We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible nights stay” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Anaheim Desert Inn and Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Anaheim Desert Inn and Suites to your Saves list
Anaheim Desert Inn and Suites
1600 South Harbor Blvd., Anaheim, CA 92802   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Free Breakfast!
Ranked #20 of 112 Hotels in Anaheim
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Terrible nights stay”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We had to stay an extra night's stay while on vacation and I called to book they said they had one room left. When I arrived I heard someone else being told the same thing and they charged hidden fees! We had to wait 3 hours to check in to the room and when we did it was horrible. The room had a foul odor and the bed felt like a rock. For the money they charge the room looked like a cell block not something you would expect for $179 a night! We will never stay here again and I caution anyone to. We stayed five nights at the Ramada just a block away and it was amazing! Think again before picking the Desert INN!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

994 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    450
    160
    60
    44
See reviews for
658
71
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

The service of the front desk was good they are helpful and response to our need promptly.
The distance to disneyland was a really plus points as its within 5 mins walk.
Its really value for money we will stay there again

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

Location, location, location! We got the Family Parlor Suite, which was really two adjoining 2-room suites. This gave us 2 bedrooms each with 2 queens, 2 living rooms (door between them and bedrooms) with hideabed sofas, and two bathrooms. We checked in and got into our rooms just in time to see the Disney fireworks out our window.
The hotel is directly across the street from the maingate of the park. You cannot stay closer without staying on property in a Disney hotel. The rooms are mediocre, but if all you're looking for is a place to sleep near to the park, this is the place!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile


Hello Anaheim Desert Inn and Suites. It was such a great experience to stay in your hotel. I never regret my last minute changes I made of choosing yours with other neighboring disney hotels. I never had a hard time in making reservation thru your online site, all the infos needed were written, what you see in the photos are exactly or way better than the actual room where we stayed. They hotel even emailed me a day before our arrival just to remind us of our reservation. On the day itself, since I note it down that we'll be arriving between 7-8pm and we missed the time, they even called us of our whereabouts, how thoughtful. And checking in without any fuss, it took us only 3mins to get a key of our room, parked our car with their valet service. And whats amazing about our stay is that when we entered our room, we're expecting a parlor suite with only 2 queen beds and a sleeper, but I guess were too lucky to be upgraded to a family suite with 4 queen beds! A great welcome to our tourist from Manila. I just love every single detail of our stay. The beds, linens , the bathroom. Its a place far from home yet you feel so at home. The friendliest staff we've ever met! The great breakfast! And most of all walking distance to DISNEYLAND! The kids love your hotel as much as the adults do. We'll definitely keep coming back, the happiest place on earth Disneyland, slept in in the happiest hotel on earth ANAHEIM DESERT INN AND SUITES! Two thumbs up!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

we have stayed at this hotel a few times and have never had any problems. i was warned about the bed bug situation. I left the kids and husband and luggage in the lobby while i checked all the beds. they were remarkably clean. breakfast is horrible but digestable. kids love that they get to eat donuts for a week! pool was clean, hot tub was clean. i also used the laundry facilties. this hotel is the closest you will get to Disneyland without paying Disneyland prices. highly recommend it.

Room Tip: prefect for larger famillies
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carson, California
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

My friend and I come out to Disneyland quite a few times a year and always stay here. We love the fact that it is right across the street from Disneyland. For the most part we haven't had any major issues with Desert Inn. We have had little things we have had to deal with, such as air conditioner not working, but it was fixed very quickly. The people that work here are all very friendly and helpful. I would certainly recommend staying here. Thanks Debbie.....Disney Fan

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferndale, WA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Rooms have really deteriorated since we stayed there in 2009. Upon entering our room this time, we were hit with a heavy mildew smell that lasted our entire stay of 4 nights. My sister's room next door also smelled the same way. It is a very basic, simple room with cheap furnishings. Beds are on the hard side, pillows are a joke, more like a piece of lumpy foam. TV's ok. Nice to have a fridge and microwave. The bathroom is decent sized, plenty of towels. We were only in the room to sleep so it was tolerable, but it's the kind of place that you don't want your luggage, clothes, or anything else touching the floors or bedspreads because you can't trust how clean it is.
Laundry facility is ok, 4 washers and dryers at $2.00 each load. They do have underground parking as well as street level. Elevator is slow. Indoor pool is ok, lots of chlorine.
Breakfast is kind of a joke. Danish pastries, bread for toasting, apples, oranges, two types of cereal, oatmeal, juice and coffee with powdered creamer! Yuck!
There is a Denney's right next door and a Cold Stone Ice Creamery on the other side. McD's is within a 3 min. walk as well as a small pizza place and IHop.
We also encountered quite a few smokers out on the balconies which was really annoying to have to walk through to get to our room. Had I realized that it was a smoke free property, I would've said something to management. We got a rate of $109 a night for a parlor suite 'A' which is a fair rate, but we won't be staying there again. We did have to stay our first night at the Tropicana Inn (about 2 doors down) and would definitely stay here again. Room smelled like freshly bleached towels when we walked in, it was clean, on the small side but way nicer than Desert Inn and Suites and the rate was the same. Outdoor pool was nice, parking was good and you could even see the fireworks from DL at night. I would highly recommend the Tropicana but not Desert Inn.

Room Tip: Since it sits on a deep lot, I would recommend rooms near the front of the hotel. Pool is also near...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anaheim Desert Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anaheim Desert Inn and Suites

Address: 1600 South Harbor Blvd., Anaheim, CA 92802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you want to stay at one of the close to the magic of Disney, you can't do any better than the Anaheim Desert Inn & Suites hotel in Anaheim, CA. Located directly across the street from the Disneyland(R) Park, Disney's California Adventure(R) Park, and the Downtown Disney(R), District, the Anaheim Desert Inn & Suites offers you the best value for family accommodations as well as the business traveler. Choose from a variety of rooms and suites to accommodate the needs of travelers from our Deluxe King room to our spacious 10 person suites. Our hotel offers all of the benefits of friendly service and comfortable rooms at an affordable rate! The Anaheim Desert Inn & Suites guarantees an exciting and comfortable stay for you and your family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Anaheim Desert Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anaheim Desert Hotel Anaheim
Anaheim Desert Motel
Desert Inn Suites
Desert Inn And Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anaheim Desert Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.