We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trader Sam's” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trader Sam's

Trader Sam's
Disneyland Hotel, 1150 Magic Way, Anaheim, CA
714 781-3463
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 751 Restaurants in Anaheim
Price range: $9 - $14
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: Welcome, Brave Adventurers! Dock your tramp steamer at the cement shores of the Disneyland Hotel pool area and enter this mystical, interactive experience. Bold and unforgettable cruise-ine awaits at this tiki bar inspired by the world-famous Jungle Cruise. Trader Sam's - named for the "head" salesman of the Amazon — features some of the exotic wares he has collected over the years. But beware...he's always looking for a good trade.
Spanaway, Washington
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Trader Sam's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We love the vibe here. They have these awesome singers in the evening. I love the storms they make. The people there are so friendly and funny.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    49
    13
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Costa Mesa, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Best bar at the Disneyland resort byfar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

The ambiance is amazing! With different drinks evoking different scenes and storms. Got the uh oa and the ship wreck, so fun!

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monrovia, California
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
“Trader Sam's – Enchanted (fun and goofy) Tiki Bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

When you've had enough theme park and need a break or a drink, Trader Sam's Enchanted Tiki Bar is just the place for you. It's adjacent to the Disneyland Hotel pool area. It's open Mon-Sun 11:30 am - 1:30 am. We've been about 4 times recently on trips to Disneyland and California Adventure.

Sit on one of the trick bar stools and suddenly you sink down 2 feet, appearing to have been transformed into one of the seven dwarfs. Wait a few minutes and the chair raises you back up to big boy level. Goofy and fun!

Order the Shipwreck, the lights dim and you watch a ship in a big bottle sink. Krakatoa Punch - yes there are volcanoes erupting on the walls. Cowbells ding and tambourines shake with other drink orders.

Order the Uh Oa - big old ugly polynesian four legged ashtray bowl (created by Disney imagineers, I have heard), filled with ice, light and dark rums, orange, passion fruit, guava, and grapefruit juices, falernum, cinnamon and freshly squeezed lime juice, then it becomes fire by sugar cubes, with sparking embers erupting from cinnamon sugar tossed onto the fire. (all edible, the sugar cubes are extinquished by pressing them into the ice but not before all heck breaks loose! Watch out for a rain shower administered by squirt gun yielding bartenders. Watch your camera, it might get sprayed if you leave the lens cap off, and prepare to be subjected to chants and hoots.

The menu includes Kalua Pork or Cheese flatbreads, fried green beans in panko breadcrumb batter, chicken lettuce cups and more. All fun and tasty, and the items all arrive quickly.

Trader Sams has been open since 2011, with fun bartenders, good bar food and a great way to kill an hour, rest your feet, and have some adult fun before hitting the parks some more. Or not.

This might become a destination, at least it has with us -- a Tiki room mashup with Jungle Cruise accents, knick knacks all over the walls to remind you of both of those classic Disney rides. We've been making it part of our theme park afternoon break during half a dozen theme park visits this year alone.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Allen, Virginia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Aloha 'Oe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Kitsch - yes! But, ah, such memories we "tuckered" away! The punny drink names. The pu-pus. I understand tiki bars are back in vogue (intermittent thunder,lightning,water sounds and spritzes; erupting volcanoes; tiki talking). This one is the whole "Magilla" and more; a synergy of Disney's Jungle Cruise,Tiki Room, and all things Pacific Islander and Imagineered). Chinese long beans baked in panko were as good as fries (and possibly healthier). Gorilla Grog was a chest thumping, non-alcoholic mix of fruit juices and delicious to drink as a sequel to the yummy, rummy quaffs, which go to YOUR head (not the shrunken ones which Sam collects!) For us,this is now a "go to" first stop for an Anaheim arrival.Relax, laugh, and immerse yourself in the ersatz Polynesian surroundings.Nui, nui!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great Addition to the Disneyland Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

When Disney decided to take out the Lost Bar and Hook's Pointe, the first thing that came to my mind was: "There they go again. Making bad decisions!"

The Lost Bar was a great place for going away parties, for getting together with friends coming in from out of town. I just had too many fun memories there.

But, I have to admit, all my doubts and concerns about this new location went to rest last year when I first set foot in it. I have gone back several times since then and I'll tell you why.

It is a very well themed bar. Yes, this is a full on bar. It's almost an extension of Adventureland inside the park. If no one gets the "Trader Sam's" reference, I suggest next time you go into Disneyland, drop by Adventureland and start asking around. Then you'll get it.

For those who are more fans of Walt Disney World, you'll be happy to hear that some elements from the Adventurer's Club that was closed at the Downtown Disney District have made their way over here. Not gonna mention what those elements are. I don't want to spoil it for anyone.

Their drink selection is ample, and if it's not in the menu, you can still ask for it to include drinks from The Adventurer's Club. Yes, some Cast Members working at Trade Sam's worked at the Adventurer's Club and now how to make those amazing drinks.

If you're a collector of souvenirs, this is a perfect place to get them as a lot of the drinks come in souvenir containers and can be purchased. I'm up to two glasses and next time I go I am getting my third.

All in all, this is a great addition to the resort, with a nice selection of finger foods to go with whatever you are drinking.

Don't let your visit to the Disneyland Resort be incomplete. Make some time at the end of your day to relax your feet and have a great time in an ambiance where ordering certain drinks can send the Tiki gods into entertainment mode.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trader Sam's also viewed

Anaheim, Orange County
Anaheim, Orange County
 

Been to Trader Sam's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trader Sam's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.