We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a Consistently Great Place for Our Disney Adventures” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anaheim Desert Inn and Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Anaheim Desert Inn and Suites to your Saves list
Anaheim Desert Inn and Suites
1600 South Harbor Blvd., Anaheim, CA 92802   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Free Breakfast!
Ranked #19 of 112 Hotels in Anaheim
San Ramon, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Always a Consistently Great Place for Our Disney Adventures”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We've stayed here for many years. Can't beat the location. Even when we stayed at Paradise Pier one year-the walk was just too far when you're tired. This location is so ideal too b/c you have IHOP, Denny's, Tony Roma's, etc. as other food options. Tony Romas was great service and quick for us as well as loved the food. Hands down can't beat the location. Service is great when you arrive they take care of you as well as cleaning. I think it helped that when we left our room, we put the ready for cleaning sign on b/c we when came back like around 12 our room was already cleaned. Whereas other rooms we saw were still being serviced. This just made our return trip to rest up for more Disney at night easier. I think they have the best room rates if you plan. We've stayed at the BW and I think their rate might have been a bit more. We stayed at he Park Vue and when we used the hair dryer and microwave or coffee maker at same time, we kept blowing the fuse and asking to be re-set which was a drag. We've also done a 3 family trip and accommodations were great. That's why we always stay at Desert Inn -we've never had any issues. We'd return there again.

Room Tip: Staying closer to the back of the hotel has been quieter for us. Parking situation is hit or miss i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teo H, Front Office Manager at Anaheim Desert Inn and Suites, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Hello stargazer668,

I'm glad that you have enjoyed staying at the Desert Inn throughout the years, our entire staff appreciates you for making our hotel your home away from home. We are not perfect but we work very hard at providing great customer service and a clean and comfortable place to stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,085 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    494
    169
    62
    45
See reviews for
712
76
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, BC
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

This is a very heavily used property and as such, I was very impressed with the courtesy, cleanliness and overall room experience. Spring Break is extraordinarily busy and one must remember that the staff is working at full tilt. This is my family's second visit here. The room was exceptionally clean, the beds were very comfortable and the small fridge and microwave is a great service. I booked the Parlour A suite which has an small additional t.v. room with a pull-out sofa bed; this is worth its weight in gold for a teenager. It also allowed us to stretch out a bit more, provided an extra dresser and allowed for us to bring up our breakfast trays. Maid service was impeccable. We did not have any issues with hot water and with the spa option, the massive shower was a treat. We loved being on the fifth floor and challenged ourselves to use the stairs instead of the elevator; this helped burn off those extra churro calories. The rooftop allows for a very good viewing platform of the fireworks - you can even see some of the lower level fireworks. Breakfast is good enough to get started as mentioned in the previous post. Denny's and IHOP offer large meals at very reasonable prices; bring back leftovers and you have some lunch while taking a nutrition break from the theme parks. An ABC market and 7-Eleven (5 minute walk) also have various yogurts, cheeses and other foods if you want to stock up and save a bit of money. I would stay here again in a heartbeat. Thank you, Anaheim Desert Inn and Suites, for providing such a great accommodation experience while we enjoyed our vacation to Disneyland.

Room Tip: I always travel with a small white noise sound machine - this ensures a great night's sleep, esp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teo H, Front Office Manager at Anaheim Desert Inn and Suites, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Hello Moms-The-Word,

Thank you so much for your kind words. We work hard to provide a home away from home to all of our guests and it fills us with joy to hear that you enjoyed our hotel and that we met all of your expectations. Thank you for being a loyal customer and see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel while we visited Disneyland. We stayed in the two adjoining rooms which slept 4 adults and 5 children very well. The breakfast was nice. It was great to have something before we went to the park each morning. The location is awesome. With five small children, I didn't want to be very far from the main entrance. The walk to the main gate was very short. Great value for this hotel. We couldn't have been happier.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teo H, Front Office Manager at Anaheim Desert Inn and Suites, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Hello Baicrce,

I'm glad that you enjoyed your stayat the Desert Inn while visiting The Happiest Place on Earth. Our Family Suites are some of our most popular suites for big families due to their size and ammenities. We invite you to return to our hotel and let us make any future stays memorable to you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

My wife and I just stayed here this week and were very satisfied with our room. The most important thing for us is a clean bathroom, and this one was, with one exception. On the second night, I noticed a strange noise coming from the bathroom, which turned out to be the bathtub drain backing up and water flowing into the tub from the drain, along with some black gunk and hair. My wife was totally grossed out and fortunately, we had already showered for the night. The tub backed up for about ten minutes, so my guess is that the occupants in the room above us had filled their tub and were draining it, which overwhlemed the drain trap in our tub. Otherwise the entire room was clean, and there were no bedbugs (we check everywhere we go). The bed was very firm, much firmer than we are used to, but that's better than soggy.

