We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Carousel Inn and Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Carousel Inn and Suites to your Saves list
Carousel Inn and Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1530 South Harbor Blvd., Anaheim, CA 92802   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 112 Hotels in Anaheim
GreenLeadersGold level
Grapevine, TX
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stayed four days here and were comfortable. Not four-star comfortable, but we chose it for proximity. Carousel's large rooms at the back of the property are a good value. The one we stayed in had a king bed, sofa and desk. Close to MacDonald's and an open-late pizza place.

PROS: much closer to Disneyland than many other properties. Hot showers. Mostly quiet. RF entry card made for easy entry-no fumbling to get card out. Coffee maker. Cleaned daily with option to reuse towels to save water. covered parking at $9 per day and valet.

CONS: Breakfast offering was slim and no hot proteins. Internet was Extra at $10 a day. TV reception was crappy.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,088 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    351
    179
    116
    87
See reviews for
619
116
17
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney AUS
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed at the entrance to Disneyland - how cool is that.
We walked the 10 min stroll across the road every day to enter Disneyland.
Because the weather was so hot - we would come back around 3pm for a rest before heading back out again.
We were given a large room with 2 queen beds at the rear of the property.
The only downside was:
a) if people stood in the car park talking it was load
b) Breakfast was pretty crappy
Location was ideal, MacDonalds was a few doors up (free wi-fi), there was a great tourism cordinator at a motel a few doors in the opposite direction (I booked some tours through them)

Concierge was not very good - offered us no help in getting from Anaheim to LA / Hollywood.
The pizza place located at teh entrance to Carousel Inn is great too - check it out!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We recently stayed at the Carousel for three nights. We arrived on Thursday afternoon close to 4pm. As soon as we pulled into the driveway, we were greeted by the staff. Upon giving our name, the staff welcomed us and informed that our rental stroller was ready for us in the lobby. (We rented a double stroller from Citystroller who delivered the stroller to the hotel earlier.) The receptionist was not rude but not as cheery. Maybe she had a hard day. ^_^ Other staff whom we met during our stay were nice and friendly. We booked our hotels via Costco Travel so everything was already prepaid. But the hotel still asked for my credit card info during check-in for a $30 security deposit. As long as it is only a "deposit", I am fine with that.

Our room had two queen beds with hard wood floors as per my request. It was clean. The size of the room was a bit on the small side but big enough for two adults and two children. We only needed housekeeping on our third day of stay. Our room was clean and tidy when we came back at 9pm. The mattress was very comfy. Towels were nice and thick. There was also a safe, a refrigerator and a microwave for some extra convenience.

Our room was on the second floor. Since we had a stroller, we used the elevator quite frequently and the wait for it was never long. As for the noise, it was quite noisy during our first night of stay. Fire alarm went off twice in the middle of the night and woke us up. We could hear people walking and talking outside of the room and in the parking lot. But it was much quieter during the remainder of our stay. I guess we were lucky that those loud people left early.

The complimentary breakfast was just the basics--coffee, tea, milk, juices, toasts, bagels, pastries, hard boil eggs, and oatmeal. It was not great but better than nothing. There was a sign in the breakfast room requesting guests to have breakfast in the breakfast room. No disposable utensils were available. I have found it a bit inconvenient but I also understand it would reduce a lot of waste by not offering disposable utensils, cups and plates.

We had a rental car so we needed to use the valet service, which was complimentary as we booked the package via Costco Travel. The valet service was quick and easy. No damage to our rental car (it was an SUV) and no property was missing from our car. We checked out at 11am on our last day. We put our belongings in the car and parked it at the hotel until 130pm. No extra charge and it worked out perfectly.

The tap water on this property is very soft, which is not something that we are used to. It gives you a slippery feeling when washing your hands and body.

As for the location, it is really close to the parks.

Overall, we had a pleasant experience during our stay at the Carousel Inn. It was the only hotel that we have stayed at in this area. Though it was not a 5 stars hotel, it was nice and decent. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I've stayed at this hotel several times and always found it to be quite a catch for its value. This recent trip, however, did not live up to my previous expectations.

The bad:

After previously being impressed by how clean and modern the rooms were, our room on this trip looked really beat up. While the room was clean, the wear and tear on it made it look much lower quality. The hotel seems to be in need of a refresh or renovation.

Our room was very close to the continental breakfast room, which meant every morning at 6am we'd wake up to screaming children running down the halls. This is the responsibility of the parents, but it's worth noting these rooms are not at all sound proof and you can see space under your door to outside. The kids are also bouncing around and running at midnight so hopefully you're okay with 6 hours of sleep here.

