We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok, NOT "one of the best meals"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trader Sam's

Trader Sam's
Disneyland Hotel, 1150 Magic Way, Anaheim, CA
714 781-3463
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 685 Restaurants in Anaheim
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $9 - $14
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: Welcome, Brave Adventurers! Dock your tramp steamer at the cement shores of the Disneyland Hotel pool area and enter this mystical, interactive experience. Bold and unforgettable cruise-ine awaits at this tiki bar inspired by the world-famous Jungle Cruise. Trader Sam's - named for the "head" salesman of the Amazon — features some of the exotic wares he has collected over the years. But beware...he's always looking for a good trade.
Santa Clarita, California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Ok, NOT "one of the best meals"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

By no means is the food here "one of the best meals" I have ever had. But a nite here is super (adult) fun, with scads of fruity rum drinks, expertly made, and tasty bar snacks and light meals also.

What's super cool is the decor and ambiance. It's great when Disneyland closes early and you want to stretch out the magic for another hour or two.

Get a special drink- and yes get the souvenir cup.Certain drink trigger events, like the volcano exploding or the ship sinking. The walls are covered with fun stuff that reads like you're back at the dock in the Jungle Cruise.

Outside, you can often find a quiet romantic corner. Inside is a bit loud and rowdy.

Not cheap, mind you. But worth it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    53
    14
    5
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Entertaining place for a drink”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

The drinks were awesome and some were served in souvenir mugs for you to take home. When ordering particular drinks there is chanting and a light show. This is definitely not the place if you want a quiet drink however the atmosphere is great and staff are entertaining. The snack food is also very tasty and compliments your cocktails perfectly

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port orange
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Order the Uh Oha!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Great little spot to have an evening drink, very interactive but gets crowded quick! Order a specialty drink to have a fun little show!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“In love”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

I wanted to move in her after our experience. LOVE the decor and the shows put on when someone orders the Uh Oa or Krakatoa. The pulled pork flatbread was INCREDIBLE (and I don't like flatbread or pork), the tuna poke was excellent (very fresh), and the best dish we tried during our whole trip was the sweet and spicy chicken wings (perfect breading, barely spicy at all). Be warned, unless you get a frozen/blended drink, they are very strong. We will definitely be back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Great place for drinks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

I don't think you can find a more fun place to drink. This place is awesome. From the themed drinks, to the rainstorms and volcanic eruptions, this place is like no other. We went twice this visit, once on a Saturday and once on a Wednesday. Both were packed. I will go here every time I am in the area. Don't miss out. I particularly like the "Pirahna Pool" and the "Krakatoa Punch," which came with a collectors glass. Go for a good time!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trader Sam's also viewed

Anaheim, Orange County
 
Anaheim, Orange County
 

Been to Trader Sam's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trader Sam's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.