We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel and just across the road from the Honda Center” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ayres Hotel Anaheim

Save Saved
You added Ayres Hotel Anaheim to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ayres Hotel Anaheim
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2550 E Katella Ave, Anaheim, CA 92806   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Fall Sale! Save 25%!
Ranked #1 of 112 Hotels in Anaheim
GreenLeadersGold level
Europe
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel and just across the road from the Honda Center”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

This is a lovely hotel with friendly staff who managed to stay friendly even when bombarded with people returning from a show at the Honda Center.

The double queen room was a good size with comfortable beds. If I am ever in Anaheim again, I would stay here like a shot.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    801
    268
    56
    12
    3
See reviews for
549
254
29
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Having researched hotels in the Anaheim area and after reading many reviews we decided to book this hotel for our four night stay in November. It is two miles from the Disneyland area but we had no intentions of actually visiting Disneyland itself as we were staying in Los Angeles to watch our son play basketball. Upon checking in and walking into our room we were very impressed as the photos we had seen didnt do it justice. We chose a room with one King bed as we thought there would be more space in the living room where we could relax at night. The room had a small dining table in which to sit at and a very comfortable settee on which to watch television. The bed was super comfortable and we had access to a laundry on our floor. We were given a room on the third floor on the opposite side to the freeway which was nearby.

It was one of the best breakfasts we had experienced during our one month stay in America. The hot food is actually prepared in front of you which included eggs, bacon or sausages, potatoes and scrumptious pancakes and fresh cut fruit is available which we just loved. Happy hour is also available late in the afternoon and baked biscuits available in the evening. The staff are very friendly and helpful.

On the days we didnt have our hire car we caught the No. 50 bus that stopped just across the road into Disneyland which was only a ten minute ride. This hotel is in a nice location and very handy to freeways. There is a great tavern/restaurant right across the road and very handy to the Orange Outlets and another great mall close by with many department stores.

We were so happy with our choice of hotel and feel that we got it at a great price. The hotel was near capacity on most nights. We used Super Shuttle from and to the airport and used the local bus on numerous occasions. We would recommend this hotel to anybody for whatever reason for visiting Anaheim.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, FL
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We stayed here for a concert at the Honda Center - it could not have been better.

Room - Very comfortable. Flat screen TV with HDMI input (we watched movies and surfed the internet on the big TV). Free Internet. VERY comfortable beds - pillow top. Wet bar and refrigerator. I could not ask for more from a hotel room.

Breakfast - Full American breakfast was included. On Tuesday we had scrambled eggs, sausage, hash browns and waffles (I think waffles). On Wednesday we had scrambled eggs, bacon, home fries, and pancakes. And juice, coffee, milk. And standard breakfast bakery items like bagels, donuts, muffins. And cereal too.

Free parking was great.

The staff was friendly and efficient. It's easy to see why this hotel is #1 in Anaheim.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

I will definitely be staying here again any time that I have a concert or event at the Honda Center. The hotel is RIGHT across the street from the Honda Center.

While the hotel is not chic like a W hotel, it is just fine--clean and with just enough amenities to make you comfortable. The staff was friendly and kind.

The decor is....not my style. The place probably looks like the house of the gaudy relative we all seem to have. Complete with fake Rembrandts on every inch of wall, "wood" appointments throughout (aka plastic laminate particle board with wood grain painted on it), and other made in China cheap things that desperately try to look more opulent than they really are. But I don't hate the place for trying to be what it wants to be -- "a European boutique hotel" -- according to its own slogan.

Pros: Free parking, nice staff, surprisingly comfy bed, 10am early check-in for extra charge
Cons: Nit picky stuff -- Decor just felt cheap and awkward, the power in the room was turned on only when you had your room key in this slot and it kept malfunctioning and turning off the power randomly
I wish I knew: That there was a Yelp deal on the Yelp app which offered you a $109 rate when you "checked in" to the location on the app. I did not discover this until it was too late.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We stayed here for a week for our vacation. The front desk staff was friendly and check-in was quick and easy. I had ordered a bottle of champagne when I booked as a special treat and it was waiting for us on ice when we arrived to our room along with glasses and a couple of chocolate truffles. Our room was large, clean, and tastefully decorated. It included a nice sitting area with a couch, coffee table, smaller table with two chairs, and a bar area with a sink, fridge, microwave, and coffee maker. The bathroom included a large garden-type bathtub and was sparkling clean.

