We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Choice, would stay again(and again)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stanford Inn & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Stanford Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Stanford Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2171 South Harbor Boulevard, Anaheim, CA 92802 (Formerly Comfort Inn Maingate)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 112 Hotels in Anaheim
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Choice, would stay again(and again)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Great prices, spacious rooms with microwave, fridge and coffee maker(with lots of coffee). Showers were beyond awesome with great water pressure and hot water. Beds were soft and room was clean. Best part was the breakfast with hot waffles and many breakfast choices. Staff were very helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Just bring some ear plugs cuz the doors do open to the outside and there are many families excited t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve L, Manager at Stanford Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Hello Jennifer,

We are so thrilled you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. We thank you for your valuable comments and we take our guest's comments very seriously. We strive to to ensure excellent customer service and to come up with different ways to upgrade our facility for a better experience & enjoyment for our guest.

We are looking forward for another opportunity to serve you, your family, and friends again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    248
    71
    31
    29
See reviews for
353
57
8
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We asked for and received a remodeled room. It was very clean and comfortable. Beds were soft and there were lots of pillows. Microwave, coffee maker, and fridge were clean and worked great. Employees were friendly. Plenty of breakfast choices, including fresh waffles. The attendant kept tables cleaned and food full.
The ART stop is 2 doors down, but not a big deal. The ride with off season crowds was about 20 minutes.
The bad:
Bathroom door didn't shut all the way. A lot of light came in around the room door and curtains. You might want to take some clothes pins to hold the curtains in place better.
The hot tub was barely warm and very dirty. The water was so murky I didn't feel it was safe for my kids. The pool bathroom is broken. There were also several broken pool toys scattered around. The pool itself was clean enough and they kept a cabinet full of pool towels, but the pool area still needs a lot of work.
Overall, we were pleased with this hotel. It is a good choice for families traveling with kids. Once the remodel is finished I think it will be a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Request a remodeled room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve L, Manager at Stanford Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Hello,

We thank you for choosing our hotel and we are glad you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. We do apologize in regards the pool area. At the moment, we are doing some extensive renovations with our pool restroom and guest laundry.

I can ensure you, our heated and pool & spa is maintained and cleaned through out the day.

Again, we greatly appreciate your comments and we are looking forward to serving you, your family, and friends again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Stayed here with 2 small kids and it was overall a very positive experience. Our room was quite nice, staff were helpful and accommodating. There is private parking under the Inn, a relaxing outdoor salt water pool, and the rooms surround a couple of gardens that included fruits trees.

Great morning complimentary continental breakfast served at the main entrance that included waffles. I would definitely re-visit!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve L, Manager at Stanford Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Hello,

We are so happy you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. We thank you for choosing our hotel and we really appreciate your valuable comments. We are striving to be the best in regards to excellent customer satisfaction and to upgrade our facility for a more comfortable experience.

Again, we greatly appreciate your valuable comments and we are looking forward to serving you, your family, and friends again in the near future.

Have a great day and thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We really liked the family suite; I was able to sleep in the room with the bunk bed while my two sisters each had their own bed in the main room. The beds and pillows were very comfortable, and the waffles at breakfast were great.
Yes, the walls are on the thin side like the other reviewer mentioned, but it didn't bother us too much.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve L, Manager at Stanford Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Hello Nicky,

We thank you for choosing our hotel and we are thrilled you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. Our hotel is going through some extensive renovations in upgrading our rooms and our facilities to ensure guest satisfaction and to ensure excellent customer service.

We are so happy you guys enjoyed your stay with us and we are looking forward to serving you, your family, and friends again the in near future.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san luis obispo
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

