We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Indian Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tandoori Garden

Tandoori Garden
30 South Anaheim Blvd., Anaheim, CA 92805 (The Colony)
714.533.2288
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #211 of 685 Restaurants in Anaheim
Cuisines: Indian
Neighborhood: The Colony
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: The Colony
Sanford, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Indian Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

If you want a change from the standard tourist food try this restaurant. They make several types of Naan bread to go with reasonably priced Indian meals. We had soup with our meals and had to take food back with us which I reheated for lunch. Happy with this choice.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    6
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great buffet...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Awesome food at buffet....lots of options for both veg & non-veg with 4 choices of dessert. Dined twice in our 5 day trip to LA and both times the food was great...

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
Top Contributor
246 reviews 246 reviews
209 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Tandoori Garden is serving up authentic North Indian cuisine in Anaheim, CA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Mango Lassi is Tandoori Garden’s homemade yogurt blended with imported mango pulp from India, crushed ice, and topped with a few drops of rose water. This is the best mango smoothie you’ll ever have. It was ice cold, creamy, and packed full of mango flavor. Indian mango is very different than Hawaiian mango. It tasted more like a papaya. The color was a vibrant orange like pureed pumpkin. The rose water added a sweet, floral aroma and flavor to the drink. It was a nice touch! Thumbs up, way up!

Garlic Naan is garnished with freshly chopped garlic, coriander leaves, and baked in a clay oven. Slightly crispy outside, yet chewy, it was baked just right. It had an excellent garlic flavor. The coriander leaves were a fresh and flavorful touch. Thumbs up, way up!

Full order of Chicken Tandoori is quartered pieces of young succulent chicken that has been marinated overnight in their signature blend of herbs and spices. The cooks at Tandoori Gardens have learned the art of tandoori very well. This has to be the best tandoori chicken I’ve ever had. The pieces were fall-off-the-bone juicy, even the white meat. The tandoori locked in the flavor and made it juicy and tender, almost like broasted chicken but without the oil. The marinade was subtle but brought out the essence of the chicken. Thumbs up, way up!

Chicken Tikka Masala is boneless chicken cooked in a Tandoor and prepared in a yogurt butter cream sauce. Wow! The chicken absorbed the spices in the sauce which was creamy and light. It looks heavy, but you’ll definitely love it. The sauce reminded me of chipotle cream sauce without the heat. Order a side of basmati rice or naan so you can sop up the sauce. You don’t want to waste a drop as the sauce makes this dish extraordinary. Thumbs up, way up!

Lamb Saag is boneless pieces of tender lamb, cooked in spinach and blended with their signature herbs and spices. This dish is one of my all-time favorites in Indian cuisine and Tandoori Garden makes a really great one. The lamb was so tender like the perfect beef stew, almost melts in your mouth. The spinach was cooked down and with the juices from the lamb and spices and made a lovely gravy-like sauce. Use your naan to scoop it up as you don’t want to waste a drop of this one either. Thumbs up, way up!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin Park, New Jersey
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Excellent Indian Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

We did takeout twice while we were staying in a hotel near Disneyland. Delivery was prompt and the food was well packaged along with plates and cutlery. All the food we ordered was also excellent, well made and very tasty. Have to especially call out their chicken tikka masala, vegetable korma and vegetable biryani which were all excellent. Their chana masala was the only let down, but was not that bad either. Just not of the same standard as the rest.
Would definitely order from them again when we travel to LA area.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Awesomeness !!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

I called this place just 5 mins before they were closing and placed an order for 10 people (Take out). But trust me the food was so great and awesome.Everything was packed so neatly with plasticware for 10 people. We like it so much that we placed the same dinner order for next evening.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tandoori Garden also viewed

Anaheim, Orange County
 
Anaheim, Orange County
 

Been to Tandoori Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tandoori Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.