We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we expected - and hoped for!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Anaheim Desert Inn and Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Anaheim Desert Inn and Suites to your Saves list
Anaheim Desert Inn and Suites
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1600 South Harbor Blvd., Anaheim, CA 92802   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
So Cal Disney Tickets
Ranked #17 of 114 Hotels in Anaheim
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Morgan Hill, California, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Just what we expected - and hoped for!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We enjoyed our stay very much. The only "problem" that we experienced
was a challenge with the wifi connection - the signal was sometimes
sporadic, and was only truly accessible in one spot in our room. Other
than that, our room was very nice, and spacious - we also appreciated
the roomy refrigerator and bathroom (have you thought about a little
table of some type in the corner of that wonderfully huge bath area?
that would be very helpful!). We enjoyed the sun deck on our first
night there to catch the fireworks, but on our last night the door was
locked right up 'til start time of the show, so we watched from the
street in front, which wasn't as nice... Everyone on staff was friendly
and helpful.
The attraction of this hotel to us was the proximity to Disneyland, and
it was just what we'd hoped. In fact, we are returning with other
family members for our second stay later in the summer!

Room Tip: We were well away from the street, which is always nice, since it's right there at the entrance...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    382
    562
    181
    68
    49
See reviews for
816
83
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

We just concluded out 5 night stay at the Anaheim Desert Inn & Suites. I have mixed reviews about this hotel. We stayed there at the advice of family that goes to Disneyland often.
Positives
- LOCATION, Location, location. It is right across the street from the Disneyland entrance, and I do mean right across the street.
- It is conveniently located next to Denny’s, IHOP, Coldstone, and Mc Donald’s.
- Its cleanliness was satisfactory.
- Free Wi-Fi
- Friendly staff

Negatives
- They nickel & dime you to death
- Breakfast was little Debbie Snacks, and stale cereal, and toast.
- Pool smelled like a mix of mold and chlorine.
- The Wi-Fi was off & on
- Narrow halls, if you have a lot of luggage, better move it before the maids get to work or you will have major issues.
- They lie when you check out. When we went to check out, they acted surprised and stated that they had us reserved for another night, we went ahead and stayed the extra night, but we later overheard them use the EXACT same line to the next person trying to check out.

Basically you get a 2 star hotel for a 3 ½ - 4 star hotel price, but you get an excellent location, and while we were at Disneyland we used the hotel as a place to crash.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Townsend, Washington
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

I had made 4 different reservations at 4 different hotels for our recent Disneyland vacation! After reading the most recent reviews for the Desert Inn, I kept this reservation. Our stay was from June 13-19. We checked in and our room was a top floor and far from the elevator just as requested! Fridge was large and there was a microwave. A plus when you order delivery food and have left overs!! The breakfast should have much more fruit varieties and cereal varieties. But it worked. Very small sitting are, which was fine, we just went to our room and ate. My biggest complaint are the pillows!! Very thick are HARD! Thankfully I had tylenol for the headache I woke up with everyday. Also, you hear a lot of the outside noise, so expect to be awake early... Our room was not cleaned on Sunday, which bothered me when I came back to full garbages and the breakfast tray still in the room and no clean towels. The swimming pool is indoors, which is nice when the sun is so hot.. However, it wasn't that clean around it... empty water bottles, beer cans, food wrappers, etc. I'm not sure there was a garbage can in there.

