We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food for vegetarians and non-vegetarians” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thuyen Vien Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Thuyen Vien Restaurant
1740 S Euclid St, Anaheim, CA 92802-2429
714-490-0242
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 685 Restaurants in Anaheim
Cuisines: Vegetarian
Restaurant details
Calgary
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Excellent food for vegetarians and non-vegetarians”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

I will add my voice to the chorus of satisfied diners here. I was at a conference and took a break to walk to this restaurant, based on Trip Advisor reviews. The walk from the Convention Centre was 30 minutes along Katella Avenue. The restaurant is in a strip mall on the northeast corner of Katella and Euclid St. It is small and spartan but the food tastes very very fresh. I had the banana flower tacos, which were delicious, and the garlic "chicken". No way could I tell that this was a vegetarian dish. They ask how spicy you want it and, given that I was going back to the conference, I asked for "not spicy" and got exactly that. On a Saturday and a warm day, it was not busy but I think that I was just lucky. It would be a good idea to take a break and treat yourself to this good food.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    9
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Unbelievably good vegetarian Vietnamese food!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Must try it if you're a vegetarian or someone who loves Vietnamese food. It's located <10 minutes away from the hotel we were staying in and the manager was very friendly and helpful even though we had eaten Vietnamese food before in Philadelphia. But here, the food was fresher and better prepared and tasted wonderful. We had all of our usual favorites (noodle soup, fried tofu, fried spring rolls) but all of them tasted better here than what we had eaten before. We also tried the vegetarian garlic chicken which was also very excellent. Also the prices are fantastic which make it an even better deal. Try it if you have a car and you're willing to try something that isn't flooded with Disneyland visitors!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great local find!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

We were attending a conference at the Anaheim Convention Center and wanted to try a local vegetarian restaurant. This little, unassuming place is tucked into a small shopping center a short distance away from Disneyland and the Convention Center. Even though we arrived shortly after it opened for the evening on a Wednesday, the place was quickly packed with happy diners. Service was quick and pleasant and the proprietor was eager to answer questions about their dishes. The food was terrific ~ tasty and flavorful. The Vietnamese nun at the next table was apparently a frequent diner...a good sign in my book! We would definitely go back during our next Anaheim visit.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabethtown, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Great find!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We were looking for something different for dinner after a day out in LA. My daughter found this place on Yelp. The reviews were good and it said the prices were reasonable so off we went.
The food was wonderful for a vegetarian menu. The prices were reasonable. They were busy for a Sunday night around 8PM. They only have about 8 tables seating maybe less than 25 people. We waited only a few minutes for a table and the whole time we were there, people were coming in & out for take-out or waiting for a table. They don't take credit card - cash or debit. Would eat there again if we're ever back in the area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, USA
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Great food in a hole-in-the-wall, down the street from Disneyland”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Vegetarian Vietnamese restaurant within walking distance from the Disneyland area: it was an easy walk through a regular neighborhood to get to this tiny storefront restaurant, which was packed on a Friday night, with a lot of to-go business as well. Instead of ordering Vietnamese dishes we were familiar with, we ordered things that looked interesting from the photos on the menu. I ordered what I thought would be a cold salad with noodles, and instead it was a delicious warm bowl of crunchy vegetables, vermicelli, and fragrant broth. Others got the fish clay pot and pho choices. Efficient service with speedy arrival of our dishes. The prices are very reasonable.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thuyen Vien Restaurant also viewed

Anaheim, Orange County
Anaheim, Orange County
 
Anaheim, Orange County
Anaheim, Orange County
 

Been to Thuyen Vien Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thuyen Vien Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.