We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blake’s Place has Texas pit-smoked BBQ with California flavor in Anaheim, CA” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blake's Place

Blake's Place
2905 E Miraloma Ave, Ste 3, Anaheim, CA 92806
(714) 630-8574
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #116 of 751 Restaurants in Anaheim
Restaurant details
Anaheim, California
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Blake’s Place has Texas pit-smoked BBQ with California flavor in Anaheim, CA”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

The Pulled Pork is exactly what it sounds like. It’s tender, slow-cooked, smoked pork that literally falls apart into shreds. They toss it in Blake’s BBQ sauce and serve it up in a lump. It has a little too much BBQ sauce for me. I’m more of a smoked meat person who uses the sauce on the side to add as needed. Otherwise, the pork tasted pretty good. Thumbs up!

Blake’s Big Pulled Pork Pile is slow smoked pork, pulled and served on their big bun with BBQ sauce, cole slaw, and red onion. You’ll definitely need extra napkins for this sandwich! Again, a little too much BBQ sauce for me, but my family loved this sandwich! The sweet, BBQ sauced smoky pork complemented the cool, creamy cole slaw. The bun was soft yet held this pork beast together. Thumbs up! If you’re feeling a bit of Man vs. Food hunger, they also offer the Blake’s One Pounder Bomber or “THE BEAST” (two and a half pounds of food, YIKES!)

Sandy’s Bread Pudding is a huge portion with a side of vanilla sauce to slather on. It was a very dense and custardy bread pudding. It had a bit more raisins in it than expected. The vanilla sauce was creamy and gave it a down-home comfy goodness. Thumbs up!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    10
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Anaheim, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Out-of-the-way surprise BBQ!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

Blake's Place is a family owned and run BBQ restaurant located in the middle of an area of light industry establishments. If you blink...sneeze... or look the wrong way you'd pass it.

Please take the time to drop in and try the eat-in or take-out offerings. My family chooses to always eat in as there are large screen television monitors to watch the local sports action.

We have not found anything on the menu to "reject." Try the combination plate and do not overlook the corn-on-the-cobb!

Take a look at the other comments and I also raise my glass/cup with two thumbs up!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Valley, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Glo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

Best BBQ food. Although the prices are a little pricey, the food is excellent and worth the money.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great BBQ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2010

Tasty! Their BBQ Sauce is the bomb! Not the romantic type of place, kind of hidden, but their food is worth it.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“Blake's Place has an excellent menu selection and you get a large amount for the price. I had my pulled chicken...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2009

Blake's Place has an excellent menu selection and you get a large amount for the price. I had my pulled chicken sandwich for 3 separate meals!

Plus the owners and the staff are really nice, because they will take special orders.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blake's Place also viewed

Anaheim, Orange County
 
Anaheim, Orange County
 

Been to Blake's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blake's Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.