But overall I would stay again. For the price it is well worth it!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

Great location, reasonable price. Large suites are great

Room Tip: we like the suites with 4 queen beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesertInnMgmnt, Manager at Anaheim Desert Inn and Suites, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
Thank you Dbsalerno:

I've noticed that you've stayed with us numerous times and I would like to thank you for keeping the Desert Inn & Suites are your preferred home away from home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

Stayed over the Memorial day week and must say I enjoy our time here. We have stayed at the Desert inn at least 4 to 5 other times in the past 7 years and we are never dissapointed. You can't beat being across the street from the park, Denny's and other restaurants nearby. Our room was clean and maid service was great. Parking was never an issue and the valet attendants were very friendly and helpful. We arrived early morning on our check in day and had no problems being allowed to park so we could hit Disney and came back later to check in. Microwave and Refrigerators in the room are a big plus. Finally this stay I actually used the roof deck to view the fireworks and wish I had done this on previous stays. I have never had any problems with Desert Inn and will continue to come back on future Disney visits and I always recommend to friends and family. Also prices are very good. Great job Desert Inn and see ya next summer!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesertInnMgmnt, Manager at Anaheim Desert Inn and Suites, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
Hello jagz96,

I'm glad that you choose us everytime you come to the Disneyland Resort and i'm sure glad that we meet all your needs. Thank you for your continued support and we'll see you in summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon OR
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

We stayed in Jan 2012, so I'm late writing this review. I did a lot of research on prices, reviews ect, and finally chose this hotel. We were very happy with it. We had 3 small children so the best feature is how close to Disneyland it is. We stayed there 5 days and never used a car. The rooms were clean and well stocked. The best place to get 2 bedrooms & 2 bathrooms for the price. They are large rooms too. We didn't have any trouble with noise. The other reviews are true as well; the elevator VERY slow (we carried the stroller up the stairs instead), the breakfast Very basic (but it's free!), and the staff could have been a little friendlier, but they were not really rude. We like this hotel and lot and plan to stay if we go again this year.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesertInnMgmnt, Manager at Anaheim Desert Inn and Suites, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We really value your feedback. It helps us look at the things we excel in and the areas that need improvement. Hope to be of service in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orem, Utah
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

This place was well priced and by FAR beat the competition when it came to our suite! It had a good sized small fridge and a microwave and 4 queen beds. It was AMAZINGLY located to Disneyland. Very short walk. I was worried about parking but once we arrived it was no issue. The first time we parked, there was enough for us to self park. When we came back it was full for self parking so they did valet for us. It was no problem at all and they were all super happy and nice. The maid service was great. The hotel felt clean and I didn't notice any excess of noise from other rooms at all. The beds were super firm which was a HUGE plus for me (notsomuch for my husband haha). The only negative things I have to say are that the maid carts are WAY too big to be left in the passageways. We couldn't fit our stroller past them which was a HUGE annoyance. Not really sure what they could do about this but..there it is. Also the elevator is ETERNALLY SLOW. Trust me on this one. Keep the kiddo out of the stroller and carry it down the stairs. And finally, the fan in the shower bathroom didn't work very well and our room was constantly muggy..we ended up opening the window for a bit just to get some air movement. Those things said, we WILL stay here again for every trip. The location can't be beat.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesertInnMgmnt, Manager at Anaheim Desert Inn and Suites, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
Hello lunacherubim,

I do appreciate your feedback and look forward to be of service again in the near future. Thank you for choosing us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Anaheim Desert Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anaheim Desert Inn and Suites

Address: 1600 South Harbor Blvd., Anaheim, CA 92802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Anaheim Desert Inn and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you want to stay at one of the close to the magic of Disney, you can't do any better than the Anaheim Desert Inn & Suites hotel in Anaheim, CA. Located directly across the street from the Disneyland(R) Park, Disney's California Adventure(R) Park, and the Downtown Disney(R), District, the Anaheim Desert Inn & Suites offers you the best value for family accommodations as well as the business traveler. Choose from a variety of rooms and suites to accommodate the needs of travelers from our Deluxe King room to our spacious 10 person suites. Our hotel offers all of the benefits of friendly service and comfortable rooms at an affordable rate! The Anaheim Desert Inn & Suites guarantees an exciting and comfortable stay for you and your family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Anaheim Desert Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anaheim Desert Hotel Anaheim
Anaheim Desert Motel
Desert Inn Suites
Desert Inn And Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anaheim Desert Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.