We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carthay Circle

Carthay Circle
Inside Disney's California Adventure, Anaheim, CA
714-781-3463
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 685 Restaurants in Anaheim
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Californian, Eclectic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Made reservations for an anniversary dinner and took advantage of the world of color bonus. The fast passes were provided to us after ordering at least two of entree, appetizer or dessert (could have stood in line for fast passes but we wanted to try the place out anyway so nice bonus). We had reservations for 6:50 pm and were guided to the lounge area. The wait was minimal, by the time we ordered drinks it was time to go to our table. We ordered the squash soup and ceviche appetizers (the ceviche was outstanding). For the entrees we ordered the rib eye and ravioli (the ravioli was nice and the steak was prepared perfectly. The overall service was timely and thoughtful (we had no complaints and considered it to be one of our best meals).

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    213
    99
    57
    20
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woodinville, Washington
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Reservations recommended, but not necessarily honored”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

I understand it's a new place to eat, but we made an early reservation (5:45) and were not seated until 6:50. With two small children, we were hoping to go to World of Color afterward (Fast Pass given at restaurant) but with the delay, both kids fell asleep and we missed the show.The seats were benches, so the kids were comfy. The food was okay, but if you're going to spend the money, use it at the Blie Bayou in Disneyland instead. You get a better atmosphere and the menu is creative.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We ate here twice during our visit. If you like duck--get the firecracker duck wings as a starter--wonderful and very spicy. The service was outstanding. If you order a starter and entree or an entree and desert, you get passes to the reserved area for world of color--a great deal. This place and Napa Rose are by far the best places to eat at the California adventure.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inland empire, ca
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The restaurant is upstairs and thankfully removed from the craziness of the downstairs lounge area. Check-in is downstairs and our wait (reservations are a must) was only about 10 minutes. We were escorted upstairs, by elevator, and entered the restaurant. It is a beautiful setting, very '30's, in browns and beiges. Plush and comfortable. Most of all, quiet. Even with a fairly full room, we could talk at normal volume. Carthay Circle has two main rooms, one as you enter the restaurant and the Hollywood Room in the back. Ask for the main room. The Hollywood Room is more conducive to families with children. There are also some small private rooms that look as if they seat 6-10, as well as outside dining.

Service was top-notch. We were immediately greeted by our waitress and quickly provided with water (which was re-filled often) and a basket of bread. We ordered drinks (like everything else Disney, pretty expensive).

Here was my only area of complaint. After receiving our drinks, things began to be rushed. We ordered the Firecracker Duck Wing appetizer (more on this in a bit) before ordering the rest of the meal. Before we were finished with the appetizer, our salads came. So, it was drinks, "are you ready to order?", appetizer, salads, all in short order. I think our waitress realized this, and things reverted back to a more normal pace for a fine dining restaurant.

The food was superb. The Firecracker Duck Wings are excellent, 4 wings and two drumsticks that simply fell off the bone. But, they are HOT! I like that, but after two pieces, my wife was done. Just too hot for her.

She had the Simply Green Salad, which was anything but simple. It came with warm brie and apricot compote. Very good. I had a warm beet salad, cubed beets in the middle, greens on one side with a delicious vinaigrette and a goat cheese cake on the other side. The beets and greens were delicious, the goat cheese, not so much, but if you like goat cheese, it was probably good. I don't.

The entrees were equally good. My wife had a lamb chop, combined with lamb osso bucco that she said was delicious, although she wasn't over the top about the Lima bean sauce it came with. I had a grilled rib-eye, done perfectly, in a terrific reduction sauce, accompanied by sauteed mushrooms, sliced grapes, chunks of blue cheese and topped with caramelized onions. One the the best dishes I have ever had. For dessert, we shared an upside-down apple cake accompanied by green apple sorbet. Really good, and just the right size to share.

The wine list is fairly large, but I had a problem finding an appropriate Pinot Noir. We ended up with a Byron that worked well with both entrees, but I would have liked to have seen some wines from Santa Rita Hills on the list. The list does incorporate wines from all over the world, which is a nice touch.

All in all, an excellent experience. We both prefer this restaurant over either Napa Rose or Steakhouse 55. It's beautiful, more quiet and has better service. It is expensive. Dinner, with drinks, wine and dessert was well over $200. But that's no different than Ruth's Chris or Morton's. The menu does change seasonally.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san clemente, CA
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“Expensive but very good.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Have eaten here twice for lunch. Nice fine dining alternative in the park. Very nicely ordained. Enjoyed seeing the pictures on the wall of Walt Disney & stars from the 50's & 60's.
Food here is excellent. The Carthay bisquits are amazing. Salads are good size.Had the Barbacoa of quail which was great. Menu changes seasonally. Wine list is very extensive.
The expense would keep me from eating here every time , but its great for a special treat like a birthday.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carthay Circle also viewed

Anaheim, Orange County
 
Anaheim, Orange County
 

Been to Carthay Circle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carthay Circle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.