We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short But Sweet” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anaheim Desert Inn and Suites

Save Saved
You added Anaheim Desert Inn and Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Anaheim Desert Inn and Suites
1600 South Harbor Blvd., Anaheim, CA 92802   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Free Breakfast!
Ranked #16 of 111 hotels in Anaheim
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Short But Sweet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Hi all i would like to start of with that we checked in on the 3rd of May till the 7th of May. We stayed in room 509 top floor front end of the hotel. It was nice and quiet and so so so close to Disneyland Resort that you could almost roll out of bed and you're there. Now for us in room 509 we had instant hot water was so awesome so i don't know why others are saying they had issues with their water. The room with the spa which cost a little extra was so worth it after being on your feet all day and night at Disneyland Resort. The free breakfast was ok for some juice milk and rolls. I would have liked to see some eggs but good thing we had Denny's and IHOP next door on either side :).
For dinner I recommend going to Outback Steak House (yummy!), which is right down the street. As far as the free WiFi goes, it was painfully slow but hey that's life because the whole stay here at this hotel makes you overlook that. The beds for us were just about right. The fridge in our room could have been colder but we used the little freezer for most part that is in the fridge. All in all for the 4 nights at the price of $682 we in room 509 were very happy with the stay. The room and the service at the front desk were good. My only complaint would be when I asked for help to find the room from one of the maids she said she speak no English that's the only thing that annoyed me for about 2 mins i was then fine after that.

Room Tip: I would recommend staying in room 509 but not when I want to book it :P lol
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teo H, Front Office Manager at Anaheim Desert Inn and Suites, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Hello Bret F,

I appreciate you feedback, it makes our staff feel proud of the quality of service that we offer. We are not a fancy hotel, but we do provide excellent customer service. A big thank you on behalf of the entire Desert Inn Staff and we'll see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

922 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    258
    419
    146
    57
    42
See reviews for
612
64
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

The location of this hotel is perfect- right across from the entrance to the park! And the rooms are absolutely spotlessly clean. However, among the less pleasant parts of our stay were the fact that the beds were incredibly uncomfortable; the walls are very thin- you could hear a different baby crying every night from various directions; and the breakfast is appallingly bad. Watching a staff person dump a tray of costco pastries onto a tray in front of you? Really not appetizing. If all you want is a place to put your body after an exhausting day at Disney, you cant beat the location, but I can't particularly rave about its comfort level.

Room Tip: try for the top floor- fewer walls to share.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teo H, Front Office Manager at Anaheim Desert Inn and Suites, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Hi deb r,

We appreciate you taking the time to complete a survey regarding your recent stay with us. On behalf of our entire staff here at the Desert Inn & Suite we apologize for the concerns you have about your experience at this hotel. We have received multiple compliments about our beds and we've had guests purchase the same bed because of its comfort, however we do understand that everybody is different. Should you decide to stay with us again, we would take that opportunity to be of better service to you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Carlos, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

There are so many things that I loved about this hotel. It was clean and close to Disneyland. We had a parlor A suite with spa. I was not bothered by any outside noise. The spa is a very large jetted bathtub. Our party of 2 adults and 2 small kids fit just fine in the tub, and it was nice way to relax after the park.

However, the wireless internet did not work at all from our room on the 5th floor. We called the front desk several times, and were told that they would "look into it" or "reset it" but I felt that our complaints were largely ignored. I needed to be able to get some work done after my kids went to sleep, but I obviously can't leave 2 sleeping children in a hotel room and go downstairs to the lobby to use the Internet. We offered to even change rooms if the front desk could put us in a room that had Internet access, but the front desk did not get back to us.

This issue alone means that I am unlikely to stay at this hotel again. The hours that I spent trying to get online, and the lack of the hotel's ability to fix the issue, unfortunately soured what would have otherwise been a perfect stay.

