We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, Rubbish Location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Anaheim Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Anaheim Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Anaheim Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   900 South Disneyland Drive, Anaheim, CA 92802   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #55 of 112 Hotels in Anaheim
Glasgow, Scotland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel, Rubbish Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2005

On our honeymoon and just visited Las Vegas so we were still in a high but got put down when we arrived at the Sheraton Anaheim The hotel i about an hour away from the airport and we were getting the airport bus which only comes once an hour and our luck... we just missed it so after an hours wait we boarded but the driver got us in a good mood (you have to tip everyone, shocking i know but they depend on it... apparently) we got to our hotel and it looked alright, we went to the reception desk, got to our room and were dissapointed that there were 2 double beds in the room when we were told there will be a kingsize, we phoned downstairs and were told to come back to reception, so we had to lug our luggage downstairs again to be given a key for.... you guessed it, next door to the first room, the room was exactly the same but had a kingsize huge bed which was fantastic!! the view from the room was of the courtyard. The swimming pool is o.k, gets quite busy with kids though, and what a joke with the very heated jaccuzi, whats that all about in the middle of the summer. We picked this hotel because it was halfway between sea-world and universal which takes an hour and a half to get to each location which we pre-booked back home, the location of the hotel was dreadfull, right next to the freeway, no shops nearby, no pubs, about $20 later in a cab we find ourselves in the centre of the town (near the mariot) where its all happening so we will go there next time. Staff were pretty rubbish and didnt really care about there guests. Recommending VIP TOURS which we used to go universal which was amazing day out (definetely recommend getting a "Gate A pass" to skip all the ques, only costs $48 each but well worth it, got to do and see everything, Universal, huge dissapointment, recommend for kids though and be very patient with ques, deffinetely not a place for honeymooners, went on a city tour through hollywood and L.A.. recommended. Wouldnt stay at the sheraton in Anaheim, the marriot and hilton have better shps, cafes, pubs etc.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

989 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    397
    179
    85
    73
See reviews for
485
158
18
70
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2005

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights early July. It has seen better days, and the decor is a bit tired, but I wouldn't write it off. The rooms were spacious and kept very clean. Overall it was comfortable. The check in was very smooth, and the staff at the hotel were among the friendliest we encountered in all 7 hotels we stayed in on a touring holiday. If you are not travelling with kids, I would avoid the rooms around the pool.

Hotel is close to Disney, and a shuttle bus runs every half hour. You also get a great view of the fireworks each evening (bit of a shock the first night as we had gone to bed early - still on UK time).

This hotel is really only a good location if you are travelling to see Disney (which we were not). If you want to tour around LA in general it is a bit out of the way. Visited Disney village one evening, and got the impression the whole park was much smaller than Florida, and extremely crowded. Couldn't get in to eat anywhere and left after an hour.

If you are into the sights, don't miss the Getty Centre, Santa Monica, and the Queen Mary and Scorpion at Long Beach.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2005

The main problem with this Hotel is the proximity to the park. It really is too far to walk and is in an awkward location surrounded by freeways, etc.
After 11pm everthing in the hotel is closed and there is nothing close by if you want to have a snack for do anything. The bus shuttle was convenient and quick, but you must plan your schedule around its take offs, or you will wait...and it only goes to Disneyland and back.
The rooms were spacious, the beds were okay. Not what I thought they would be. The pool in dated, crowded, people smoking, and it is surrounded by the hotel. The hotel is in desperate need of paint. The paint on the exterior is literally peeling off. Since this surrounds the pool, it wasn't pleasant and we only went there once. I feel there are better hotels, closer to the park for less money. Also, the buffet breakfast, I feel, is overpriced.
The food is cold and completely tasteless.
I will never stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2005

We spent three quiet nights at the Anaheim Sheraton from 7/18-7/20. I don't normally write reviews, but after seeing the alternatives on Harbor Blvd I encourage you to consider the Sheraton.

The rooms: I agree with other reviewers that the interior of the room felt a little dated. However, our room was large, clean, and the 2 queen beds were very comfortable. The bathroom was a little smaller than I expected, but adequate and very clean.

