We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for Disney stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ayres Hotel Anaheim

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ayres Hotel Anaheim to your Saves list
Ayres Hotel Anaheim
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2550 E Katella Ave, Anaheim, CA 92806   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save Up to 25%!
Ranked #1 of 112 Hotels in Anaheim
GreenLeadersGold level
Phoenix, AZ
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great for Disney stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Decided to stay here for our Disney trip. The room is spacious compared to Disneyland Resort hotels, with a decent size bathroom, and wet bar with small fridge, microwave, coffeemaker, and sink. Rooms and public areas were very clean, the beds are very very comfortable! Housekeeping during stay was minimal, but we witnessed the in-depth cleaning upon checkout.

Free parking, wifi, & breakfast were perks considering many hotels within walking distance of Disney charge a lot for parking. They had eggs, sausage or bacon, potatoes or hash browns, bagels, toast, donuts, pastries, cereals, yogurt, and fresh fruit for breakfast. The chef made great potatoes and bacon! Only very small complaints were that internet was very slow, and tv reception was terrible on certain channels (no Disney channel either :-()

Staff we encountered was very friendly! There was a happy hour one weeknight when we came home a little earlier than usual from Disney - not sure if that happens regularly or not....but there was wine, beer, chips with salsa and guacamole (very very good guacamole too!)

Don't expect to have a super quiet hotel - remember it is close to Disney, so we heard a lot of stomping going on above us - but luckily they were on the same schedule as us.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresMgr, General Manager at Ayres Hotel Anaheim, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Bamboo2010,

Thank you for the lovely review. We love to hear such kind comments about housekeeping and our front desk staff. I am so sorry that you had such trouble with the wifi and TV but quite glad you posted your comments. The reason being that we have just completed a massive infrastructure upgrade in our wifi system, which has trasnformed the system. We previously had issues with ipads and iphones in particular but we now have a completely different system. On Tuesday of next week we will be testing our new cable service, and hopefully within one week we will go live complete with the long-awaited Disney channel (and our beloved Lakers).

Thanks again for your feedback. It is feedback like yours that makes the difference in getting the investment for these upgrades.

With warm regards,

Marcus Collins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    885
    298
    60
    12
    3
See reviews for
599
274
32
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Easy to see why this hotel is ranked #1 in Anaheim.
My partner and I stayed at Ayres for 6 nights in October while we visited LA. The customer service here is amazing and everyone was very helpful.
We really enjoyed the complimentary cooked breakfast every morning and the chips, dips and drinks in the evening were great, the best part being the freshly baked cookies!
The king size bed we had was also amazing, hands down the most comfortable bed we had on our entire stay.
Easy enough to get to places like Disneyland by jumping on the shuttle and as we had a car, the free parking space was really handy. Most places charge for parking per day!
The pool and Spa was nice to relax after a hard day of shopping.
Although Ayres doesn't have its own restaurant the brewery/restaurant next door was great and had some really nice food & drink!

If we ever return to LA we will definitely be staying here!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Staff was very friendly when checking us in, and helpful with any questions we may have had (where is the closest Costco?). Morning breakfast was awesome, not your typical cold breakfast. Eggs, sausage, grilled potatoes, pancakes, waffles, bacon, varieties of cereal, fruit, yogurt and on... Filled you up for the full day of walking at Disney. Used the gym every morning, very quiet and nice equipment. Pool was heated and hot tub in the late evening was a great way to relax those tired feet. Could see how this hotel is perfect for events at the Honda centre or ball diamond, within walking distance. Right off the freeway for easy access. To top it all off, the King size bed was so comfortable and we slept fantastically. Would recommend this chain, definitely!

Room Tip: We booked through Expedia and found the king size room very spacious. Would say all sides of the hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is a real gem. Right across the road from the Honda Centre, a 5 minute easy drive to Disneyland Parks, the friendliest staff I've seen and great rates. The beds are super comfortable, the rooms and amenities are extremely clean, the area is safe and secure and the rates are excellent. I booked through Expedia and even though I got a discounted rate I was still treated like as if I paid the full price, which is more than I can say for a lot of other hotels. I like the fact that their are no porters rushing to grab your bags and a tip, there are luggage trolleys provided.
We stayed here initially for 3 nights before we left for Arizona, and found the place so good that we booked another two nights on our way back to San Fran. On our return we arrived from Vegas at 9 in the morning with a car full of luggage and a bit dishevelled after a long drive. We were doing Disneyland that day and were praying for an early check in. Well not only did we get that with a minimum of fuss, but we also were lucky enough to receive a free upgrade.
I can't speak highly enough of this hotel, where the customer definitely comes first.
Thank you Ayres Anaheim for a wonderful experience. I wish all hotels were like this.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salvador, BA
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