Other reviewers have noted similar issues with the Internet at this hotel. Based on my stay, I do not think that the hotel can honestly represent that they provide Internet access in the guest rooms.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teo H, Front Office Manager at Anaheim Desert Inn and Suites, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Hello Sara J,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Desert Inn, I apologize that your stay was anything less than great and I will personally look into this issue, we will use your review to help us provide a better experience for our future guests. Thank you and I sure hope that you would give us another opportunity to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottonwood, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Clean, comfortable, and, most importantly, close to the entrance of DLR. It is not a 4 star resort, but for the price it is beyond compare. The pool and the continental breakfast are not much, but the price more than makes up for that. (and who wants to pay for a nice pool when you are that close to Disneyland?) Other reviewers have complained about the beds, but I think they are very comfortable. -This is not our first stay and we have never had a complaint about the beds. Maybe they are firmer than average, I'm really not sure why others thought they are anything less than perfect. One sink is a little cramped when you have 4 in a room.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teo H, Front Office Manager at Anaheim Desert Inn and Suites, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Hello Deby W,

Thank you for your review. We are happy that your stay was great and that you have made our hotel your home away from home. We are not perfect but we work very hard at providing great customer service and a clean and comfortable place to stay. Thank you for your patronage and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moose Jaw, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

we just got back from our 11 days/nights stay at this hotel. I must say that the service was top-notch, the location to Disney couldn't have been better and they were very accommodating. We asked for a nice quiet corner somewhere on the top floor and we got just that as we heard nothing outside the room. the room was very simply decorated but who cares?! everything was there that we needed and everything worked as it should have. my only knock on the place is there needed to be a towel rack by the tub/shower (it was over the toilet at the other end of the room) and there needed to be a couple more power outlets to accommodate all of our electronics. but, those were VERY minor knocks. I WILL be staying here again!! Thank you all Desert Inn staff, you were awesome!

Room Tip: ask for a nice quiet corner, and on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teo H, Front Office Manager at Anaheim Desert Inn and Suites, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Hello TNT_9,

We appreciate you taking the time to complete this survey regarding your recent stay with us and we hope that this is the first out of many stays. At the Desert Inn, we try to accommodate all of our guests requests knowing that this will make your stay even more tremendous. Thank you and we look forward to many more awesome Disney Vacations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kahului, Hawaii
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

My wife and I were very happy with this hotel great location 5 min walk to the entrance of DL ,very clean,room's were good size compared to other hotels I've visited in the same area,staff and parking attendants were very nice and helpful! There's an indoor heated pool and they offer free continental breakfast parking lot is small but if they run out of parking they will valet it for free!There's also restaurant's open 24 hour's a day right next door(IHOP and Denny's)! The only bad thing is they wont let you check in early not even for a fee!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teo H, Front Office Manager at Anaheim Desert Inn and Suites, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Hi joshkamalo,

A big thank you to you and your family for staying with us while visiting the Happiest Place on Earth. Due to our location an early check-in is not possible most of the time due to our staff always making sure that all rooms cleaned and serviced to meet our standards, it was our pleasure to be of service and we look forward to future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane Valley
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed at the Anaheim Desert Inn and Suites April 23rd and 24th. My sister and I came for a two day visit to the Disney parks. We have stayed at this hotel before (in one of their suites) and had a great experience so decided to stay here again. We had a Deluxe room with 2 Queen beds and it was spacious and clean. The beds were very comfortable and we didn't notice outside noise at all. The staff is wonderful and always willing to help with anything we would ask of them. Will always try this hotel first when planning a Disney vacation...

Room Tip: The Deluxe rooms with two Queen beds are toward the back of the hotel but an easy walk after a long...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teo H, Front Office Manager at Anaheim Desert Inn and Suites, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Hello KerrySpokaneValley,

It is a great honor that we are your first choice when making Disney Vacation plans and appreciate your kind words. We work hard to provide a home away from home to all of our guests, we are happy that you are pleased with our accommodations and service. Thank you for being a loyal customer and see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Anaheim Desert Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anaheim Desert Inn and Suites

Address: 1600 South Harbor Blvd., Anaheim, CA 92802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Anaheim
#15 Family Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you want to stay at one of the close to the magic of Disney, you can't do any better than the Anaheim Desert Inn & Suites hotel in Anaheim, CA. Located directly across the street from the Disneyland(R) Park, Disney's California Adventure(R) Park, and the Downtown Disney(R), District, the Anaheim Desert Inn & Suites offers you the best value for family accommodations as well as the business traveler. Choose from a variety of rooms and suites to accommodate the needs of travelers from our Deluxe King room to our spacious 10 person suites. Our hotel offers all of the benefits of friendly service and comfortable rooms at an affordable rate! The Anaheim Desert Inn & Suites guarantees an exciting and comfortable stay for you and your family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Anaheim Desert Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anaheim Desert Hotel Anaheim
Anaheim Desert Motel
Desert Inn Suites
Desert Inn And Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anaheim Desert Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.