Anaheim Resort. It is right on the corner of business and pleasure; located next door to the Disneyland Resort and across the street from the Anaheim Convention Center. Along with our spacious rooms and suites we offer Free Breakfast, Free Parking, and a Free Hot Breakfast Buffet. All rooms and suites come equipped with a microwave, mini-fridge and coffee maker. You are sure to find the perfect place for your family vacation at the Desert Palms Hotel. Our room offering start with the Deluxe Room, which offers 2 queen beds and continues with a number of different suites. Our Borrego Suites offers a sunken living room with sofa sleeper for up to 6 people. Our Yuha Kids Suite offers a bunk bed for the kids! Our Sahara Condo Suite offers a full kitchen, perfect for longer stays. Our largest room, the Kalahari Family Suite sleeps up to 8 people with 2 private bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. There is something for everyone at the Desert Palms Hotel. Kids will have a blast at our arcade corner and even have their own special check in at our Kids Registration. In the lobby they can start the scavenger hunt to find our hidden Mickey and Minnie and receive a prize! Our lobby also features a photo kiosk, perfect for taking that family photo and uploading it straight to Facebook or Twitter. Choose the Desert Palms Hotel for your next Anaheim Vacation and Experience the Oasis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Hotwire, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Agoda, getaroom.com and Orbitz so you can book your Desert Palms Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Palms Hotel And Suites
Desert Palms Anaheim
Desert Palms Hotel Suites
Desert Palms Hotel Anaheim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Desert Palms Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.