This is a former Comfort Inn, and they haven't changed the phone listing as of 5/1/13 to their new name, so be sure to write their number down when you book! I liked this place-nothing fancy, but the room was large, clean, and well-equipped with a refro, large tv, coffee maker, hair dryer, and lots of clean and fluffy towels. The beds were very comfortable, but our sleep was interrupted every morning of our 3 day stay by a crying baby next door. However, Anaheim is a place for kids, so it was all part of the experience. This is a good choice for families, since you can book a room with an adjoining room for children if you wish. i didn't need this feature, and it was nice not to have to pay for extra space we didn't need. The breakfast had some healthier options such as bananas, yogurt, and whole wheat toast, the pool was clean, and the front desk clerk was gracious even when I called at midnight to inform them of our 3:45 am arrival! I also appreciated the free bottled water, newspaper, and cookie on check-in, and the fact that they do not charge the typical daily $15 "resort fee", or for parking, or for wifi. The only extra charge we encountered was the small fee for the shuttle, which I used to return when everyone else wished to stay. The $1 senior rate was a bargain, the desk clerk was helpful in explaining the shuttle system which is run by the city of Anaheim for the smaller hotels. 5 minutes from the park ticket windows to the hotel door-perfect. There are many food choices of all kinds within a few blocks as well. I will use this hotel again for my next trip, whether solo, with friends, or with grandkids.

Room Tip: I didn't see any particular advantage to any room-this is a two story facility with outside corr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve L, Manager at Stanford Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Hello,

We thank you for choosing our hotel and we are glad you and your family had a pleasant experience at our hotel. We strive to ensure excellent customer service and to provide great service to our guest.

We thank you again for your valuable comments and looking for another opportunity to serve you, your family, and friends again the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We chose this hotel because of its proximity to Disneyland and its affordable price. The hotel rooms have amenities found in much more expensive hotels: flat screen TVs, refrigerator, safe box, swimming pool, coffee maker, free wi-fi, and very comfortable beds. The free breakfast offered make-your-own waffles as well as a variety of other options. There are several fast food restaurants as well as some more upscale places within walking distance. The hotel does show some wear and tear. However, during our stay, they were replacing the carpets in many of the rooms.

Room Tip: Choose a room that has had the carpet replaced. When we were there, the south side was having new c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve L, Manager at Stanford Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Hello Robert,


We thank you for choosing our hotel and we really appreciate your valuable comments. We are very glad our hotel exceeded your expectations and you enjoyed the service our hotel has to offer. We try to be very competitive with neighboring hotels in regards to amenities and to ensure excellent customer service.

At the moment, we are in the midst of replacing our carpets and upgrading the facility. Since, January, our hotel has been striving to upgrade our rooms conditions, shower, and our facility.

Again, we thank you for your valuable comments and taking the time to write a review about our hotel. We are looking forward for another opportunity to serve you, your family, and friends again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

I searched for hotels for months before deciding on Stanford Inn. I was unsure what to expect as the reviews had mentioned a recent remodel. The hotel exceeded my expectations. The staff were all very friendly and helpful, the rooms extremely clean and all redone recently and a great [big] hot breakfast including eggs, sausage, cereal, waffles, bagels, donuts, yogurt and fruit. Definitely the best deal in the area. We especially enjoyed the kids suite (w bunk beds, tv and a little table) which allowed us some privacy at the end of the day! I will stay here every time I visit Disney!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve L, Manager at Stanford Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Hello,

We are so thrilled you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and our staff was able to accommodate all your needs in a prompt manner.

As of now, we are still in the midst of extensive renovations regarding our rooms and to upgrade our facilities.

Again, we greatly appreciate you comments and seems like your research payed off finding the "perfect" hotel in the Anaheim area.

We are looking forward in serving you, your family, and friends again sometime in the near future. We thank you for choosing our hotel as your second home every time your in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stanford Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanford Inn & Suites

Address: 2171 South Harbor Boulevard, Anaheim, CA 92802 (Formerly Comfort Inn Maingate)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Anaheim
#10 Best Value Hotel in Anaheim
#18 Family Hotel in Anaheim
#19 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stanford Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stanford Inn & Suites is conveniently located 3 blocks away from Disneyland , California Adventure, and Downtown Disney (1 mile south). We are also within walking distance from the Anaheim Convention Center, various restaurants, and shopping centers. Nearby Attractions are the local beach, Angel's Stadium, and Knott's Berry Farm. We offer Hot breakfast, heated pool and spa, free parking(No trucks),guest laundry, free wi-fi, free newspaper, and a fitness center, local restaurant discounts, guest computer & domestic faxes. Disney tickets and The Anaheim Resort Transportation (ART) tickets are sold at the front desk for a nominal fee. Stanford Inn & Suites is located in the heart of Anaheim and our rooms are 100% smoke free & pet free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, TravelClick, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Stanford Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Maingate Hotel Anaheim
Anaheim Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stanford Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.