We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great position” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Anaheim Desert Inn and Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Anaheim Desert Inn and Suites to your Saves list
Anaheim Desert Inn and Suites
1600 South Harbor Blvd., Anaheim, CA 92802   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Free Breakfast!
Ranked #19 of 112 Hotels in Anaheim
Wollongong, New South Wales, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great position”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

The motel is in a great position across the road from Disneyland, the beds are a bit uncomfortable and the wifi wasn't good as you could only get it if you sat near the door and even that wasn't guaranteed.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the rooms at the very back the noise echoes loudly and the wifi is almost none exi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teo H, Front Office Manager at Anaheim Desert Inn and Suites, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Hi Jane H,


Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to give us some feedback about your experience. We currently upgrading of WiFi hardware and will soon eliminate any issues that you might have encountered in the past. We hope to see you back when you travel again to the Disneyland Resort.

Teo Huerta
Front Office Manager
Anaheim Desert Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,086 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    494
    169
    62
    45
See reviews for
713
76
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

Love staying at Desert Inn & Suites. Very conveniently located across from Disneyland and the staff makes checking in/out so simple. Rooms are always neat. Kids love staying in the suite beside they have their own bed and TV.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teo H, Front Office Manager at Anaheim Desert Inn and Suites, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Hi stacz1,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your recent stay at the Desert Inn. I am glad that we met your expectations and hope that you will visit us on your next trip to the Disneyland Resort.

Teo Huerta
Anaheim Desert Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

A nice, clean economical hotel conveniently located near everything.

Great place for large families or groups traveling together.

Loved the easy walk to Disneyland. There are also several restaurants within walking distances, as well as convenient stores.

The only complaint is that there is very limited parking. Not enough parking spots for the amount of rooms that are checked out when at full capacity.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teo H, Front Office Manager at Anaheim Desert Inn and Suites, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Hello KTNeneSM,

Thank you for your feedback and for your kind words, it was our pleasure to be of service and we look forward to future visits.

Teo Huerta
Front Office Manager
Anaheim Desert Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pollock Pines, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

I have stayed at this property before and do like the extra large rooms, and big refrigerator. I love that our room had two tv's but I was disappointed that the only shows playing were the free over the air cable. Makes it hard to find something to watch when there are only like 10 channels.
What I really don't understand is why the owners don't provide a 2 inch mattress topper and real pillows to provide their guests a comfortable night's sleep. On this trip we stayed at a motel 6 and a Best Western as well and both of those hotels had very comfortable beds with mattress toppers and good pillows. The pillows here feel like they took a bunch of lint from the dryers and stuffed it in a sack.
The good news is this time the pool was heated. My kids really enjoyed swimming in it and I was glad to see on our previous trip it must have just been a mechanical problem why the pool was so cold.
We don't even bother eating at the breakfast. There is a walmart grocery store within a mile from the hotel so we just stop there and buy food to eat in the room.
The other thing that was odd and happened this trip but didn't happen on our previous trip was that everyday the second person taking a shower would run out of hot water. We stayed 4 days and after the first two of this happening we would race each other to who was taking the first shower. I spoke to maintenance about this problem and he just said to try and take an earlier shower.

Room Tip: Book a top room floor for less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teo H, Front Office Manager at Anaheim Desert Inn and Suites, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Hello AngelaT1029,

Thank you for taking the time to give feedback about your recent stay at the Desert Inn. I apologize if our beds were to hard, however we have gotten a lot of compliments about our mattresses and pillows, we've even had guests purchase the same matresses because of their comfort. Unfortunately, there are certain things that we cannot predict but please be assured that all of your comments have been taken seriously and addressed accordingly.

Teo Huerta
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We have been staying at the Desert Inn for years. You can't beat the location and the suites (there aren't any better suites this close to Disneyland). The staff is always very nice and the maid service is excellent--the rooms are spotless. The rooms, however, are showing their age--they really need to be updated: the toilet was running all the time, the hairdryer seemed like it was about to die, the furniture is pretty bunged up. And, the breakfast really needs to be better. Though we know what to expect, and we bring some of our own food to make up for it, it is hard to see the hotel people next to us eating their bacon and eggs outside our bedroom window while we are just getting all bread items (and an apple/orange). Come on Desert Inn, are you going to make us stay elsewhere next time?!?!??!