When we checked into our room, we found that we did not have a safe or an ironing board. After notified front desk about the ironing board and waiting half an hour for one, a man came to our room with an iron instead. We explained that was not the issue and waiting another hour until finally phoning front desk again, who snapped at us saying they were working on it and pretty much hung up on us; we were very polite when we called and just wondering how long it would take so that was uncalled for.

Our rooms were cleaned adequately every day, except for one used coffee mug that sat unwashed the entire week we were there. Most of the outdoor garbage cans were usually overflowing and impossible to use.

The pool was closed for maintenance while we were there, which seems to happen every time I visit! Unfortunately they shut down the gym with the pool and my fiancee was disappointed not to be able to work out in the mornings.

The continental breakfast is mediocre, but at least they added boiled eggs and a bit more variety to it since I was last there. There aren't many healthy choices (mostly just donuts) but for free it's not THAT bad!

The good:

Front desk was very polite and helpful when we dealt with them in person. The valet guys are also super nice, and we had free parking included in our package. The price of this hotel really can't be beat and the location next to Disneyland is perfect.

The pizza place downstairs is definitely worth checking out.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Currumbin, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We travelled from Australia via Fiji - 3 adults and 1 child, We were a little apprehensive about staying at the Carousel Inn and Suites after reading some of the negative feed back on trip advisor...We shouldn’t have been worried or concerned after a long flight we checked in our room was ready, dropped bags off at our room 405, freshened up and headed off to Disneyland for micky’s Halloween party!

Could not have asked for more, so close to Disneyland, comfy beds, hot water and air conditioning. Did it matter that the TV was a little fuzzy no; we are on holidays and didn’t plan on spending our time watching the TV... After full days out exploring all we wanted to do was sleep! The staff were helpful and nothing was a problem for them.

Just remember you get what you pay for - so if you want 5 star service go stay at a Disney resort... but if your looking for value for $$ and an easy walk to the Disney entrance this is the place to stay... just wish we had of stayed a little longer..

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prairie du Chien, Wisconsin
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

It was great to have a hotel that wasn't a "disney" hotel so close to the theme parks and Downtown Disney. At first, I was a little bummed about the valet parking, but the guys that did the parking were super polite and efficient and the $9.00 a day fee wasn't all that bad. The check-in staff were very cordial. I wasn't overly impressed with the cleanliness of the room (espeically the carpet!) and there was an annoying "tapping" noise in the bathroom area (room 503) that kept everybody in our group awake our first night. After that, we left the fan on the AC unit running and the TV on. We reported the annoying noise to the front desk to no avail. The TV remote control was another story...after three different controllers were used, it finally worked (for 2 days, until the third control died too).

Room Tip: Breakfast is served in room 500 - since we were near there, it seemed like a lot of traffic early in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upland, CA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights for a trip to Disneyland and couldn't ask for a better location! The room was cute and clean, but they really need to invest in double-paned windows! The noise from the outside corridor was not conducive to a restful nights sleep. If you are sensitive to screaming children at 6am, perhaps another location would be better. Other than that, it was a good experience, and I would stay here again, earplugs in hand.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carousel Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carousel Inn and Suites

Address: 1530 South Harbor Blvd., Anaheim, CA 92802
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Anaheim
#16 Business Hotel in Anaheim
#37 Family Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carousel Inn and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly across from Disneyland and Disney California Adventure Parks and the Downtown Disney District. Amenities Include: Complimentary Business Center with printing Serta Perfect Sleeper Mattresses 32" LG LCD Flat Screens Heated Rooftop Pool Mini Fridge and Microwaves in all rooms Coffee Makers/Hair Dryers/Iron/Ironing Boards Complimentary USA Today (limited supply in lobby) Disneyland Park Hopper Tickets and City Passes available at The Front Desk. Tours to Seaworld, Universal Studios and Legoland can also be arranged Only 1 half mile from the Anaheim Convention Center. Total of 131 Guest rooms and Suites with On Site Restaurant the Pizza Press! Pizza Press offers make your own gourmet pizzas and serves local microbrews and wines. Open daily 7am-1am Items not Included in Room Rate or Packages On Site Parking (fee $11 + tax per day) Wifi (fee $6.95 + Tax per 12 hours, up to 2 devices) Crib (fee $10.00 + Tax per day) Rollaway Bed (fee $25.00 + Tax per day) Resort Fee (Fee $5.00 + Tax per day) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Carousel Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carousel Hotel Anaheim
Carousel Inn Anaheim
Carousel Inn And Suite

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carousel Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.