We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, great service, clean!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Castle Inn and Suites

Save Saved
You added Castle Inn and Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Castle Inn and Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1734 South Harbor Blvd., Anaheim, CA 92802   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 111 hotels in Anaheim
Saskatoon, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great value, great service, clean!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2011

If you are looking for 4/5 star place then this isn't for you. But if you are looking for affordable family accommodation near Disney this place does the trick. Clean rooms, clean pool, good service. Yes, it's dated but it's clean and big rooms. It was only 10 minutes from room door to Disney gates (that's all way into the gates!). Lots of restaurants along the way. Good stay would recommend to others on a budget. The only down side was really the slow draining sink in the second room, but not a big deal. Also wi-fi was a bit of an issue but we weren't there to connect online. The pool was clean and hot tub great after a long day at Disney.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

756 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    223
    281
    127
    66
    59
See reviews for
426
92
11
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights in Jan 2011. Rooms were quiet, no road noise. The decor in the rooms is dated but overall the cleanliness was good. Furniture could have done with a dust but linen & towelling all very clean. Bert in reception was wonderful. Gave us good directions & information on specific things we were looking for, always very friendly. Would rate this as probably a 3 star hotel. Only downside for me was the room was advertised with tea & coffee making facilities but only a coffee maker was in the room. When we queried this we were told we could microwave the water in the shop but the only cups provided were polystyrene cups!! No thanks. This wasn't a biggie as we were only there for 3 nights but had the stay been longer I would have been annoyed by the false advertising. Yes, we could have made the tea using the coffee maker & did try it but it still came out tasting of coffee. Would stay again due to the price & location.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2011

This hotel is a gem. It is just down the street from the Main Entrance to Disney Parks. The place is clean and comfortable. Better yet, they have wonderful staff. Due to an error on our part, we didn't have a reservation. The registration clerk honored our "believed" registration, gave a comparable deal and was gracious about it. Definitely worth the money!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2010

I picked this hotel through Google street view because of it's castle facade for my two young daughters to appreciate. Parking is no problem and saved me $15 if I parked at Disney and it's a leisure walking distance to Disney's Harbor Blvd entrance. I have big stroller for my kids so walking to Disneyland for me is better than riding the tram when you should fold your stroller while your kids are asleep or tired. The front desk staff and checking in are professionals. The entrance lobby is nice and I enjoyed taking photos of my daughter in different locations in the lobby. I liked the free ice maker the hotel have in each floor so if you have a cooler and have something to preserve, the free ice makers are very helpful. One downside is the internet connection inside the room which disconnects if you are inactive in your computer. That internet should be improve by management by adding more routers in the hallways. I liked the wooden headboard, mattresses and wood tables chairs and mirrors. Shower/bath has no problem. Overall if you like to spend less in a hotel within striking distance to Disneyland and a positive thinker and not a fault finder, this hotel is wonderful. Thanks Castle Inn for the good experiences without hurting my pocket.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2010

We've stayed at one of the onsite Disney hotels before and NEVER AGAIN! This place is 1 1/2 block walk to main entrance to Disney.. which is less of a walk from Disney Hotel and Paradise Pier Hotel. The family suite (very inexpensive..comparatively) room was ENORMOUS... I mean.. I was shocked! Yes it's dark and sorta dated, but the beds were comfortable.. and bathroom was very large with tub/shower.. and there is also a second vanity in the back room (which has a door for privacy separating the rooms).. The other thing I noticed was that our room was well ventilated.. I did not get that stuffy hotel feeling. I would recommend this hotel to friends and family.. especially for a party of 5 or 6. You can't beat the spaciousness for the price! Also.. the staff was friendly.. and knowledgeable about which disney attractions to get fast passes for.. and which shows to skip..etc. Very friendly. And.. they were very quick to bring extra towels as it rained the whole time we were there. There are many restaurants next door or down the way.. for breakfasts, buffets, etc.. Oh.. and the hot tub was great!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2010

Just returned from LA to New Zealand. We stayed at the Castle Inn and Suites for 10 nights. My husband and I have been to LA twice before but this is the first time we have taken our son (10 years) and daughter (17 years).

This is not a luxurious resort but then you are not paying $$$$ per night. We had requested a family suite and got two rooms that inter-connected, which was just perfect for the kids and us.

The rooms were clean and our bed linen was changed every day. The shower in our room was not much more than a trickle but we used the shower in the kid's room instead, so no big deal.

The beds are firm, which my husband likes, however I like a softer bed but after walking all day around Disneyland and other theme parks I was too exhausted to care.

The walking distance is fine (about 10 minutes) and is very safe for a family.

Our son loved the swimming pool. When we weren't at the theme parks, he lived in the pools. Some people have complained about the size, but they were clean and the swimming pool was warm and the spa pool a lovely temperature.

The money we saved with this hotel we could spend on other things.

There are plenty of places to eat close by. We recommend Mimi's, which is fantastic!!

Overall, we were very happy with our stay at the Castle Inn and would definiately return!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2010

Do not stay here! I wasn't expecting the Hilton ot Marriot at a rate of $68 per night but this is a horrible place to stay! Worse than any Super 8 Motel 6.
1. our bathroom light would not turn on - called the front office multiple times but they never fixed it during our stay.
2. the mini fridge in the room does not keep things cold and is so old that it buzzes all night long.
3. The TV is old and most channels were fuzzy - forget movie channels.
4. The beds and pillows are like sleeping on blocks of concrete.
5. hair dryer did not work - shower curtain and tub looked like a crime scene
6. a room on our floor caught on fire at 4am and the hotel staff did not evacuate guests despite smoke and flames coming from the rooms bathroom. They were more worried about having to give a refund than the guests safety.
7. Night front desk clerk looked and acted like he had a hangover.
8. it is a longer walk from Disneyland than you think. especially at 11pm.
9. the pool is freezing and is the size of a goldfish bowl.
10. dark, scary hotel with people smoking outside that look like meth heads.

I could list 1000 more. Stay here is you are looking to score drugs or die in a fire.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Castle Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Inn and Suites

Address: 1734 South Harbor Blvd., Anaheim, CA 92802
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#18 Family Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Castle Inn and Suites 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castle Inn & Suites is a 200 room hotel located directly across from the Disneyland Resort and just a 7 minute walk to the Disneyland main entrance. We feature all rooms with at least 2 Queen beds and also offer many 2 bedroom family suites with a king size bed and 2 queen beds, with a television in each room, complete with a refrigerator and microwave. We have a heated pool, year around, with a jacuzzi and a children's wading pool. We have coin operated washers and dryers in our on site laundry room, or if you prefer, we offer valet laundry service. Free parking, a gift shop and free WiFi services also await you. Come and enjoy this Castle themed hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Castle Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Anaheim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castle Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.