We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location bad service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Menage

Save Saved
You added Hotel Menage to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Menage
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1221 South Harbor Boulevard, Anaheim, CA 92805 (Formerly Holiday Inn)   |  
Call Hotel:
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 111 hotels in Anaheim
Fort McMurray
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good location bad service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

We have been at the hotel for a few nights now and will be soon checking out. I really like our suite however when we went to check in the room was not ready because maintenance was fixing the shower head, which was fine. The hotel gave us a $50 food voucher so we went and had dinner while we waited. We got to the room and it's a beautiful suite... But the shower head is still broken. Looks like they used cement to try to hold the shower head up but it still just hangs there. The shower is useable but it's a bit tricky to use. We told the front desk and she said she would get someone to look at it... That was 4 days ago.
The other thing that really disapointed me was the restaurant and pool bars service. The first day was awesome when we had Jeff but after that it was crazy. It takes forever to get the bar tender and waitresses to get you anything. It appears that they are short staffed and are training new people. I was really looking forward to this hotel for the pool bar part of it but you have to sit at the bar and keep trying to get someone's attention to get anything. Same thing at the tavern. Our waiter seemed to keep disappearing in the back. We were killing 20 mins while waiting for a cab and it took 15 mins to get a drink. There were only 2 other people in the whole restaurant so I was quite confused on how it would take so long.
The other thing that really grossed me out was room service trays left everywhere for hours.our first morning we ordered breakfast.we finished eating and put the trays out side our door around 9am. When we got back to our room at 4pm the trays were still there. When we left the room again around 6 the trays were finally gone. Yesterday we ordered breakfast and put the trays outside around 10am. We left the hotel around 5:45pm for dinner and the trays were still there. We got back to the hotel around 7:30pm and the trays were still outside our door.my fiancé asked a passing cleaning lady if she could take them. She took them down two doors and dropped them in front of someone else's door. I had to call the front desk twice and by 9pm the trays were finally picked up. Gross.
Besides the service the hotel location is great. We walked to Disney and can see the fire works from our room. The layout of the hotel is really nice and has a resort feeling. I enjoyed the stay over than the bad service.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaResortsInc, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Menage, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Travellergcd,

I am so sorry to hear of the lapse in good service during your stay. We truly appreciate you taking the time to provide your feedback. There is no excuse for the wait times in the restaurant and bar, and also for the lack of attention to the room service trays being left in the hallways.
Your experience has been been brought to the attention of the management and staff of these departments and we are holding a re-training session with the staff to ensure this does not happen again.

Thanks again for your candid comments and feedback. We hope to have the opportunity to host you again, and to demonstrate the quality customer service we strive for.

Sincerely,
Charlotte Gulley
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,336 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    506
    406
    212
    124
    88
See reviews for
578
375
34
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dewey, AZ
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

They upgraded us to a suite and gave us 40.00 in food and drink credit. Everyone and everything was great. Music by the palapa bar at the pool. Disneyland fireworks, a perfect view. Good food and courteous staff.

Room Tip: suite is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

The hotel lobby was beautiful and the pool and tiki bar were very nice! Bell service and valet awesome! Those guys deserve major tips! The room was dirty, rusty and paint was chipping. Not very 'boutique' at all. The decor is updated but besides that the room kinda gave me the hebe geebies. Made me wish I brought Clorox wipes to wipe down the white marks on the headboard! For being over $120 a night we won't stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaResortsInc, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Menage, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your compliments to our valet and bell staff, and these have been passed on to them. Your comments regarding the condition of your guest room have been addressed with our maintenance and housekeeping departments... we are so sorry to hear that your room left you feeling less than comfortable.
Your feedback is very much appreciated.
Charlotte, Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I agree with some other reviews that this hotel stretches the idea of a boutique hotel. Pro's about the hotel are great vibe, friendly staff, walking distance to Disney (just over the freeway bridge) and cool tiki bar and pool area. If you happen to be there on a night for Disney's fireworks you will definitely get a great free show from the hotel view which is fantastic! Con's would be that rooms are average (screams motel) and freeway noise. There is a Starbucks walking distance across the street which is convenient and access to the freeway for your departure is right there. Valet guys were friendly and parking area was safe and lit up. From the advertisements and photos i saw for a boutique hotel i think my expectations were set higher, but reality of being there said to me that the hotel was average. Would i stay there again? I probably would for a short stay.

