We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location and lots of parking. Although renovated, a little tired and felt dirty.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Menage

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Menage to your Saves list
Hotel Menage
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1221 South Harbor Boulevard, Anaheim, CA 92805 (Formerly Holiday Inn)   |  
Call Hotel:
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 112 Hotels in Anaheim
Sherwood Park, AB
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Nice location and lots of parking. Although renovated, a little tired and felt dirty.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Great location in Anaheim. You get to see the fireworks from the balcony or pool. It is a timeshare as well, so it is a little disjointed. Rooms aren't in great shape but were modernized at one point. Taps are a little leaky, carpet has some staining near the washrooms, and if you book for 2 + 2 kids, you get a queen sofa + a king. Two queens is an upgrade of $20/night. Parking is $10/night which is reasonable as it is cordoned off from the visitor parking.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaResortsInc, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Menage, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Thank you for your review and feedback. I have passed your comments regarding the maintenance issues on to our maintenance manager so they may be addressed accordingly.

I would like to clarify - Hotel Menage is not affiliated with any timeshare company. We do lease office space on our property to Shell Vacations, but we are not part of their timeshare collection. I'm sorry for any confusion. Hotel Menage is an independent hotel under the ownership and management of Casa Resorts, Inc.
Thanks again for your candid comments and feedback.

Warm Regards,
Charlotte, Guest Services
Hotel Menage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    553
    442
    226
    134
    97
See reviews for
617
407
34
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed here in July 2012 and We loved staying at Hotel Menage! It is so close to Disneyland, we walked there and it took at the most 10 minutes to get there. You can see the Disneyland fireworks every night sitting by or in the pool! The staff were so friendly and helpful, they gave us advice on how to get to places, what time to leave and were awesome at arranging transportation for us. We really enjoyed the acoustic band that played one of the nights we were there, we were heading to our room after watching the fireworks and they were playing in the Lobby bar, and we spent the rest of the night listening and enjoying the band! The rooms were great, super clean, spacious and really comfortable! The only issue we had was the noise from traffic, but it wasn't enough noise to stop us from sleeping.
We recommend the on site restaurant and the Build your own burgers!!! This was one of the best burgers I have had, and our waitress was so friendly and great to talk to that I wouldn't have minded if she sat down and joined us for dinner!!! I recommend Hotel Menage to anyone that is headed to Anaheim and Disneyland!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaResortsInc, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Menage, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you for your review! We are thrilled to know you enjoyed your stay. Your compliments to the front desk staff have been passed along and are greatly appreciated.
We wish you happy travels, and hope to see you again if you return to the Anaheim area!
Warm Regards,
Charlotte, Guest Services
Hotel Menage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Dark lighting and nice beding do not make a boutique hotel.

Good points:

Close to Disneyland and the interstate
Great views of the disney fireworks from the pool

Bad points

Feels like a prison block.
Dark passageways made me feel unsafe
Close to the interstate, constant traffic noise in our room at least.
Some bloke loading a van under our bedroom window at 6am
Dispite leaving our curtains closed coming home each night to our curtains wide open and lights on so that any would be thief could see there was no one in the room

Room Tip: Only stay here if its really cheap and you are using it as a base.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaResortsInc, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Menage, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
I must say, I was very surprised to read your review of our hotel - I've never heard Hotel Menage described as a prison block before! I'm so sorry about the negative impression and feeling you left with. We appreciate your honesty in stating your opinion, and will be addressing your comments in depth during our next management meeting.
Kind Regards,
Charlotte, Guest Services
Hotel Menage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

