We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good value, but...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Castle Inn and Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Castle Inn and Suites to your Saves list
Castle Inn and Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1734 South Harbor Blvd., Anaheim, CA 92802   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
$20 off room rate
Ranked #12 of 112 Hotels in Anaheim
Salt Lake City, Utah
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A good value, but...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

We stayed at Castle earlier this year and thought it was OK so we decided to stay there again because the rooms were less expensive. This visit seemed to lack customer service. The rooms are starting to show their age and in need of minor repair. The beds are a little hard and the pillows a little flat, but ok for the good price. We booked 3 rooms for our family and only one had good tv, the other two were not clear and one had a remote that didn't work. The mirror was never cleaned, I noticed the same spots each day. We had plenty of towels, cups and soap the first day, but they did not restock daily as you might expect. The walk to Disneyland is not as close as I would like, but to get any closer it costs at least $20 more per night for similiar accomodations. I much prefer Tropicana, but this hotel is still a good value. My biggest complaint is that we made several calls requesting the ground floor and rooms close together. (2 months early!) Everyone I talked to said that room assignments are made when you get there and if your special request is available you get it, which we didn't.

Room Tip: Plan ahead and be firm with what you want. Closer to the front is nice after the long walk from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrBharat, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Inn and Suites, responded to this review, January 2, 2012
Thank you for the time and thought you put in to the comments you posted regarding your stay at the Castle Inn & Suites in November. We truly appreciate everything you said and are definitely looking in to some of the notes you made.

We apologize for the fact that you did not have rooms together as requested. We cannot guarantee that rooms will be next door or even close together especially when we are busy the night before an arrival with such requests.

We thank you again for your time and hope that you will stay with us again in the future.

The Castle Inn & Suites Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

896 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    329
    137
    69
    61
See reviews for
516
104
14
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bisbee, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

The location of this hotel is great, just a short walk to the main gate. The staff is very accommodating with any suggestions for things to do or needs you might have. We found that the house keeping was excellent and we left a tip on the pillow every morning as we felt they earned it. My husband and I stayed three nights with zero problems. If you are looking for a clean room with helpful staff at a good price, then this is a great hotel. We will be back again in the summer.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrBharat, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Inn and Suites, responded to this review, January 2, 2012
We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us in November! Thank you for your enthusiastic comments and kind words about our staff! As I am sure you know, our staff is the heart and soul of the hotel so we are always pleased to hear that they are living up to all expectations!

Thank you again and we will see you again in the summer!

The Castle Inn & Suites Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011 via mobile

We stayed two nights in an executive suite. For our poor planning abilites it was the right price for the location...I paid 241 for two nights in the suite..it had two comfortable queen beds, and a pullout queen couch mini fridge, microwave, which if split between three people comes to 80 bucks each for two nights you can't beat that for the cleanliness, location and comfort...huge room..fridge worked awesome. Front desk very prompt an helpful...elevator is very helpful after a long day at the Disney parks.... food options and a cornerstore market right next door..when we checked out they let us leave our car so we could enjoy one last day at the park...It was a Monday when we checked out, they might not be able to on a weekend because they tend to be more busy...Awesome older hotel with staff that care an are very kind...will definitely stay again...

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrBharat, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Inn and Suites, responded to this review, January 2, 2012
We are delighted to hear that you were satisfied with your last minute hotel choice in the Castle Inn & Suites for your stay in October. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the location, comfort, room amenities, complimentary parking and caring staff, all of which enhanced your visit.

Thank you so much for your comments! We appreciate your time and look forward to having you stay with us again when you return to Anaheim!

The Castle Inn & Suites Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleburne, Texas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

The location to the main gate of Disneyland is perfect. It is only about a block and and half away. The office staff was very helpful. The hotel is nothing special, but for the price and location you can't beat it. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrBharat, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Inn and Suites, responded to this review, January 2, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time out of your busy schedule to post comments about your recent stay at the Castle Inn & Suites. We are thrilled to hear that you were so happy with our close, walking proximity to Disneyland and that our staff was very helpful to you! It is always rewarding to hear our guests say they will stay with us again!

We look forward to your return sometime soon!

The Castle Inn & Suites Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakley, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

Even after reading some of the reviews, I was still skeptical of this place due to the price. Yes, the rooms are outdated. But if you are going to Disneyland, you will not really be staying in the room to enjoy the decor anyways. Our room was clean and the shower flow was fine. As previous posters have mentioned, the bed was uncomfortable. But other than that, the room did it's purpose.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrBharat, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Inn and Suites, responded to this review, January 2, 2012
Thank you for being a free thinker, disregarding some of the reviews that you read and staying with us in October! I appreciate your honesty and the time you took to make the posting. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay while here to go to Disneyland.