The location is unbeatable, just 50 feet away from the crosswalk into the Disneyland Resort. Based on other reviews, we were lucky because we stayed in room 202, which is in the very front of the hotel right next to the elevator and two staircases, and right above the breakfast room. There was a glitch when we checked in around 10:30 pm after driving up from San Diego - the desk clerk said that we had called to say that we were in an accident and wouldn't be staying, but we made no such call and were standing there in front of him. After a few minutes, he said he was putting us in the last room with a king-sized bed, which matched our reservation.

The other reviews are spot on about the breakfast menu, which is very basic. It consists of apples, oranges, danish, white and wheat bread for taost, butter, jam & jellies, oatmeal, corn flakes, coffee, and milk. Denny's is right next door to the south, and IHOP is is in the next hotel to the north, as well as a small selection of other restaurants within a 5-minute walk.

Our room rate was very reasonable for being so close to Disneyland, but be prepared to pay and extra 30% for a long listing of fees and taxes (parking fee, resort fee, resort tax, etc.). If the tub drain didn't back up, I would have given the Desert Inn & Suites five stars for it's value and location.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teo H, Front Office Manager at Anaheim Desert Inn and Suites, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Hello Erik W,

Thank you for giving us your feedback about your recent stay at the Desert Inn. As you know bed bugs could be a big problem for hotels with big flows of guest, however we keep very strick cleaning policies and bed bug prevention program so that our guest can have memorable experiences without bug issues. Our entire staff thanks you for your patronage and sure hope that you will return to our hotel on any future Disneyland trips.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

No hot water for 3 days only to be told each time to keep it running and it will eventually get hot! Never did. Breakfast was disgusting and barely anything to choose from. Wifi almost never worked. Valet was only thing helpful. Never again. Stay next door at park vue inn - much better.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teo H, Front Office Manager at Anaheim Desert Inn and Suites, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Hello Seb2503,

We appreciate you taking the time to complete a survey regarding your recent stay with us. On behalf of our entire staff here at the Desert Inn & Suite we apologize for the concerns you have about your experience at this hotel. Please contact me direclty as I would like to address your concerns personally to try and remedy your experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Safford, Arizona, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stay here all the time and I have never had a complaint until now! We were stuck all the way in the back of the hotel like stepchildren , the beds are SO UNCOMFORTABLE and every morning it was the same cold shower deal......The room in itself was passable for myself and husband and 2 boys....but when the floor sounds more inticing then the bed I may have to rethink another future stay!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teo H, Front Office Manager at Anaheim Desert Inn and Suites, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Hello Marisa S,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I apologize that you didn’t find our hotel to be acceptable and that you had a less than satisfactory stay. We pride ourselves on great customer service and as evidenced by most of our reviews we do offer fantastic accommodations, service and rates. Should you decide to stay with us again, we would take that opportunity to be of better service to you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Love the location and the price! We live an hour away but when we want to stay the night, we stay here. The staff is friendly and the rooms are perfect for a quick night stay or a long vacation. I look forward to staying here more often.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teo H, Front Office Manager at Anaheim Desert Inn and Suites, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Hello katiealyse,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we are delighted to know that your stay was great and hope to see you when you again come back to the Disneyland Resort. Please receive a big thank you on behalf of the entire Desert Inn & Suites staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anaheim Desert Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anaheim Desert Inn and Suites

Address: 1600 South Harbor Blvd., Anaheim, CA 92802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you want to stay at one of the close to the magic of Disney, you can't do any better than the Anaheim Desert Inn & Suites hotel in Anaheim, CA. Located directly across the street from the Disneyland(R) Park, Disney's California Adventure(R) Park, and the Downtown Disney(R), District, the Anaheim Desert Inn & Suites offers you the best value for family accommodations as well as the business traveler. Choose from a variety of rooms and suites to accommodate the needs of travelers from our Deluxe King room to our spacious 10 person suites. Our hotel offers all of the benefits of friendly service and comfortable rooms at an affordable rate! The Anaheim Desert Inn & Suites guarantees an exciting and comfortable stay for you and your family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Anaheim Desert Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anaheim Desert Hotel Anaheim
Anaheim Desert Motel
Desert Inn Suites
Desert Inn And Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anaheim Desert Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.