Room Tip: Never had a problem with noise--we always stay in the suites which are a great deal if you need that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teo H, Front Office Manager at Anaheim Desert Inn and Suites, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Hi Annie E,

Thank you for coming back to the Desert Inn and we appreciate your feedback. We will definetely make additions to our breakfast selection in the near future. Nothing is more important to us than our relationship with our guests. Again, we thank you for your review and we cannot wait for your next stay!

Teo Huerta
Front Office Manager
Anaheim Desert Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Good:

I'd give this a lower rating but the location is what makes it prime. That might be why they are so passive about a concerns that guests bring up.

The walk to the park is very short which is great for tired feet and tired people. The parking isn't too bad at this hotel either.

They have above and below ground parking. They will even let you come and park even if you are way ahead of check in time.

There is also cheap food within feet of the hotel so you can save meal money inside the park.


Bad.

The A/C is simply blowing in outside air. The only way it is chilled is if you are standing right on top of it. Might as well just fan yourself with a magazine.

Feel like winding down after some fun at Disneyland? Hope you weren't planning a variety of channels on tv. There are very few channels are mostly sports. I love my ESPN but not when that's all there is to watch.

When we first got to the room, we were planning on cleaning up a bit after a long drive and noticed long black hairs in the towels. That's pretty gross if you as me.

The "breakfast" is pretty terrible as well. I would recommend going up the street to Target and picking up some stuff to make in your room. You'll get a better meal that way.

Now for the HUGE problem.

When we set our reservation things seemed great. When we checked in again everything went smoothly. Our first night went smoothly as well. That is until 7am came along. Our wake up call was the sound of stomping feet, hammers, saws, and loud clanging metal. That's right, they were renovating the entire floor above us. There wasn't a single mention of this upon check in or when we set our reservation. I called the front desk and nothing came of that. After an exhausting day at the park,

I stopped at the front desk on the way to our room and asked if it would be happening again the next day. Sure enough, we found our wake up call would be the same thing as they are there from 7-5pm every day! 5pm is a joke since they were there easily until almost 7pm the day before. AWESOME! The attitude I received from the people at the front desk didn't help me either. Especially when they said for me to come back the next day to be moved to another day. That's after I told them that this was our last day. Pretty pointless if you asked me.

I guess they feel their location makes it ok for them to treat customers in a second rate manner. I would look for somewhere else if you don't mind a shuttle bus or a light walk.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teo H, Front Office Manager at Anaheim Desert Inn and Suites, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Hello Niko P,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay. I sincerely apologize about your experience. I understand that renovations could be anything but relaxing and we are sorry about the inconvenience. Our team has high expectations to provide quality service and value. If your experience tainted your overall opinion of us, I would like to see what can be done to regain your loyalty. Please let me know the best way to communicate with you as you are a valued guest.

Teo Huerta
Front Office Manager
Anaheim Desert Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove, California, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

I love staying at the Desert Inn when we go to Disneyland. It is very close to the main entrance and perfect for returning to the room and giving the children naps or changing clothes for the evening. Rooms are clean and standard room is plenty spacious for a family of four. Staff was friendly. If I were to complain about anything it would be that the continental breakfast is pretty limited.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teo H, Front Office Manager at Anaheim Desert Inn and Suites, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Hello MelMM2013,

Thank you for staying with us and for the feedback. I"m glad that you have been a loyal guest at the Desert Inn and I appreciate that. As far as the breakfast goes, we will probably add a couple of items to our breakfast selection in the near future, we are also planning on adding additinal sitting space. We hope to see you when you come back to the Disneyland Resort.

Teo Huerta
Front Office Manager
Anaheim Desert Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anaheim Desert Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anaheim Desert Inn and Suites

Address: 1600 South Harbor Blvd., Anaheim, CA 92802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you want to stay at one of the close to the magic of Disney, you can't do any better than the Anaheim Desert Inn & Suites hotel in Anaheim, CA. Located directly across the street from the Disneyland(R) Park, Disney's California Adventure(R) Park, and the Downtown Disney(R), District, the Anaheim Desert Inn & Suites offers you the best value for family accommodations as well as the business traveler. Choose from a variety of rooms and suites to accommodate the needs of travelers from our Deluxe King room to our spacious 10 person suites. Our hotel offers all of the benefits of friendly service and comfortable rooms at an affordable rate! The Anaheim Desert Inn & Suites guarantees an exciting and comfortable stay for you and your family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Anaheim Desert Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anaheim Desert Hotel Anaheim
Anaheim Desert Motel
Desert Inn Suites
Desert Inn And Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anaheim Desert Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.