We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT location for walking to Disneyland!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anaheim Desert Inn and Suites

Save Saved
You added Anaheim Desert Inn and Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Anaheim Desert Inn and Suites
1600 South Harbor Blvd., Anaheim, CA 92802   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Free Breakfast!
Ranked #19 of 112 hotels in Anaheim
Durham, North Carolina
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“GREAT location for walking to Disneyland!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed here based on the good reviews for this hotel and also because of it's estimated walking distance to Disneyland. Some people said five minutes, some said ten minutes, some said twenty minutes. We are a couple in our mid-20's, and even staying all the way at the back of the hotel property it only took us five minutes to get from our hotel room door to the Disneyland gates. Based on this alone, I give it five stars. It saved us time, money, and the aggravation of riding a shared resort bus to get to the parks each day. Downtown Disney is located here as well, in the same location as the two parks. We loved being able to easily walk to the Disney resort area in the morning and then at the end of a long day at the parks walk back with limited distance and no wait.

The hotel itself: The rooms are average but clean and well maintained and have nice flat screen LCD TV's in them. The noise level outside of the rooms at night could be a bit quieter, but this is a result of the other hotel guests and not something that the staff can control. Bring ear plugs if you are a light sleeper, I do this wherever I stay anyhow. The free breakfast in the morning saved us time and money also and while the offerings were simple (toast, apples and oranges, danishes, two kinds of cereal and oatmeal) it was still nice to have a complementary breakfast.

The cheaper price of the rooms plus the proximity to Disney and the free breakfast makes this an excellent choice for a room in Anaheim.If we ever get to go back to Disneyland, I would definitely book here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teo H, Front Office Manager at Anaheim Desert Inn and Suites, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Hello peppermintblood,

We appreciate you taking the time to post this awesome review, guest noise is indeed something that we cannot control, however we do try to minimize it as much as possible. Thank you for staying with us and we hope that this is one out of many future stays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

957 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    268
    435
    152
    58
    44
See reviews for
635
66
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canyon, Texas, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

There were 10 of us that traveled to Disneyland last week from Texas and we could NOT have been happier with our stay. Staff was friendly, room was spotless and hotel was very quiet...despite the fact that it is a Disney destination hotel. We didn't have the problems others did with thin walls at all! Beds were pretty firm, but we were happy with that. The only issue is parking...but if the lots were full, they would valet with no additional charges. GREAT value for the price!

Room Tip: We stayed in Parlor Suite A I believe...and it was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teo H, Front Office Manager at Anaheim Desert Inn and Suites, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Hello Jamie A,

I'm glad to hear that our hotel met your expectations and that you had a perfect stay. Our entire staff thanks you for staying with us and for taking the time to write this review. We hope that you'll continue to stay with us and we'll work hard to make each and every one of those stays perfect as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orem, Utah, United States
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

I've stayed at the Desert Inn and Suites 4 times now and each time gives me another good reason to come back.

Location wise, this hotel is as close as walking to one of the 3 Disney Hotels. It takes maybe 5 minutes once you've left the park.

It's also surrounded by a Denny's and ihop if you're searching for a cheaper breakfast location. Not to mention plenty of other restaurants within a 2 minute walk.

Price wise, I can typically get a 2 Queen for around $79 a night. That's a great deal considering its location. The rooms are very standard, nothing special. They do the trick for those people who just go, go, go at Disneyland. Plus if you need a nap or rest mid day, walk 7-8 min and you're at your hotel room.

The service here has always been good. The one thing I've always hated though is that they make you buy a locker when you've arrived and your room isn't ready. Most other hotels around there will hold it for free.

The pool is also just okay, nothing special. You can tell the hot tub is dirty most of the time because of all the bubbles in it.

Other than that, this is a great place to stay price and location wise.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teo H, Front Office Manager at Anaheim Desert Inn and Suites, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Hello DeanGibbons,

I want to personally thank you for your continued business and I'm happy to hear that our service keeps you coming back. We are always striving for excellence and reviews like yours tell me that we are in the right path. I again thank you and hope that you'll keep coming back to us for the years to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Hi all i would like to start of with that we checked in on the 3rd of May till the 7th of May. We stayed in room 509 top floor front end of the hotel. It was nice and quiet and so so so close to Disneyland Resort that you could almost roll out of bed and you're there. Now for us in room 509 we had instant hot water was so awesome so i don't know why others are saying they had issues with their water. The room with the spa which cost a little extra was so worth it after being on your feet all day and night at Disneyland Resort. The free breakfast was ok for some juice milk and rolls. I would have liked to see some eggs but good thing we had Denny's and IHOP next door on either side :).
For dinner I recommend going to Outback Steak House (yummy!), which is right down the street. As far as the free WiFi goes, it was painfully slow but hey that's life because the whole stay here at this hotel makes you overlook that. The beds for us were just about right. The fridge in our room could have been colder but we used the little freezer for most part that is in the fridge. All in all for the 4 nights at the price of $682 we in room 509 were very happy with the stay. The room and the service at the front desk were good. My only complaint would be when I asked for help to find the room from one of the maids she said she speak no English that's the only thing that annoyed me for about 2 mins i was then fine after that.

