We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what I expected” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Benihana

Benihana
2100 E Ball Rd, Anaheim, CA 92806-5126
714-774-4940
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Benihana is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #147 of 752 Restaurants in Anaheim
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Doing business
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: State College Blvd
Huntington Beach, California
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Not what I expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Had made reservations on Open Table, but for some reason, the reservation never went through so when we arrived, there were no tables available for the grill and it was an hour wait. Had to end up taking a table in another room. The food was ok, but nothing special. Was there to celebrate a family birthday, so it was nice with family, but other than that, was not the special occasion we thought we were going to have. Service was average.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    11
    8
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hacienda Heights, California, USA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“As Usual”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The same good show put on by the cook. But a very busy restaurant, and to get seated in a timely best to get reservations. Has a drink bar and a sushi bar in separate rooms.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

My husband and I really like the food and service at Benihana. We go every year for our birthdays, they have the best birthday special than any other restaurant (needs email subscription to receive offer). It can be pricey, but they do have some chef's specials which are pretty good.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
“Birthday dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Friendly environment and staff does not mind if you use a coupon, like the birthday one I used. The bill has a "suggested tip" slot. I'm not sure if you are required to pay that, but I did anyway and did not mind.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wow”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

i spent my birthday there with family, i can say it was AMAZING! So funny to see the chef cooking and joking in front of you....and the food is really fabulous. the only negative thing is that is really expensive, but it depends from what you choose to order. I order a Kids Menu that was cheap and i eat a lot, i was not able to finish all the food! Such a good experience!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Benihana also viewed

Anaheim, Orange County
Anaheim, Orange County
 
Anaheim, Orange County
Anaheim, Orange County
 

Been to Benihana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Benihana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.