We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charges” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Carousel Inn and Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Carousel Inn and Suites to your Saves list
Carousel Inn and Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1530 South Harbor Blvd., Anaheim, CA 92802   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 112 Hotels in Anaheim
GreenLeadersGold level
Sunnyvale, California
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Charges”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Terrible customer service!!!! After staying here for over 10 years they would not reverse a charge for a room I cancelled unless I PROVE IT! This is after constantly avoiding my calls and emails. They know I always stay and I assured I cancelled. They are scamming - always get names and check your cards! Do not stay here! Howard Johnson's refunded us immediately the one time we cancelled last minute to illness. They will always get out business after 15 years I will NEVER return and we visit several times a year. I will let everyone I have previously referred here to go somewhere else. They cannot be trusted.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdrianGonz, Front Office Manager at Carousel Inn and Suites, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Dear Guest

After reading your review I did some research on your reservations, I was only able to locate 3 total reservations under your name. I found that in 2009 you booked a view suite for 5 nights but did not show on the day of your arrival. We had to cancel your reservation because the credit card that you provided us declined for the 1st nights room and tax. The reservation that is in question was booked 8/15/12 for the dates of 11/22/12-11/25/12, because you called to cancel the day prior we do charge 1 nights room and tax(which is stated on our web site terms and conditions). The reason that we have a cancellation fee is because we do hold the room for you and do not sell it to anyone. If any cancellation is done outside 72 hours we would gladly release the room at no charge. We all hope that you enjoy your next visit to the Anaheim resort area.

Thank you

Adrian Gonzalez
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,011 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    331
    167
    114
    85
See reviews for
580
103
15
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed here before and still continue y
To he happy with room, price and most of all bed and location. It's so convenient to Disneyland just across the street. And a very nice soft bed which is great after a full day at the park. Everyone I've met has been really nice here. The worst thing I could say is the breakfast is so so cereal ,fruit, danish juice nothing fancy but enough. Oh and have to pay for vallet parking is a funny they never parked my car I did it .

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We booked Carousel for a recent family trip to Disneyland based on the good reviews and proximity to Disneyland. When we went to give our kids a bath at the end of our first night, we noticed the bathtub was incredibly filthy- I went ahead and rinsed the tub, dismayed, but didn't put too much more thought into it. The next night, when we returned from Disneyland, we noticed the entire tub was full of raw sewage! Toilet waste had come up out the drain and flooded the bathtub. The room was raunchy and disgusting- we could barely breath. Obviously aggravating, as it was 11pm at night and needed to put my kids to bed. But what actually made me upset was the way the hotel handled it- took a long time to get someone out to look at the room, they were rude about providing any kind of ETA on what the resolution would be, and when I asked if they could move us to another room so I could put my kids to bed, they were rude about it- saying the only other rooms they had were suites, so we'd have to move back out early the next morning so we don't get charged the extra cost! In my opinion, the hotel should have given us whatever open room they had at no additional charge since my family's hardship was caused by their maintenance- instead of making my family miss out on vacation time moving rooms first thing in the morning.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

a magnificant hotel, perfect location for disneyland! the staff are very friendly and will always go out of their way to help you. the pizza press on the courtyard is a hidden jem but ask for the 'special' that isnt on the menu. the pool was closed while we were there but they arrange a free shuttle to their sister hotel to use thier facalities free of charge! all in all the nice sprinkle of fairydust to make you disney holiday perfect! and the view of the Disneyland fireworks from room 300 is to die for! another family accompanied us and stayed in the kids room! ive never seen two children happier the mickey details in the room helped set off their first visit to disney, totaly magical! i dont think i would stay anywhere else! room was always clean the beds are comfey. just what we needed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yankton, South Dakota
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

The one convenience of this hotel is the location to the parks! The hotel is nestled in a neighborhood with alot of other hotel and little eateries (like denny's and ihop).
The pool is VERY small and on top of the roof (with out the great view I thought), we didn't use it since it wasn't really that warm. The fitness center is pretty much nil. Just 2 bikes and a xtrainer.
The desk people were great and friendly, watch for the guy trying to get you a few lunch/breakfast and monatery gifts (trying to sell time shares)
Housekeeping was HORRIBLE. I don't know when they come around but on Thu we left the room from 7-2 (had to come back for my 4 y/o to nap) and still didn't have service. We left at 4, came back and still nothing. Had to call the desk to get towels (at this point we had NONE but one hand towel)
We could hear the people in the room above us every time they were on the bed. Overall the room was cozy and bed wasn't too bed. Pillows were small and not the best.
The breakfast isn't bad. Complementary cereals - hot and cold, biscuits/gravy, hard boiled eggs, fruit, pastries, coffee and juices. Better then NOTHING.
Overall, I probably won't stay here again, but I've stayed in worse!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Worst experience of my 3 week vacation.The Hotel is a great location for Disneyland and that was the only good thing from our experience.First of off had a bad knee and they put me on the second floor that I had to use the stairs,told us nothing we can do about it.So I dealt with it with the help of my wife.The room had hardwood floors ,no big deal.Until you noticed your feet or socks as they were completly black.I guess they don't mop floors there!!! Rooms were very cold for some reason as well and very noisy at night as well.We stayed 3 nights then decided to leave and pay a early check out fee.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grapevine, TX
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stayed four days here and were comfortable. Not four-star comfortable, but we chose it for proximity. Carousel's large rooms at the back of the property are a good value. The one we stayed in had a king bed, sofa and desk. Close to MacDonald's and an open-late pizza place.

PROS: much closer to Disneyland than many other properties. Hot showers. Mostly quiet. RF entry card made for easy entry-no fumbling to get card out. Coffee maker. Cleaned daily with option to reuse towels to save water. covered parking at $9 per day and valet.

CONS: Breakfast offering was slim and no hot proteins. Internet was Extra at $10 a day. TV reception was crappy.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carousel Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carousel Inn and Suites

Address: 1530 South Harbor Blvd., Anaheim, CA 92802
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Anaheim
#8 Business Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carousel Inn and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly across from Disneyland and Disney California Adventure Parks and the Downtown Disney District. Amenities Include: Complimentary Business Center with printing Serta Perfect Sleeper Mattresses 32" LG LCD Flat Screens Heated Rooftop Pool Mini Fridge and Microwaves in all rooms Coffee Makers/Hair Dryers/Iron/Ironing Boards Complimentary USA Today (limited supply in lobby) Disneyland Park Hopper Tickets and City Passes available at The Front Desk. Tours to Seaworld, Universal Studios and Legoland can also be arranged Only 1 half mile from the Anaheim Convention Center. Total of 131 Guest rooms and Suites with On Site Restaurant the Pizza Press! Pizza Press offers make your own gourmet pizzas and serves local microbrews and wines. Open daily 7am-1am Items not Included in Room Rate or Packages On Site Parking (fee $10 + tax per day) Wifi (fee $9.95 + tax per day up to 4 devices) Pack n Play (fee $6.00 + tax per day) Rollaway Bed (fee $20.00 + tax per day) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Carousel Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carousel Hotel Anaheim
Carousel Inn Anaheim
Carousel Inn And Suite

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carousel Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.