The shuttle: This was definitely a convenient way to get to and from Disneyland. It really only takes 5 minutes to get to the park entrance, which is at least half the time it takes to walk from one of the 'main gate' hotels on Harbor. The drivers were very friendly and the shuttle was always there on schedule.

The hotel in general: The courtyard areas are charming. The pool was fine - it was never crowded and it was perfect for a mid-day break. The staff was very friendly and attentive. The hotel was sold out while we were there, but it never felt crowded and it was very quiet the entire time.

Overall, we really enjoyed staying at this hotel. This is not a luxury hotel, but it sure felt like an oasis after spending long hours on our feet at Disneyland.

The only drawback is that there aren't any restaurants within reasonable walking distance of the hotel.

Tips: Rent a refrigerator for $20 for your entire stay. We saved a lot of money by bringing our own breakfast food, snacks and drinks. Also, if something does not work properly, report it to the front desk. We reported two small maintenance issues in the morning and they were fixed by the time we came back in the afternoon.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, California, USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2005

We stayed at the Sheraton Anaheim over the Fourth of July weekend. We checked in around noon and were initially told that check-in was not until 3pm, but front desk found a room for us anyways. I think the best thing for this hotel is the location and the grounds. It's very close to Disneyland and the grounds are immaculately kept! The room itself is just ok. Everything was clean but the age of the building is beginning to show. There were cracks in the bathroom sink and the water took forever to drain from both the sink and the tub. We saw Disneyland shuttles coming and going at regular intervals at the front, but did not use the service. At night we were able to see fireworks from Disneyland reflected on the glass of the building across from our hotel windows. It was very quiet the entire time we were there. Overall, we would give this hotel a 3 1/2 out of 5. Adequate, but nothing special!

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2005

We arrived at the Sheraton Anaheim earlier than check-in time. No problem! The front desk allowed us into our room. Actually they even allowed us to choose the location! We have teenagers, the pool area would be perfect for us. Again, no problem! Our outside door opened at the pool gate. Perfect for us. The pool noise mentioned previously wasn't a problem for us as our kids were the ones making the noise while we were there. We could have done without the early morning pool cleanup usually before 7am.

We ate in the Bistro for breakfast most days. The buffet looked alittle used most of the time so we ordered off the menu. There wasn't any outdoor seating which was a disappointment. It looked gorgeous out there. Room service was also fantastic and quick. The kids enjoyed not getting up with us but ordering their food on their own.

The location to Disney, in my opinion, can't be beat. The shuttle was convenient as well as timely. We never waited longer than a couple of minutes. So much easier than driving yourself and parking.

We totally enjoyed our stay at the Sheraton Anaheim.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2005

We stayed here for the first three nights of our driving holiday. The rooms were huge and spacious, the beds were heaven, the bathroom wasn't huge but i wasn't intending to stay in there long. My two very tall teens had bags of space. The air con is a blessing and easy to use.
The fireworks from the parking lot at night were great ( get settled just in front of the main enterance, my kids sat in the jeep roof and even the cops pulled over to have a look!).
We had hoped for a room over looking something pretty but we had booked direct on email and stipulated quiet. It was just that, even though we were on a busy run through we heard little noise and I'm pretty fussy! Coffee perculator was a novelty and very pleasent once we worked out how to get the coffee made! It was nice to have a safe in the room.
Its near mickey land and there is a great resturant called Mimis on the disney main drag so we didn't eat in the hotel, it looked a bit pricy for the independent traveller. We liked the fact it was a virgin flagship hotel but if you want a pool forget it! It was really poor.
If your staying in LA for your entire trip don't go here, you'll want a nice pool and better location especially if you have small people. Don't go to Disney here instead of Florida, there is no comparison, this one fails to match up to the Florida Disneyland experience.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Anaheim Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Anaheim Hotel

Address: 900 South Disneyland Drive, Anaheim, CA 92802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 112 Hotels in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Anaheim Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 489
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Share memories to last a lifetime at the castle-themed Sheraton Anaheim Hotel, located near the Disneyland Parks with complimentary shuttle service every 30 min to and from all the Disney attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Anaheim Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anaheim Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Anaheim Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.