We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Pros and Cons” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Menage

Save Saved
You added Hotel Menage to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Menage
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1221 South Harbor Boulevard, Anaheim, CA 92805 (Formerly Holiday Inn)   |  
Call Hotel:
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 111 hotels in Anaheim
Saint Albert, Alberta, Canada
1 review
“The Pros and Cons”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Overall, the Hotel Menage was pretty decent. It was a great location for going to Disneyland, never had to take the shuttle, just walked there. We had a room overlooking the pool area and had a fantastic view for the fireworks every night of our stay.

The rooms were pretty good. They were clean and a nice size.

Most of the staff were friendly and helpful. Watch out though, there is one front desk female agent who works in the mornings who is a real B#$^H!

Room Tip: Try to get a room over looking the pool area!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaResortsInc, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Menage, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Thank you for your review. I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay, however, your comment regarding your experience with a front desk agent concerns me. I would like to follow up with whomever you are referring to, and would like to invite you to email me with the details of your experience with her.
I can be reached at guestservice@casaresortsinc.com. Thanks again for your candid comments. I look forward to hearing from you.

Warm Regards,
Charlotte, Guest Services
Hotel Menage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,351 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    505
    415
    215
    128
    88
See reviews for
572
374
34
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights whilst visiting Disneyland and its a great location. When we arrived we enjoyed happy hour and food around the pool early evening and stayed put until 9pm when the fireworks started at Disney and we had a perfect view. The rooms are large and clean and well /tastefully furnished. We had breakfast at the hotel which was tasty. The shuttle to Disney is regular and reasonable in price. The pool area is nice and has plenty of sun beds.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

An average hotel that is located close to Disneyland. It's rooms are poorly lit and the edge of the bed (in dark wood) extends 15 cm from the end of the mattress. I hit its edge several times in my stay and fractured my little toe. Our friends and ourselves resorted to wrapping the white bed towels around the edge so that it's sharp edge could be seen and avoided. Be warned.
The door key consistently would not work and maintenance, after a week's sta,y had done nothing about it.

Room Tip: Avoid the freeway side
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaResortsInc, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Menage, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. I am so sorry to hear about your injured toes from the platform bed in your guest room. We are currently working on a solution to pad the corners of the platform beds, and hope to have this resolved shortly. Your candid comments are appreciated.
Warm Regards,
Charlotte, Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

My girlfriend and I stay at this hotel EVERY time we go to Disneyland. It is a 10 minute walk to Disneyland, but if you have little ones or don't want to walk they also have a shuttle as well. It is a little bit more expensive than other hotel/motels in the area, but you get what you pay for! The rooms are really nice-big flat screen tvs, nice decor, comfy beds, and decent sized bathroom. They don't come with mini fridges, but as long as they're not all taken you can call the front desk for one at no charge. I read some other reviews about noise problems from the pool area-I've never personally experienced that but granted I usually don't get back to the room until after the park closes so it's usually pretty calm there by that time. The pool and hot tub are nice, there's a great pool bar, you can watch the fireworks from disneyland at the pool and the attached restaurant is AMAZING. All items under $10 and plenty around the $5 range.

