We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“tremendous” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Anaheim Desert Inn and Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Anaheim Desert Inn and Suites to your Saves list
Anaheim Desert Inn and Suites
1600 South Harbor Blvd., Anaheim, CA 92802   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Free Breakfast!
Ranked #20 of 112 Hotels in Anaheim
Moose Jaw, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“tremendous”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

we just got back from our 11 days/nights stay at this hotel. I must say that the service was top-notch, the location to Disney couldn't have been better and they were very accommodating. We asked for a nice quiet corner somewhere on the top floor and we got just that as we heard nothing outside the room. the room was very simply decorated but who cares?! everything was there that we needed and everything worked as it should have. my only knock on the place is there needed to be a towel rack by the tub/shower (it was over the toilet at the other end of the room) and there needed to be a couple more power outlets to accommodate all of our electronics. but, those were VERY minor knocks. I WILL be staying here again!! Thank you all Desert Inn staff, you were awesome!

Room Tip: ask for a nice quiet corner, and on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teo H, Front Office Manager at Anaheim Desert Inn and Suites, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Hello TNT_9,

We appreciate you taking the time to complete this survey regarding your recent stay with us and we hope that this is the first out of many stays. At the Desert Inn, we try to accommodate all of our guests requests knowing that this will make your stay even more tremendous. Thank you and we look forward to many more awesome Disney Vacations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,014 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    459
    162
    61
    44
See reviews for
671
72
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kahului, Hawaii
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

My wife and I were very happy with this hotel great location 5 min walk to the entrance of DL ,very clean,room's were good size compared to other hotels I've visited in the same area,staff and parking attendants were very nice and helpful! There's an indoor heated pool and they offer free continental breakfast parking lot is small but if they run out of parking they will valet it for free!There's also restaurant's open 24 hour's a day right next door(IHOP and Denny's)! The only bad thing is they wont let you check in early not even for a fee!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teo H, Front Office Manager at Anaheim Desert Inn and Suites, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Hi joshkamalo,

A big thank you to you and your family for staying with us while visiting the Happiest Place on Earth. Due to our location an early check-in is not possible most of the time due to our staff always making sure that all rooms cleaned and serviced to meet our standards, it was our pleasure to be of service and we look forward to future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane Valley
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed at the Anaheim Desert Inn and Suites April 23rd and 24th. My sister and I came for a two day visit to the Disney parks. We have stayed at this hotel before (in one of their suites) and had a great experience so decided to stay here again. We had a Deluxe room with 2 Queen beds and it was spacious and clean. The beds were very comfortable and we didn't notice outside noise at all. The staff is wonderful and always willing to help with anything we would ask of them. Will always try this hotel first when planning a Disney vacation...

Room Tip: The Deluxe rooms with two Queen beds are toward the back of the hotel but an easy walk after a long...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teo H, Front Office Manager at Anaheim Desert Inn and Suites, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Hello KerrySpokaneValley,

It is a great honor that we are your first choice when making Disney Vacation plans and appreciate your kind words. We work hard to provide a home away from home to all of our guests, we are happy that you are pleased with our accommodations and service. Thank you for being a loyal customer and see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citrus Heights, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

I read reviews before booking this hotel. We went to Disneyland for my Grandson's 5th birthday. The employees were very nicel The facility is old but so is the Disney Hotel. Had 4th floor towards front of hotel. Only real noise was when people were returning after Disneyland closed. The breakfast they have was great. They had cereal, toast, danish, coffee etc. I will stay here again. Thanks for a good visit!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teo H, Front Office Manager at Anaheim Desert Inn and Suites, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Hi Diane H,

I'm glad that you found our hotel to your satisfaction and that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you and I sure hope that you'll stay with us so that we can make your Disney Vacations memorable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