The included breakfast was excellent. Besides having a good selection of the typical self-serve items that you usually find at hotels' complimentary breakfasts, there was also a cook on duty every morning making eggs, bacon, sausage, potatoes, and pancakes.

On Sunday morning there was a stack of complimentary newspapers waiting in the lobby, and on a couple of different weeknights there were complimentary snacks, beer, and wine in the lobby during the evening.

The hotel does not offer a shuttle to Disneyland, but they do sell tickets to the ART shuttle, which departs every hour at fifteen minutes past the hour. For the most part the shuttle was on time, and it was only $12 for a three day pass, which is probably a lot less than we would have spent on parking at Disneyland.

Overall, we are very satisfied with our stay at the Ayers. I would recommend it to couples or families who want a nice hotel for a reasonable price. If we're ever lucky enough to return to Disneyland, we'll certainly stay there.

Room Tip: Our fourth-floor room on the opposite side from the freeway was nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
129 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We stayed in the Ayres Hotel Anaheim for two nights in November 2012.

Check in was quick and friendly, and we were up in our room within a couple of minutes of arrival.

The rooms are large, and ours had two queen sized beds. The fit out is aging but is in good repair, and the rooms are kept very clean. Rooms had everything you would expect, along with an ironing board and a coffee machine. Wifi was quick and free, and there was a small fitness room if you are keen.

Breakfast was OK without being remarkable, with a selection of hot and cold dishes along with urns of coffee / tea. The hot cakes went down well with the kids, while I thought the crispy bacon was worth a second visit.

A negative for the hotel was the construction site next door - the room was literally shaking by 8am each day. Not a problem if you're packed up and off to Disney, but a bit of an issue if you are sleeping off some jetlag. It looks like the construction will last a while.

There are a few fast food places around the hotel, and a factory outlet complex about ten minutes stroll away.

A final tip - Don't miss the home baked cookies handed out in reception each night...they are served warm and are absolutely perfect to go with an evening coffee!

As an aside, my parents stayed at the Ayres for two weeks as part of an extended California trip, and they were absolutely delighted with it.

Room Tip: I would ask for something as far away from the construction site next door as you can get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilliwack, Canada
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

This was our first stay at the Ayres Anaheim and was based on the ratings it got on TripAdvisor. There is a reason this hotel is rated so high. We stayed for 8 nights and loved every minute of it. The staff were friendly, the hotel was spotlessly clean and the beds were heavenly. Hands down the best hotel bed we have ever slept in. We will be back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ayres Hotel Anaheim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayres Hotel Anaheim

Address: 2550 E Katella Ave, Anaheim, CA 92806
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#1 Family Hotel in Anaheim
#1 Green Hotel in Anaheim
#2 Business Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ayres Hotel Anaheim 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Ayres Hotel Anaheim! You’ll find all of the 133 luxurious guest rooms at Ayres Hotel Anaheim are impeccably appointed with a full suite of complimentary amenities including our signature, triple sheeted Ayres Dream Sleeper beds, flat screen TVs, refrigerators, coffeemakers, microwaves, well lit work desks, Wifi, iHomes, hairdryers, and curved shower rods. Every morning you will start your day right with our complimentary full American breakfast buffet which includes freshly cooked eggs, potatoes, sausage or bacon, pancakes or french toast, oatmeal, fruit, yogurt, cereal, toast, muffins, juice and coffee. Ayres Hotel Anaheim welcomes travelers to all of the exciting business, recreational, and entertainment attractions Southern California has to offer. Across the street is the Honda Center that plays hosts to numerous sporting and entertainment events including Anaheim Duck ice hockey and popular music artist concerts. For baseball fans,catch an Anaheim Angles of Los Angeles game at the Angels Stadium, literally steps away. Guests can catch the Anaheim Resort Transit system to the Anaheim Convention Center, Disneyland Resort, Disney California Adventure, or for shops, restaurants, and bars the Downtown Disney District or Anaheim Garden Walk. The Ayres Hotel Anaheim is perfect for your family vacation, date night, or for the girls or guys night out on the town! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Milestone Internet Marketing, Orbitz, Tingo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Ayres Hotel Anaheim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anaheim Ayres Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ayres Hotel Anaheim, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.