We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last second choice -- meh!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Alamo Inn & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Alamo Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Alamo Inn & Suites
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1140 West Katella Ave., Anaheim, CA 92802   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Best Rates, Guaranteed.
Ranked #108 of 112 Hotels in Anaheim
Saratoga Springs, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Last second choice -- meh!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We go to Disneyland every winter and normally stay at a Quality Inn within walking distance to the park for about $50-60/night. This year, however, our usual place was booked so we jumped on Expedia and took this place. While, geographically, it looks like it is near the park, it is not really within a reasonable walking distance to any of Disney's entrances, as far as I could tell (the front desk was swamped, so there really was no one to ask). The room we got was really antiquated. The heating system looked like it was out of the 1950s. The towels were like sandpaper. The hot water in the shower came in and out. This is a place to rest your head and nothing else, and not really even worth the cheap price tag considering there are so many similarly priced and somewhat better motels in the area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    10
    21
    34
    85
See reviews for
55
23
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
OLYMPIA
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The room was inexpensive, but the accommodations were horrible. The room was dirty, and I wouldn't even walk on the carpet without socks on. The pool is outdoor/non-heated, so it isn't usable during the off months. The hot tub was gross and the room it was in smelled strongly of urine! They said it was only .6 miles from Disneyland, but that is as the crow flies, because it is on the opposite side of the park from the gates. Just spend a couple more bucks and stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: Spend a couple more bucks and stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Although the location is perfect to walk to Disneyland or the Anaheim convention center, there are manybetter options along this same stretch of Katella.

Mattress springs poked my ribs all night. The blanket had several cigarette burn holes. The walls were so paper-thin, I could hear ever syllable of the phone conversationin the room next to me while someone above me paced the floor all night.

None of the ice machines had any ice at any time of the day or night. Not the kind of place you'd want to expose your family or wife to. Although cheap, it's worth spending a couple more bucks for a room that's at least clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: There are no elevators so perhaps a first floor room is most convenient to load and unload luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

Jacuzzi smelled like the sewer, looked like pure pee, not even blue like the pool, and it was not hot, we complained to front desk, and they called pool person, igot about halfway in it and was afraid I would catch some disease! Went right to my room and took a shower. They only only gave us one wash cloth two days in a row. Covers over bath room lights were broken. My husband had to make three different reservations when we booked the room and they couldn't combine them so we had to check in again everyday.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
2 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Anyone who complains about this hotel, is not seeing everything this hotel offers. It is within walking distance to Disneyland which makes it perfect. There's a bed, a refridgerator, and a microwave. Everything you need for a successful trip to the park. It may not be the cleanest hotel in the world, but what do you expect for $50 a night? I LOVE this hotel! I have stayed here at least 30 different times. I have never thought about staying anywhere else. The price makes everything worth it. (I put excellent for everything because even if Alamo does not offer it, the amenities are all close) Remember walking distance to Disneyland for $50 a night!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Check in was fine. Got to the room. Toilet wouldnt flush and kept running. One bug in bathroom one on wall next to bed. Burnt marks from an iron on filthy carpet. Old tiny loosy TV. Scratchy towels. Short black hairs everywhere throughout the room and drawers. No blow dryer or coffee maker in room. No closet or anywhere to hang clothes and coats.
4 inch gap between air conditioner and wall allowing cold air and all outside noises to come in. Probably how mr and mrs bug got in. They made sure there wasn't even a telephne in the room so we couldn't call the desk and complain.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Maria CA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I had heard good reviews about this hotel from a friend. It is close enough to walk to Disneyland. But, my experience was terrible! When I got into my room I didn't realize there was no water in it. So, no shower. The refrig. was a hot box, I plugged it in the night I arrived it was still hot in the morning. When I pulled back the bed sheets there were blood stains on them. I was moved to another room with a shower for my second night, but it had light bulbs missing, and was far from clean. When I complained I didn't get any response. None at all. I asked for the manager who was not available. I called for the next two weeks and a manager was never there. Nearly a month later I find out that the management NEVER deals with customers. This could be a great spot, but not when the people who own it just don't care!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alamo Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alamo Inn & Suites

Address: 1140 West Katella Ave., Anaheim, CA 92802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 112 Hotels in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Alamo Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alamo Inn & Suites is a budget hotel conveniently located in Anaheim, California. The Alamo Inn is one block away from Disneyland, Disney's California Adventure theme parks and the Anaheim Convention Center, and it is a short drive away from Knott's Berry Farm, Angel Stadium of Anaheim, The Outlets at Orange and pristine Southern California beaches. Our rooms (all non-smoking) are spacious and we are in the process of updating them for your comfort and enjoyment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Otel and Tingo so you can book your Alamo Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alamo Hotel Anaheim
Alamo Motel Anaheim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alamo Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.