Of special note: I did have one check-in experience that was not good; reservations got mixed up through a third party and the person at front desk did not care at all to help us. I took it up with manager (jessica) the next day and she went above and beyond to fix the situation and to take care of us on our next stay as well. The property is great and speaks for itself, but Jessica and the rest of the staff that takes care of us puts this place over the top. I ALWAYS will choose Hotel Menage for my Disneyland trips and recommend you do the same-you won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: Make sure you look at discounted room rates-they have a TON of options (AAA, senior, etc.) to help y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaResortsInc, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Menage, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Thank you for your review! We truly appreciate your loyalty and look forward to continuing to host you and your family when you return to Disneyland. Thank you so much for your kind words.
Warm Regards,
Charlotte, Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Menage over the Christmas holiday and were very excited, as my husband and I truly enjoy boutique properties and felt lucky to find one so close to Disneyland. The reservation process was wonderful and Grace was very helpful in booking our stay. Patrick and Dani were very friendly when we arrived and check in went well. We found the lobby to be lovely, but the elevator seemed out of place and very old, as did the lobby restrooms. We overlooked this and hoped the room would be more on par with the service. Unfortunately, that was not the case. The room we stayed in was very dark, the furniture was nicked and smudged-nothing appeared clean, the carpet was snagged in many areas and coming up at the entrance to the bathroom, the in-room dining menu and the guide of the property were both very cheaply done- nothing was the quality that we expected from looking at the beautiful website. There are some serious structural issues with this property- the walls are so thin we could hear the woman staying next to us coughing all night, there is not a fan in the bathroom to the mirror stays fogged up for thirty minutes after a shower, the faucet in the shower dripped all night and the steps of the guests staying above us could not only be heard, but caused a light in the bathroom to short on and off, and the heating/cooling system is so loud that it was a nuisance to have on. The paint job in the rooms is messy and very obvious where each touch up has been. The towels in our room were completely different brands and both types were really poor quality. The blow dryer was dirty, so I had to wipe it down before I could even use it and the retractable cord did not work. Our sheets had a mascara stain at the top and that made us feel as though they had not been cleaned very well. Overall, we feel that if the housekeeping and maintenance staff could be as stellar as the front desk staff, the property could be greatly improved. The rooms and the lobby restrooms should also be as well designed as the lobby, as the hotel seems patch-worked together to cut cost. We only stayed one night and being able to walk to Disneyland was a really wonderful advantage for us, so we did not mind only having to sleep in this room overnight. We would not recommend Hotel Menage for anything other than a one night stay for the proximity to Disneyland- there are other hotels in the area that are much nicer for a longer stay. Thank you to the front desk staff for all of the hospitality- we just wish the rooms had been less disappointing.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaResortsInc, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Menage, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Thank you for posting feedback about your stay. Your compliments to the front desk and reservations staff are appreciated and have been passed on to them.
Your comments and observations regarding housekeeping and maintenance have been noted for discussion within those departments. Thanks again for posting your review of our property. We wish you happy travels!
Warm Regards,
Charlotte, Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
American Fork, Utah
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

After reading previous reviews, I was worried. Yes the pool-side music is loud (to drown out the traffic noise), but if you call the front desk they will turn it down after 9:00 p.m. Also, the room fan helps mask the noise of traffic and boisterous late-night guests. The Disney fireworks are truly spectacular and we enjoyed them every night at 9:30. Warning: no fridge or microwave in the room (we brought our own). The staff was generally responsive to any requests. The best thing about this hotel is the location. We walked to Disneyland every day (family with teens) and it was 1/2 mile. We didn't find the freeway bridge difficult like some, and honestly the hotel is as close as the Mickey and Friends parking garage, but only costs $10/day rather than $15. Really enjoyed the free WiFi, which worked perfectly in our room. We also enjoyed the good selection of cable channels available. The elevators need a serious update (old and creaky). Also, the beds had awkward plastic covers on them which bunched up under the sheets. The bathrooms are very small, with only the tub and toilet enclosed. No fan makes this room extremely damp after showering. Outside the bathroom, there is only one mirror above the sink. Overall I would probably stay here again for the location, but this hotel is at most a 2 1/2 - 3 star property.

Room Tip: Request a quiet location away from the elevators/ice machines. Pool side is nicest. Bring your own...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

Thankyou menage! We were just in from Australia and could not have chosen a better place to stay!! What more could we ask for after being taken care of by the nicest front desk personnel Patrick, a group of excellent bartenders! Thankyou john and I beleave Ashley was her name. Aswell as thankyou security and valet I know its not your job to help with opening doors or helping with our luggage but we sure appreciated it aswell as your manners. We will be staying here same time next year as this is our new yearly vacation spot thankyou again hotel menage!!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Menage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Menage

Address: 1221 South Harbor Boulevard, Anaheim, CA 92805 (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#35 Family Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Menage 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the beauty of California in the freshest and most unique boutique hotel in the Anaheim and Disneyland resort district. Conveniently located (block away from Disneyland and 2 miles from the Convention Center), Hotel Menage is the place to see and be seen in Orange County. Enjoy our newly renovated 244 perfectly appointed guest rooms and suites, with 42" plasmas, 24 hr pool, fitness center, business center, and complimentary hi-speed wireless internet, award winning K'ya restaurant..."Create Your Experience..." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelsClick, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Menage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menage Hotel Anaheim
Hotel Menage Anaheim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Menage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.