We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good option for Dinseyland.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stanford Inn & Suites

Save Saved
You added Stanford Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Stanford Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2171 South Harbor Boulevard, Anaheim, CA 92802 (Formerly Comfort Inn Maingate)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 111 hotels in Anaheim
Fray Bentos
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good option for Dinseyland.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights at this hotel and it was a very good option for a not expensive hotel. The staff was really helpful and always smiling. The breakfast was very good, with a good variety, and the reposition was permanent. Rooms are really spacious and confortable. It has parking and heated pool. Dinseyland is about 1.8 Km from the hotel, and we went walking without any problem. Recomended hotel for the price.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve L, Manager at Stanford Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Hello!

We are very glad you and your family enjoyed your stay with us for 5 nights we were able to accommodate all of your family and your needs. Currently, all of our major renovations are complete but there is still a lot more to come. We are doing everything possible to come with different methods and ideas to improve our guest room and our facilities.

Again, we thank you for your valuable comments and we are looking forward to another opportunity to serve you, your family, and friends again in the near future!

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    160
    208
    61
    30
    28
See reviews for
291
46
7
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, Utah, United States
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I like detailed reviews, so pardon me if I write one. When we booked our vacation, it was the Comfort Inn, and we were a little concerned when the hotel changed hands. We were encouraged, however, by the positive reviews of the new Stanford Inn & Suites. Basically, all we wanted was an economy hotel with clean, comfortable rooms containing a fridge and microwave and providing a free breakfast. Let's face it, we were going to be at the parks most of the time, and just needed a place to crash and eat a meal or two. I was extremely impressed by what we got. The rooms had been remodeled with new carpet and the like. The mini fridge was actually bigger than I expected, and the microwave had plenty of power. There was plenty of hot water, and the shower head had great output. The beds were comfortable, and the pillows were very fluffy. The pool was much better than the hotel next door (where we had stayed on a previous trip). Now on to the breakfast: I was extremely impressed. There was a ton of variety and the management and staff were constantly replenishing the food--not like other hotels where if you don't get there when breakfast opens, you're out of luck. My son especially liked the make-your-own waffles. The management seemed very intent on making a good impression and everyone was considerate and helpful. And, to top it off, they even had a battery charger when we discovered our van had a dead battery one morning. We didn't know exactly how to work it, and an employee dropped everything to help us out. We were on our way in no time. I can't say enough good things about our experience and would definitely stay there again! I highly recommend the Stanford Inn & Suites.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve L, Manager at Stanford Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Hello Lisa!

We thank you for taking out your time to post your experience in regards to our hotel. We are very glad you and your family enjoyed your vacation and had a memorable experience. Our hotel, strives to ensure excellent customer and make sure our rooms exceeds our guest's expectation.

Again, we thank you for your valuable comments and we are looking forward for another opportunity to serve you, your family, and friends again in the near future.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

We chose this hotel on our 3rd summer trip to Disney because we were looking for a hotel 1. Was on Harbor blvd and close to DL 2. Inexpsnsive despite location 3. Had free parking, wifi, breakfast. This hotel met every one of those needs and more! The staff is the friendliest staff i have ever encountered at a hotel, so nice helpful and pleasant! The breakfast: ok at other hotels they kinda shift around the front lobby and put food on the counters, but here there is a whole large room for BF, food is spread out nicely around the many counter space, a small back kitchen with employees making eggs, and there is a ton of seatng inside and outside on side patio area. Best Continental BF ive seen! Didnt check out the pool so have no review for it. Room was nice large very comfy bed,large bathroom.ART shuttle stops right next door, great option if you dont want to drive/walk to park. Love this hotel will definitely return!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve L, Manager at Stanford Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Hello!

We thank you for posting your experience in regards to our hotel. We are so delighted our rooms and our service exceeded your expectations. We are doing every thing possible to ensure excellent customer service and to provide comfortable rooms for our all of our guest.

We did upgrade our facilities and our guest rooms not too long ago and we will continue to maintain our guest rooms. We are constantly coming up with ideas and methods of ways to improve our property. We will continue to be the best we can be.

Again, we thank you again for your valuable comments and suggestions. We are looking for another opportunity to serve you, your family, and friends again in the near future!

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Kelowna, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

As with Palm Springs I found it very difficult to make a final decision about which hotel to stay in Anaheim. Many of the larger hotels charge for parking which I refuse to do so I settled on this one. It was adequate. We were lucky that the room had brand new carpeting which was lovely. We had paid for a king room but got upgraded to a double queen room which was appreciated. It was unfortunately very near Harbor Blvd so traffic noise was quite loud. We like to open windows when possible and it was impossible to do that. The fridge, microwave, etc were very convenient. The bathroom had been remodelled a little but the door was very old and looked awful. The sink was separate from the bathroom which is convenient. Plenty of free parking and we thought the location was very good. We walked to Disney. We did not eat breakfast there but I looked at the selection and it looked the same as other hotels in this category - a little short of seating space but that really isn't a big deal. Front desk staff were mixed - the new management were very helpful and polite, other staff members not quite so!
The bed was very comfortable as were the pillows. I think it was good value for money in a place where typically not much time is spent in a hotel room. I would recommend it. If I were to say any little niggle it would be that the walls are so thin that it is impossible not to hear people in surrounding rooms. This of course is not a fault of the management but when people arrive back to their rooms at different times of the night it was a little annoying to hear doors banging and voices etc. Notwithstanding that I still recommend it. Oh and go to Coco's across the road - great food and amazing strawberry pies!!