Room Tip: I would recommend staying in room 509 but not when I want to book it :P lol
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teo H, Front Office Manager at Anaheim Desert Inn and Suites, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Hello Bret F,

I appreciate you feedback, it makes our staff feel proud of the quality of service that we offer. We are not a fancy hotel, but we do provide excellent customer service. A big thank you on behalf of the entire Desert Inn Staff and we'll see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

The location of this hotel is perfect- right across from the entrance to the park! And the rooms are absolutely spotlessly clean. However, among the less pleasant parts of our stay were the fact that the beds were incredibly uncomfortable; the walls are very thin- you could hear a different baby crying every night from various directions; and the breakfast is appallingly bad. Watching a staff person dump a tray of costco pastries onto a tray in front of you? Really not appetizing. If all you want is a place to put your body after an exhausting day at Disney, you cant beat the location, but I can't particularly rave about its comfort level.

Room Tip: try for the top floor- fewer walls to share.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teo H, Front Office Manager at Anaheim Desert Inn and Suites, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Hi deb r,

We appreciate you taking the time to complete a survey regarding your recent stay with us. On behalf of our entire staff here at the Desert Inn & Suite we apologize for the concerns you have about your experience at this hotel. We have received multiple compliments about our beds and we've had guests purchase the same bed because of its comfort, however we do understand that everybody is different. Should you decide to stay with us again, we would take that opportunity to be of better service to you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Carlos, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

There are so many things that I loved about this hotel. It was clean and close to Disneyland. We had a parlor A suite with spa. I was not bothered by any outside noise. The spa is a very large jetted bathtub. Our party of 2 adults and 2 small kids fit just fine in the tub, and it was nice way to relax after the park.

However, the wireless internet did not work at all from our room on the 5th floor. We called the front desk several times, and were told that they would "look into it" or "reset it" but I felt that our complaints were largely ignored. I needed to be able to get some work done after my kids went to sleep, but I obviously can't leave 2 sleeping children in a hotel room and go downstairs to the lobby to use the Internet. We offered to even change rooms if the front desk could put us in a room that had Internet access, but the front desk did not get back to us.

This issue alone means that I am unlikely to stay at this hotel again. The hours that I spent trying to get online, and the lack of the hotel's ability to fix the issue, unfortunately soured what would have otherwise been a perfect stay.

Other reviewers have noted similar issues with the Internet at this hotel. Based on my stay, I do not think that the hotel can honestly represent that they provide Internet access in the guest rooms.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teo H, Front Office Manager at Anaheim Desert Inn and Suites, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Hello Sara J,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Desert Inn, I apologize that your stay was anything less than great and I will personally look into this issue, we will use your review to help us provide a better experience for our future guests. Thank you and I sure hope that you would give us another opportunity to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottonwood, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Clean, comfortable, and, most importantly, close to the entrance of DLR. It is not a 4 star resort, but for the price it is beyond compare. The pool and the continental breakfast are not much, but the price more than makes up for that. (and who wants to pay for a nice pool when you are that close to Disneyland?) Other reviewers have complained about the beds, but I think they are very comfortable. -This is not our first stay and we have never had a complaint about the beds. Maybe they are firmer than average, I'm really not sure why others thought they are anything less than perfect. One sink is a little cramped when you have 4 in a room.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teo H, Front Office Manager at Anaheim Desert Inn and Suites, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Hello Deby W,

Thank you for your review. We are happy that your stay was great and that you have made our hotel your home away from home. We are not perfect but we work very hard at providing great customer service and a clean and comfortable place to stay. Thank you for your patronage and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anaheim Desert Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anaheim Desert Inn and Suites

Address: 1600 South Harbor Blvd., Anaheim, CA 92802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Anaheim
#19 Family Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you want to stay at one of the close to the magic of Disney, you can't do any better than the Anaheim Desert Inn & Suites hotel in Anaheim, CA. Located directly across the street from the Disneyland(R) Park, Disney's California Adventure(R) Park, and the Downtown Disney(R), District, the Anaheim Desert Inn & Suites offers you the best value for family accommodations as well as the business traveler. Choose from a variety of rooms and suites to accommodate the needs of travelers from our Deluxe King room to our spacious 10 person suites. Our hotel offers all of the benefits of friendly service and comfortable rooms at an affordable rate! The Anaheim Desert Inn & Suites guarantees an exciting and comfortable stay for you and your family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Anaheim Desert Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anaheim Desert Hotel Anaheim
Anaheim Desert Motel
Desert Inn Suites
Desert Inn And Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anaheim Desert Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.