Thank you again for your time and comments! We hope to see you again on a return visit!

The Castle Inn & Suites Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kallangur, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

Ok, so it's not the CLOSEST accommodation to Disneyland, BUT, it's less than 10 minutes walk, or about a block and a half. The rooms are not modern, but are spacious and clean, with comfortable bedding, great water presssure, drip filter coffee, small fridge, and the staff are more than accommodating with any requests, area information, transfer arrangements, even local cab requirements. It also has free wifi, which I could get (reasonably well) from our room on the 4th floor. The only draw back was that the gift shop seemed to close on a whim whenever the attendant decided he needed to go somewhere (not the hotel's fault, and there were plenty of shops within walking disance anyway, so I just didn't use the gift shop). The pool was clean and well maintained, as were the grounds and gardens. I can't really fault the hotel, it was great. So if you want to be close to Disneyland, but not pay the exorbitant prices, and you want excellent service and value for money, then this is the place to stay. Thanks so much Castle Inn and Suites, we will be back next year for christmas, all the way from Oz :)

Room Tip: 4th Floor has a great view of Harbour Blvd at night, but gets a little windy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrBharat, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Inn and Suites, responded to this review, January 2, 2012
Thank you so much for your comments. I really appreciate you taking the time to share your recent experience at the Castle Inn & Suites. We are all pleased to hear that the room was satisfactory to your needs while you were here and we have passed on your concerns regarding the gift shop to the owner of the gift shop. We are really lucky to be located where we are, in close walking proximity to numerous shops and restaurants, as well as to the Disney Parks.

Thank you again for your kind words! We look forward to your return, from Oz, next Christmas!!

The Castle Inn & Suites Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

Stayed here for 6 nights in late September with our 23 month old and 4 year old. We had a family suite, and it was a very good rate for the size of the room - we had a king sized bed in the front sitting room, and each of the kids had their own Queen bed in the bedroom. There wasn't a lot of space in the front entrance, but there was a lot of space for suitcases etc in the bedroom. We had a problem with our fridge, but they came up within ten minutes after we called and replaced it with a working one. Our room was always cleaned when we returned from Disneyland. The kids loved how the staff arranged their toys on the bed as if they had been playing. Each day, they rushed into the bedroom to see what the toys had been doing while we were out. It only took us about 10 minutes to walk to Disneyland.
My kids really liked the look of the hotel from the outside. My daughter kept saying "I am the princess, my brother is the prince and we live in this castle." The inside was more like something out of three's company, and my husband laughed at how old the telephone was.
The shower had pretty poor pressure and it squealed like a tea kettle. Also, I "stopper" for the bathtub didn't really keep the water in, so it was hard to bathe my kids. The cleaning people always took away our dirty towels, but they didn't always give us new ones.
Tried to use the wifi, but it was extremely slow. Most nights I was able to pick up the free wifi from the Super 8 behind us, but it didn't work every day.
Checking in and out was very fast and easy. Also, I had groceries delivered to the hotel before we arrived, and the staff made sure to put the milk in the fridge.
Overall, it was a nice, clean, affordable place to sleep that was close to Disneyland. We didn't spend much time in the hotel, so I'm glad we didn't have to spend much money on it. We had enough space for all of us, and it was nice to have a separate room for the kids to sleep in, since they go to bed much earlier than us.

Room Tip: Family suite was lots of room for a family of 4. Glad we weren't on the 1st floor because everyo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrBharat, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Inn and Suites, responded to this review, January 2, 2012
I am so happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your recent stay with us! We appreciate all of your nice comments and are certainly looking into those concerns that you did had. I love to hear that your daughter was so excited about being the “princess” of the castle and that she was including her brother as the prince!

Our staff is here to make your stay comfortable so I am pleased that the kids would rush in every day to see that their ”toys were doing” while you were gone!!

Thank you again for your time in making the comments! We are grateful to have guests like you who want to provide feedback to other guests!

The Castle Inn & Suites Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Castle Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Inn and Suites

Address: 1734 South Harbor Blvd., Anaheim, CA 92802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Anaheim
#12 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#13 Family Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Castle Inn and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castle Inn & Suites is a 200 room hotel located directly across from the Disneyland Resort and just a 7 minute walk to the Disneyland main entrance. We feature all rooms with at least 2 Queen beds and also offer many 2 bedroom family suites with a king size bed and 2 queen beds, with a television in each room, complete with a refrigerator and microwave. We have a heated pool, year around, with a jacuzzi and a children's wading pool. We have coin operated washers and dryers in our on site laundry room, or if you prefer, we offer valet laundry service. Free parking, a gift shop and free WiFi services also await you. Come and enjoy this Castle themed hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Castle Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Anaheim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castle Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.