I am definitely conflicted as I write this review...we regularly stay at this hotel on our family trips to Disneyland, and it can sometimes be difficult to get a reservation. I don't want to speak too highly of them, for fear that even MORE people will want to stay at the Desert Inn, thus making it more difficult on myself in the future. I will simply say this:
- One of the closest hotels to the Disneyland main entrance.
- Rooms are spacious. GREAT for large families or groups.
- Beds are just OK. Not horrible, but definitely not pillow-top.
- Good value, price.
- Some of the rooms on lower floors, or near the stairs, can be very noisy with people coming and going from Disneyland...both early and late
- Don't count on their "continental breakfast" to tide you over, unless all you like for breakfast is a packaged Danish, and watery OJ.
- Denny's is right next door. McD is just down the street.
- Pool is indoors, small, heavily chlorinated, and usually packed with rambuncious kids :)
- My experience with the staff has been both very good, and very poor.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teo H, Front Office Manager at Anaheim Desert Inn and Suites, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Hello RocketWest,

I thank you for your kind review of the Desert Inn & Suites and appreciate your continuous patronage. We are by far perfect but we do try to constantly improve. A big thank you on behalf of the entire staff of Desert Inn and we will see you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

If you're reading this review, then chances are you're looking to take a trip to Disneyland. I just got back from taking my family for a couple days and we stayed at the Desert Inn and Suites. This property is located right across the street from the main entrance, which was ideal. This was our 3rd trip to DL in the past few years and we've stayed at a different hotel each time. All 3 hotels have actually been nice, but we chose this one this time for the prime location.

The hotel is nice, not the fanciest but not a dive either. Everyone of the staff that we encountered was friendly and helpful. We stayed in a Parlor Suite, and the room was average, but we were able to see the Disneyland Fireworks from our window (they have a viewing deck as well). Parking is very limited for the number of rooms so you may have trouble finding a spot and may have to valet. We were fortunate and able to get a spot, and we left our car there until we went home.

The complementary continental breakfast was your typical fare, with pastries, cereal, oatmeal, coffee, juice, etc. There isn't a whole lot of seating either so you may have to take a tray back to your room. There is also a Dennys and IHOP next door, and a Mimi's Cafe about a half mile down the street (all within walking distance).

We didn't use the pool because the chlorine smell was pretty thick just walking by (like most public pools).

All in all, the Desert Inn and Suites is a nice hotel, and the location is perfect if you're going to Disneyland and don't want to worry about driving anywhere. I would certainly stay here again on my next Disneyland trip.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teo H, Front Office Manager at Anaheim Desert Inn and Suites, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Hello mswguitar,

Thank you for your feedback, i'm happy to hear that our hotel met your expectations. We understand that our breakfast room can get a little crowded at time and this is why we are expanding our square footage and addting more sitting space, thank you for choosing us and we llook forward to be of service again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aguascalientes, Aguascalientes, Mexico
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Our stay in Anaheim was very pleasant and it was in great part thanks to the benefits of staying at DI&S hotel. The room was very nice and spacious, the front desk employees very friendly and helpful and in general the hotel is an excellent value for visiting Disneyland Resort. Great location. I think for the price it can't be beat

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teo H, Front Office Manager at Anaheim Desert Inn and Suites, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Hello Alejandro V,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback about your recent stay with us. We'll share your kind words to our front desk and with the rest our our staff as well. Thank you for your patronage and we hope to see you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anaheim Desert Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anaheim Desert Inn and Suites

Address: 1600 South Harbor Blvd., Anaheim, CA 92802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you want to stay at one of the close to the magic of Disney, you can't do any better than the Anaheim Desert Inn & Suites hotel in Anaheim, CA. Located directly across the street from the Disneyland(R) Park, Disney's California Adventure(R) Park, and the Downtown Disney(R), District, the Anaheim Desert Inn & Suites offers you the best value for family accommodations as well as the business traveler. Choose from a variety of rooms and suites to accommodate the needs of travelers from our Deluxe King room to our spacious 10 person suites. Our hotel offers all of the benefits of friendly service and comfortable rooms at an affordable rate! The Anaheim Desert Inn & Suites guarantees an exciting and comfortable stay for you and your family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Anaheim Desert Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anaheim Desert Hotel Anaheim
Anaheim Desert Motel
Desert Inn Suites
Desert Inn And Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anaheim Desert Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.