Room Tip: Rooms facing freeway are noisier, but you do get a great view of Disneyland fireworks
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaResortsInc, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Menage, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for your review and feedback. We appreciate your compliments and your point of view regarding our hotel and your experience.
We hope to have the opportunity to host you again, and wish you happy travels!
Warm Regards,
Charlotte, Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

This is described as boutique hotel. It is an old "updated" La Quinta. The bathtub and tile were painted which is now starting to peel off. The rest of the room was pleasant, but not pleasant enough to distract from the noise of I-5 which is 100-200 feet from the hotel. The staff was friendly, housekeeping was good and the pool/pool bar were nice, but the restaurant was awful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Recently stayed in room 235 for two nights. Good location for the stairs/elevators and for the gym. The hotel is located very close to the freeway, so there is noise but it is also very convenient. Room had a nice refrigerator and safe. King bed and Queen sleeper sofa with coffee table. It was just two of us so we had more than enough space. Second floor with pool view. Room was very clean. The outside walkways could have used a cleaning with the hose. Ice is a good distance away, but plentiful. There are two elevators, as well as stairs. A nice little gym. The pool has a little Tiki bar with fairly reasonable drinks - a Blue Hawaiian complete with orchid was $8.50 during the day. I ordered the same thing at night and it was much smaller, in a plastic cup, no orchid, same price). The pool is nice, not too big, not crowded at all when we were there. There are plenty of lounges and a small jacuzzi. The restaurant has a relatively limited menu, but not overly expensive. We had the breakfast brunch both days and it was very tasty.... one day bacon, the next day sausage. Eggs two ways, pancakes, waffles, oatmeal, fruit, cold cereals, etc. They have valet parking for $12 a day. There is self-parking as well. VERY difficult to get a taxi there... took forever. Afte the initial anxiety-provoking attempt to get a taxi (we had to be to a wedding rehearsal), we just opted to take the car out instead and it was a really easy drive to the park. We parked at the Disneyland Hotel lot and had no trouble at all. Best thing about the Menage was the staff. They were in all ways outstanding and friendly. We were able to check in early. Got extra towels. Gas station and Starbuck's across the street. Groceries 10 minutes away (Von's). Will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Stayed 2 nights in room 533.
The hotel is located practically on the freeway so there was a lot of noise. We were in the "wing" closest to the freeway.
Room has been re-modelled and is quite nice, but the mattress could do with replacing (quite a big divot). Also there was no fridge.
Disney tickets can be brought here and it is within walking distance to the park but we chose to take the shuttle seeing as we would be on our feet for two days at the park. The hotel is the last stop to and first stop from the park and comes regularly. Starbucks across the road was handy for brekkie on the go.
Very good pool and spa area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Menage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Menage

Address: 1221 South Harbor Boulevard, Anaheim, CA 92805 (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#35 Family Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Menage 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the beauty of California in the freshest and most unique boutique hotel in the Anaheim and Disneyland resort district. Conveniently located (block away from Disneyland and 2 miles from the Convention Center), Hotel Menage is the place to see and be seen in Orange County. Enjoy our newly renovated 244 perfectly appointed guest rooms and suites, with 42" plasmas, 24 hr pool, fitness center, business center, and complimentary hi-speed wireless internet, award winning American Tavern restaurant..."Create Your Experience..." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, HotelsClick, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Menage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menage Hotel Anaheim
Hotel Menage Anaheim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Menage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.