We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Bread” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Brea Bakery Cafe

La Brea Bakery Cafe
1556 S Disneyland Dr, Anaheim, CA 92802 (Disneyland)
(714) 490-0233
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #96 of 752 Restaurants in Anaheim
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: American, Coffee Shop, Diner, Dessert
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Disneyland
Airdrie, Canada
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Wonderful Bread”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We spent a week in a condo with visits to Disney. We bought a couple different kinds of breads and cinnamon buns. All very good. Enjoy.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    95
    53
    26
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Great Breakfasts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Wonderful breakfast selection. Eggs, Pancakes, French Toast, etc. Great way to start your day just outside the Disneyland entrance.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lac du Bonnet, Canada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Disappointing return visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We wanted a quick and light meal before returning to Disneyland for the evening and selected La Brea Bakery Bakery Cafe in Downtown Disney as we ate there on a previous visit and found the food at that time to be good, reasonably priced (for the location) and nicely served. Only the convenient location lived up to our past experience as this time we found the service to be lacking and the food just OK. The bread served before the meal was dried out as if it had been cut hours earlier and left sitting. As La Brea is noted for their breads, this was especially disappointing. We shared a pizza which was only so-so and a caesar salad which was quite good. That was certainly enough food for the two of us which kept the total cost reasonable for a meal at Downtown Disney. I think on our next visit to the park we will try another restaurant as we were disappointed with this meal.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
212 helpful votes 212 helpful votes
“Fast food to get you into the park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Perfectly located at the top of Downtown Disney next to the security checkpoint, this bakery offers appealing breakfast items (egg sandwiches, etc) and baked goods that you can eat quickly and get you an early start in the park. Not cheap, but it gets the job done!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“La Brea over priced for average food & below average service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

The food was average, nothing to get excited over, which is what I expected from the prices. The VERY disappointing aspect was how they treated us because we had our two small dogs with us. We often take our dogs to dine with us, as long as the restaurant has an outside patio area, there are never any issues. However, La Brea had to be a first to make a big deal of it, had to get manager approval, and then they sat us at the very first table, which made ZERO sense, as everyone coming in or out had to pass us. If they wanted to "hide" us, there was a huge patio area where they could have seated us. To top it off, we asked for a bowl for water for the dogs and we might as well asked for a bowl for an elephant. Again, never experienced such ridiculous service!! There are PLENTY of restaurants in this area so we won't be dining there again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Brea Bakery Cafe also viewed

Anaheim, Orange County
 
Anaheim, Orange County
 

Been to La Brea Bakery Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Brea Bakery Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.