Nice staff, especially the front desk men, girls were a bit curt and difficult to understand. Rooms clean, bed comfortable, not keen on shower in bath!! No fridge no safe in room, noise bad from traffic, hotel lighting poor, could not read menu in restaurant, which was temporarily in the foyer at the time of our stay. Tired furniture, need maintainance to paintwork, fittings etc. wifi did not work on the 5th floor, had to get password from staff, 1st password given didn't work. Not much round the hotel, ART was fantastic (transport) took us to a few places. But would stay nearer to Disneyland next time.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaResortsInc, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Menage, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you for posting your feedback. I'm glad to hear that you appreciated our friendly front desk staff, our clean rooms and comfortable beds.
I apologize that other aspects of our hotel were not up to your expectations. We are constantly striving to improve our property, which is why the restaurant was temporarily relocated to the lobby at the time of your stay. We have recently completed a full renovation of our restaurant, American Tavern, and it is now open for business again.
Our WiFi internet is complimentary, but it's true, you must use a password to gain access, as it is only for guest use. We also have refrigerators available on request basis.
Thank you for mentioning the things you noticed needing attention. I have forwarded your review to our maintenance manager, and we will be taking immediate action on your notes.
Warm Regards,
Charlotte, Guest Services
Hotel Menage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Menage on October 12, 2012 for 2 nights. We picked this location after having reservations at a different hotel that was not up to par. We called their main number and scored a same day reservation. Everyone at the front desk was great. There was a slight mix up but it was easily corrected. The room was clean and very up to date. The location was close enough to Disneyland that we walked between the hotel and the park. It was 15-20 walk to the park. Even though we had to cross over an expressway, I didn't find the walk concerning at all. The only issues that we had were the noise from the expressway and some sort of construction that was happening at the hotel. I would recommend this hotel. The staff was very friendly and made us feel very welcome. I wish that we had time to enjoy the hotel more but we were only in Anaheim for 2 days and those days were for DL only.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the expressway if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We stayed here for our honeymoon in September and had an amazing time. We contacted the hotel via facebook to say it was our honeymoon and were given a room with a pool view, on our first night a complimentary bottle of bubbly was brought to the room within 15 min of arriving, a really nice personal touch. It was next to the freeway but we didn't hear a thing once the door was closed. The restaurant was closed during our visit but the limited menu served in the bar was still very good. We used the shuttle everyday to Disney which was cheap and easy to use. Pool area was lovely and great for relaxing in the evening, cocktails were fab. Would def stay here again if we visit Anaheim and would recommend!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, AB
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Menage from Nov 3 - 10th, 2012. The goal of our vacation was to have time away from the SNOW of Alberta, have fun at Disneyland and Knotts Berry Farm, and have some fun hotel, sun and pool time with our two small children, ages 4 and 2. We got two adjoining rooms on the 5th floor, poolside.

This hotel offers a fantastic location relative to Disneyland. From door to door, it took us 12 minutes to WALK to Disneyland, and that's pushing a double stroller. Across the street, minutes awayl, are quick and easy places to grab breakfast on your way into the park - McDonald's, IHOP, Starbucks, etc. So in terms of location, it's truly prime.

They offer self and valet parking. We chose valet for the extra $14 for the week. They are FANTASTIC. The bell hops and valets SPRINT to your vehicle, or if you call ahead, it's always waiting right outside the door for you. Many of them make a point of remembering you and asking how your day was, how the kids enjoyed Disneyland, etc. A really nice touch. They will even get something out of your car for you if you need it, like our stroller we left in there one night and needed it for the walk to Disney the next morning. These guys are good and worth every penny. Feel like a rockstar. Go valet.

The lobby and reception area are dark and modern looking, I think they're going for a nightclub look? Anyway. The lobby breakfast buffet is expensive, which is too bad considering the competition from nearby restaurants. We ate there twice out of convenience, but it wasn't very good, or good value. The waitstaff for the breakfast buffet are pretty lazy. Instead of clearing tables and greeting guests, most mornings we saw them chatting amongst themselves behind the bar, checking their cell phones and staring into space, which is frustrating as a customer if you see dirty tables all over the lobby and you'd like to sit and have breakfast. As you come into the lobby they should be greeting you, inviting you to stay for breakfast, not turning a blind eye hoping you'll go for the Egg McMuffin, only 5 minutes walk away!

