We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room and friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carousel Inn and Suites

Save Saved
You added Carousel Inn and Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Carousel Inn and Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1530 South Harbor Blvd., Anaheim, CA 92802   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 112 hotels in Anaheim
GreenLeadersGold level
Portland, OR
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great room and friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We stayed at the Carousel for a week during our trip to Disneyland. The room was clean and spacious for two people. The in-room safe was very useful and you can program your own combination. I appreciate the Carousel's efforts to go green - requesting only washing the linens every two or three days; of course, they are more than happy to accommodate daily washing, if requested. The distance from the Disneyland entrance was super close (across the street) and there are plenty of reasonably-priced restaurants within walking distance, too. The only downfalls we experienced were the shower curtains were cloth instead of plastic which meant they soaked up water from the shower and spilled it onto the floor. We were constantly using our towels to soak up the water. The other thing wasn't necessarily a downfall, just not expected - you cannot bring the continental breakfast back to the room. I really enjoy drinking my morning coffee while getting ready, but instead we had to use time to eat/drink breakfast in the common eating area. Next time I stay at the Carousel I'll just remember to bring my travel coffee mug! Overall, I would definitely recommend this hotel, especially if you're going to Disneyland.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

978 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    301
    324
    159
    113
    81
See reviews for
558
100
14
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Stayed here with family in a 2 bedroom suite. It had everything we needed and was a short walk to Disneyland. It was great as I have a toddler who needed to go back to the hotel for a nap each day. Price was reasonable, but I was a bit disappointed that we had to pay for parking. Breakfast was included, but was a little less than appetizing. Hard boiled eggs, oatmeal and pastries were all they so we ate elsewhere. All in all it was a nice place to stay and I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alturas, CA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

What a fantastic location, directly across the street from the entrance to Disneyland. The rooms are clean and come with a refrigerator and microwave. However, a number of things just don't make this the place of choice for next time. The floors are laminate and not carpeted. They clean it with something that makes it sticky, so we wore our flip-flops all the time. The toilet ran water and although we told the front desk, no one came to fix it. Also the shower water creeped out and drenched the floor. We just kept towels on the floor to soak it up, but the mildew smell continued... We also told the front desk and suggested a splash guard... The breakfast food was okay, but we passed for a better quality meal elsewhere. Very nice - no stinky smoking smells. Great for a family on a tight budget, but we'll probably spring for nicer accommodations next time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, Oklahoma
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Not very clean, old and breakfast was horrible. Too many rules and have to pay for parking. Can not carry breakfast items to room. Had to smoke near the parking lot. No security to speak of. I guess it was OK but only due to it's location. I could be at Disneyland in 7 minutes walk.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle area
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed here the last weekend of January, 2013. We booked their Resort Suite--Rm 410; two bedrooms and two bathrooms for 3 adults and 2 children. The first room as you enter is like a standard motel room, with two queen beds, a large tile/ granite vanity area and separate bathtub/toilet. The second bedroom, entered at the rear of the other room, has a California (extra large) king bed, a microwave and fridge in a cabinet, and another large vanity area w/separate tub/toilet. This worked very well rather than booking two separate rooms, which might not have been near each other. The two rooms are not large, but were very clean, well vacuumed and appeared freshly renovated. Beds were very comfortable. One can hear some noise from the corridor outside, especially rolling suitcases, but nothing loud at night while we were there. The second (king bed) room is completely enclosed and separate from the corridor, and very quiet. It can get stuffy, so we left the door between the rooms ajar for air cirulation.

The swimming pool was small but heated to near bathtub temp while we were there during rather chilly weather for Calif. A great plus was taking to kids to watch the fireworks in the evening from the fifth floor breakfast room. The included breakfast was simple but in that category of hotel/motel about what we usually find, with an added plus of peeled hard boiled eggs and hot biscuits and gravy. There are toasters, Danish rolls, (never saw the bagels mentioned in a review below), bowls of oranges and apples, as well as coffee, apple and orange juice, ice water, and instant oatmeal. We brought in our kids' favorite cereal and preferred a quick breakfast there rather than Mc D's, pancakes at IHOP or in D-land for $$$$. Was not overcrowded when we were there, usually between 7-8 am.

We would stay here again when on a short visit to Disneyland. For those planning a longer stay at Disney and surrounding attractions, and wanting more of a destination resort feel, perhaps this wouldn't be their choice, but Carousel Inn worked very well for us.

Most of all, we loved being able to walk across the street to the D-land entrance, and that is our priority when spending a few days at Disneyland.

Room Tip: Their Resort Suite is great for a large family--2 bathrooms really help in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasco, Washington
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

The hotel itself was alright. The breakfast was terrible. Stale bagles, yogurt and some fruit for the most part. There werent nearly enough seats for everyone to sit down and eat. The wouldnt allow you to take cups or plates out of the banquet area so you couldnt eat in your room. If there wasnt a table to sit at, you had to stand to eat your food. We actually only ate the free breakfast their once. Decided we would rather pay for a warm breakfast somewhere else where we didnt have to fight for a table. The room was ok. Nothing special. There was hair stuck to the lamp next to my bed which grosed me out when i was laying in bed. Im not sure how often they do a top to bottom clean. The only nice thing about the hotel was that it wasnt too expensive and we could walk to disneyland from the hotel. We werent in the room much.. just to sleep really. Might stay there again but will definantly shop around first and make sure I cant find something better.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona, USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Rate and location (across from Disneyland) were good. Beds comfortable (I have a bad back) but floor was filthy-they sweep but don't mop anywhere but bathrooms. Door wouldn't close properly so we found it open upon returning from Disneyland (maid had not closed it hard enough). Our toilet leaked and hand held showerhead was broken. Breakfast was barely adequate although danish were good. No yogurt, only cornflakes, raisin bran, n oatmeal for cereal. Apples n oranges only, no other fruit. Staff very nice. Kind of a near miss, mostly because of maintenance issues. And what is the "resort fee" about???

Room Tip: check door and room prior to accepting
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carousel Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carousel Inn and Suites

Address: 1530 South Harbor Blvd., Anaheim, CA 92802
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Anaheim
#7 Business Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carousel Inn and Suites 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly across from Disneyland and Disney California Adventure Parks and the Downtown Disney District. Amenities Include: Complimentary Business Center with printing Serta Perfect Sleeper Mattresses 32" LG LCD Flat Screens Heated Rooftop Pool Mini Fridge and Microwaves in all rooms Coffee Makers/Hair Dryers/Iron/Ironing Boards Complimentary USA Today (limited supply in lobby) Disneyland Park Hopper Tickets and City Passes available at The Front Desk. Tours to Seaworld, Universal Studios and Legoland can also be arranged Only 1 half mile from the Anaheim Convention Center. Total of 131 Guest rooms and Suites with On Site Restaurant the Pizza Press! Pizza Press offers make your own gourmet pizzas and serves local microbrews and wines. Open daily 7am-1am Items not Included in Room Rate or Packages On Site Parking (fee $10 + tax per day) Wifi (fee $9.95 + tax per day up to 4 devices) Pack n Play (fee $6.00 + tax per day) Rollaway Bed (fee $20.00 + tax per day) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Carousel Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carousel Hotel Anaheim
Carousel Inn Anaheim
Carousel Inn And Suite

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carousel Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.