A 3-star plus pattern in a good location (2 miles from Disney Parks). The hotel has an elegant ambiance. Helpful staff. I haven’t seen any bellman to help with the luggage. Room: elegant, large, very comfortable, clean, quiet; coffeemaker with complimentary coffee. Bathroom: ok. Breakfast: ok, but very crowded. There is always a line to get the food due to (I think) the system used: it is not self-service; an employee serves everything you need (similar to schools and army). I recommend this hotel for families with kids. Good stay guaranteed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
No. Cal.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I asked for a quiet room on the top floor and my request was honored. My room is on the back side of the hotel. The rooms are very quiet; I heard no noise at all. Rooms are well insulated. I did not hear anything from the adjacent rooms or outside hallway noise.

The room was well laid out. There was a separate area with small sink and counter (wet bar), microwave, and fridge. A table and chairs for sitting; and a separate work desk and chair area. The vanity area with sink and hair-dryer is separate from the bathroom shower/toilet area.

When I checked in, I was not told that I have to put my room key in a slot to keep the power on the room, However, while I was awaiting to check-in, I heard and saw the other gentleman showing the guest that he was checking in how the system works. The hotel has this set up where you can utilize your room key to shut off and on the power in the room.

They also offer a complimentary Happy Hour in the hotel lobby during the week, of which I did not partake, as it is almost 7 pm when I arrived at the hotel. However, I overhead the same gentleman providing power system instructions, also informed his guest that they will be baking a second batch of cookies later on in the evening. Lo and behold, when I return to the hotel after dinner, the entire lobby was filled with aroma of fresh baked cookies - choice of soft oatmeal raisins and sugar cookies. Yummy!

There is a computer with internet access and a printer in the lobby, handy for printing boarding pass, or other searches, even though the reception is rather slow.

You will need a car to go to other neighboring restaurants, other than the one adjacent to Ayres, JT Schmid's restaurant (a pub), which served decent food, but on the expensive side.

The breakfast was being served at a room with ample seating (tables placed rather tight to one another to maneuver when carrying food and/or drinks). A staff member was quick in picking up dirty plates and cleaning tables.

Breakfast offered a varied selection of hot & cold items. Breads, bagels, pastries, donuts, cereals, oatmeal, yogurt, fruit, coffee, tea, milk, and juices, etc, They have a "chef" cooking scrambled eggs, bacon, potato tots and pancakes over a large grill. I particularly enjoyed the two freshly made pancakes!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Ayres. Andrew and the other front counter staff ALWAYS greeted us with a hello and a smile. The hotel is well maintained and felt quite exclusive and expensive :)
We had an amazing room with a huge bed that was the best sleep out of our21 day USA trip. The breakfast was large variety of hot and continental and the chef took the time to talk to us and noticed his regular guests.
Our favourite thin was the restaurant next door!! Great sports bar and food!
We got a great deal online so take advantage of them when they come up. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ayres Hotel Anaheim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayres Hotel Anaheim

Address: 2550 E Katella Ave, Anaheim, CA 92806
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Anaheim
#1 Green Hotel in Anaheim
#1 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#2 Business Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ayres Hotel Anaheim 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Ayres Hotel Anaheim! You’ll find all of the 133 luxurious guest rooms at Ayres Hotel Anaheim are impeccably appointed with a full suite of complimentary amenities including our signature, triple sheeted Ayres Dream Sleeper beds, flat screen TVs, refrigerators, coffeemakers, microwaves, well lit work desks, Wifi, iHomes, hairdryers, and curved shower rods. Every morning you will start your day right with our complimentary full American breakfast buffet which includes freshly cooked eggs, potatoes, sausage or bacon, pancakes or french toast, oatmeal, fruit, yogurt, cereal, toast, muffins, juice and coffee. Ayres Hotel Anaheim welcomes travelers to all of the exciting business, recreational, and entertainment attractions Southern California has to offer. Across the street is the Honda Center that plays hosts to numerous sporting and entertainment events including Anaheim Duck ice hockey and popular music artist concerts. For baseball fans,catch an Anaheim Angles of Los Angeles game at the Angels Stadium, literally steps away. Guests can catch the Anaheim Resort Transit system to the Anaheim Convention Center, Disneyland Resort, Disney California Adventure, or for shops, restaurants, and bars the Downtown Disney District or Anaheim Garden Walk. The Ayres Hotel Anaheim is perfect for your family vacation, date night, or for the girls or guys night out on the town! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ayres Hotel Anaheim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anaheim Ayres Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ayres Hotel Anaheim, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.