The tiki pool bar is awesome. Why more hotels don't offer a pool bar is beyond me! The kids and I always took advantage of the pool bar, getting Shirley Temples (free refills!) or for myself a happy hour cocktail. Heaven after a day at Disney! The pool grounds are nice, palm trees, cool seating, rocks, grass, fountain, music. Lovely!

The pool and hot tub themselves, however... DISGUSTING. Perhaps I'm a little over-sensitive, owning a hot tub ourselves. My husband always takes a few minutes after each use to monitor and adjust the chemicals, keep everything sparkling clean and safe. So going from that to this situation? Hard to stomach. The pool water, when we arrived, was murky, smelly, full of dead insects. The hot tub water was grey/yellow, also smelly, and foamy. The tiles of the pool were caked with grime and children/guests had carved their initials into it (gag). I found it hard to force myself to go swimming with my family, thinking of how very dirty that water was. In fact on the second day I had to write them an email, informing them of how disgusting it was. The next day signs appeared saying the 24-hour pool was "Closed for Scheduled Maintenance". Coincidence? It did make a difference, but the hot tub was still grimy. Too bad, since the pool area SHOULD be amazing, if only they took the daily diligence to keep it clean. A pool should be the shining jewel of a hotel, not the dirty little secret.

The reviews you may have read regarding freeway traffic noise are all true. You really can't escape it. Too bad the hotel wasn't turned 90 degrees, so the "arms" of the hotel reached away from the freeway and sheltered the pool area, instead of opening up to the freeway, trapping and amplifying the sound. Too bad indeed!

Ever hear the expression "a pig with lipstick is still a pig"? Well, that saying rings true for the rooms. Seems a renovation has been attempted with new carpeting and paint, but the walls are rough, cracked, and in poor condition, something a few coats of paint cannot mask. Nice TV's. Excellent channel selection. Good WiFi. Nice beds. Old bathrooms with no ventilation. However this is a symptom of most hotels in the Disneyland area... the hotels were built ages ago and no matter how many renos they may undergo, the rooms will still have that dingy, old, 1970's feel. What can you do? New doors and windows would help with the traffic noise, these seem to be original.

Housekeeping is amazing. They truly do fantastic work. We tipped them generously for their careful and mindful cleaning of our rooms.

Overall it's hard to give a singular review of this hotel. For the location it's great! But our pool experience was ruined by the poor sanitary conditions, which is a huge deal for a family. I would never recommend this place to friends or stay here again. The sounds of the freeway coupled with the other issues would steer us away in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor away from the traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaResortsInc, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Menage, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a candid and detailed review of your recent stay. I'm so happy to hear that your experience with our valet staff and housekeeping staff was exceptional! Your comments have been passed along, and are very much appreciated. We are also glad to know that you appreciated our convenient location to Disneyland, our pool bar, and the pool grounds.

Your concerns about our pool/jacuzzi have been addressed. I completely understand your concern for the sanitary condition of the pool and jacuzzi, and appreciate you writing us an email during your stay. This allowed us to address the problem immediately, and I'm happy to inform you we have contracted a new pool maintenance company, replaced filters, and diligently have the pool cleaned twice daily. A hotel pool and jacuzzi can take some abuse, as so many guests use it throughout the day and night... Thank you for alerting the right people so we could take the steps to correct the situation.
Thank you again for your valuable feedback!

Warm Regards,
Charlotte, Guest Services
Hotel Menage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Menage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Menage

Address: 1221 South Harbor Boulevard, Anaheim, CA 92805 (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#35 Family Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Menage 3.5*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the beauty of California in the freshest and most unique boutique hotel in the Anaheim and Disneyland resort district. Conveniently located (block away from Disneyland and 2 miles from the Convention Center), Hotel Menage is the place to see and be seen in Orange County. Enjoy our newly renovated 244 perfectly appointed guest rooms and suites, with 42" plasmas, 24 hr pool, fitness center, business center, and complimentary hi-speed wireless internet, award winning American Tavern restaurant..."Create Your Experience..." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Menage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menage Hotel Anaheim
Hotel Menage Anaheim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Menage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.