Room Tip: Ask for the back of the hotel well away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve L, Manager at Stanford Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Hello!

We thank you for choosing our hotel and we are glad you and your family had a pleasant stay with us! As you mentioned, our hotel is going through extensive renovations to improve our guest rooms and our facility. Not only are we trying to improve our hotel for a better stay, but to ensure excellent customer service.

We thank you for posting your valuable comments and your experience in regards to our hotel. Again, we thank you and we are looking forward for another opportunity to serve you, your family, and friends again in the near future!

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boulder co
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

This is my second stay at what used to be the "Comfort Inn and Suites Maingate." It does have fairly spacious rooms and an unbeatable price for its location. It was pretty amusing though that the hotel changed name while I was there. I literally left the Comfort Inn one morning and returned to the Stanford Inn that afternoon. The Anaheim Convention Center is a short walk of about 7 min. and there are numerous restaurants and stores within a 5 minute walk.

The staff were wonderful, both the front desk and the new management. The clean, well-maintained rooms have refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker. Breakfast is included and the buffet surprised me with eggs and sausage as well as the usual coffee, cereal, pastries, bagels, belgian waffles and juice. If management can keep the prices low, I'll be back the next time I am in Anaheim.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve L, Manager at Stanford Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Hello,

We thank you for choosing our hotel and we are glad you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. Seems like you came to our hotel right during the transition. As renovations continues, we are so glad, our guests gets to experience our upgraded guest room and our facility. From this point, on, its only going to get better!

We thank you again for your valuable comments and looking forward to serving you, your family, and friends again the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Great prices, spacious rooms with microwave, fridge and coffee maker(with lots of coffee). Showers were beyond awesome with great water pressure and hot water. Beds were soft and room was clean. Best part was the breakfast with hot waffles and many breakfast choices. Staff were very helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Just bring some ear plugs cuz the doors do open to the outside and there are many families excited t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve L, Manager at Stanford Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Hello Jennifer,

We are so thrilled you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. We thank you for your valuable comments and we take our guest's comments very seriously. We strive to to ensure excellent customer service and to come up with different ways to upgrade our facility for a better experience & enjoyment for our guest.

We are looking forward for another opportunity to serve you, your family, and friends again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We asked for and received a remodeled room. It was very clean and comfortable. Beds were soft and there were lots of pillows. Microwave, coffee maker, and fridge were clean and worked great. Employees were friendly. Plenty of breakfast choices, including fresh waffles. The attendant kept tables cleaned and food full.
The ART stop is 2 doors down, but not a big deal. The ride with off season crowds was about 20 minutes.
The bad:
Bathroom door didn't shut all the way. A lot of light came in around the room door and curtains. You might want to take some clothes pins to hold the curtains in place better.
The hot tub was barely warm and very dirty. The water was so murky I didn't feel it was safe for my kids. The pool bathroom is broken. There were also several broken pool toys scattered around. The pool itself was clean enough and they kept a cabinet full of pool towels, but the pool area still needs a lot of work.
Overall, we were pleased with this hotel. It is a good choice for families traveling with kids. Once the remodel is finished I think it will be a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Request a remodeled room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve L, Manager at Stanford Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Hello,

We thank you for choosing our hotel and we are glad you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. We do apologize in regards the pool area. At the moment, we are doing some extensive renovations with our pool restroom and guest laundry.

I can ensure you, our heated and pool & spa is maintained and cleaned through out the day.

Again, we greatly appreciate your comments and we are looking forward to serving you, your family, and friends again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Stanford Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanford Inn & Suites

Address: 2171 South Harbor Boulevard, Anaheim, CA 92802 (Formerly Comfort Inn Maingate)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Anaheim
#9 Best Value Hotel in Anaheim
#24 Family Hotel in Anaheim
#24 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stanford Inn & Suites 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stanford Inn & Suites is conveniently located 3 blocks away from Disneyland , California Adventure, and Downtown Disney (1 mile south). We are also within walking distance from the Anaheim Convention Center, various restaurants, and shopping centers. Nearby Attractions are the local beach, Angel's Stadium, and Knott's Berry Farm. We offer Hot breakfast, heated pool and spa, free parking, free oversize vehicle parking, guest laundry, free wi-fi, free newspaper, and a fitness center, local restaurant discounts, guest computer & domestic faxes. Disney tickets and The Anaheim Resort Transportation (ART) tickets are sold at the front desk for a nominal fee. Stanford Inn & Suites is located in the heart of Anaheim and our rooms are 100% smoke free & pet free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, BookIt.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, TravelClick and Otel so you can book your Stanford Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Maingate Hotel Anaheim
Anaheim Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stanford Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.