We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food not great portion size for the money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Catal Restaurant and Uva Bar

Catal Restaurant and Uva Bar
1580 S Disneyland Dr, Ste 106, Anaheim, CA 92802-2291 (Disneyland)
714-774-4442
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Catal Restaurant and Uva Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #61 of 751 Restaurants in Anaheim
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish, Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Disneyland
Cross street: Ball Rd.
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good food not great portion size for the money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This restaurant offers two sites for seating, middle of the action outside by the round bar or inside the restaurant upstairs. They also have 2 menus, 1 is assigned to each seating site. The food was great but a bit over priced for the portions in my opinion. I had the scallops and they were very small and only 3. I paid about the same price in VEGAS at the WYNNE's Switch steak house for bigger scallops and 1 more. Nice atmosphere but it is a little loud and not easy to hear your party.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    148
    53
    26
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auburn, California, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great location, interesting menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Took a break from Disneyland's in-park food options to enjoy a nice dinner outdoors at the Uva Bar. Despite all the walking traffic nearby, the place feels peaceful. Service was excellent. We had Tuna Tartare Tacos with Avocado (really delicious), Arugula-Manchego salad, and Fish & Chips. Highly recommend!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silicon Valley
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Uva bar a great stop if you are in Downtown Disney”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We recently visited Disneyland and were on a mid-day break and stopped at the Uva Bar. The bar is an outdoor bar in Downtown Disney located literally in the middle of the walkway.

We ordered the Sea Salt garlic fries, guacamole, and corn arepas (corn cake topped with pulled pork). All the food was excellent, but the the corn arepas particularly so.

Prices are reasonable (by Disneyland standards). Most of the menu items are under $16. Even though that may sound expensive; you are getting freshly prepared, good food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
317 reviews 317 reviews
212 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
237 helpful votes 237 helpful votes
“Primo Disney Dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

Lovely outdoor balcony dining overlooking Downtown Disney. Service is top notch and the food is excellent. All of the dining areas seem surprisingly peaceful and quiet considering the location and abundant hard surfaces. Menu offers something for everyone including little people, a fabulous wine list, comfortable outdoor seating, nice specialty Cocktails, and well executed food.

What I loved-HOT plates, attentive service (most everyone was cheery and friendly and seemed to take pride in their job), excellent food including perfectly cooked scallops, fine dining experience while slobbily dressed and people watching at UVA.

What I didn't love-TV in the Bar (one of my bigger pet peeves at a nice resty) and the occasional waft of cigarette smoke drifting up from below.

Overall an excellent restaurant that would please a picky foodie AND someone with simpler tastes. Indoor dining is pleasant too-but always enjoy a perfect evening on the patio. Well worth the money.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastopol, California
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“one of the options in Downtown Disney”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We always go to the Uva Bar when we go to Disneyland, but this time we stopped on our way to San Diego (and on our return trip) just to have lunch at the Uva Bar and shop at World of Disney. The food is fresh, clean and delicious. The corn arepas, and the guacamole appetizers are very good. The mediterranean trio is so-so. The hanger steak is very very good, and so is the burger. In fact we've never seen anything go by that didn't look good.
We definitely recommend the Uva Bar. And the inside part of the restaurant (Catal) serves an excellent paella.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Catal Restaurant and Uva Bar also viewed

 
Anaheim, Orange County
 

Been to Catal Restaurant and Uva Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catal Restaurant and Uva Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.