We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Run as fast as you can....this is a scam operation” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Little Boy Blue Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Little Boy Blue Motel to your Saves list
Little Boy Blue Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   416 W Katella Ave, Anaheim, CA 92802   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Call Direct For Best Rate
Ranked #80 of 115 Hotels in Anaheim
Olympia, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Run as fast as you can....this is a scam operation”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

All I can say is, the manager's charged my card after not letting me have the keys to my room. I had to move to another hotel, which cost me another $200. I have reported the incident to the police, Attorney General and FBI. I suspect there is drug activity in the hotel on a regular basis. If you are looking for a place near DisneyLand...this is not the one. Check out some of the rating sites for this hotel...I am not the only with serious problems with these people. Although, it does appear they have tried to give the impression of "All is well", but I also suspect these are written by friends of the owners or by the manager....because, there is no way any if the "Wonderful" comments can be true. So, don't give them credit card information...they will charge it, without your consent...they will ask for more money on arrival (Cash only - RED FLAG), and their debit/credit machine seems to fail when it comes to making a refund (see others who made comments on this).

Room Tip: Choose a hotel with good ratings...not this one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    29
    10
    8
    26
See reviews for
30
16
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, Washington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

We booked a room through Priceline for this hotel, paid for by our credit card number. When we got there, they said the reservation was not confirmed, although I had the confirmation number in my hand. The "Manager", who appeared to be on drugs, said the only way we could get the room was to give her cash...not another credit card, debit card....only cash. That seemed odd.....so we called Bookings.com, where our reservation was confirmed. We were told that the charge for the room would be processed once we registered. We told the manger on drugs this, but she still insisted on cash. So we left, the next day they started charging the credit card for the room, even though they denied they could charge the card without our signatures. This hotel has a long list of criminal problems. For us, we are contacting the California State Attorney General's office and reporting this as fraud. We will also be calling the FBI, and Anaheim police since I suspect there is a lot of drug activity there.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel....RUN FROM THIS HOTEL. Don't stay there, they are on drugs and criminals
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Orange FL
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

Yes it was a business trip to a convention and trade show however, being from Florida, I had to do Disneyland one day. Weather was great and I could walk to both the convention center and local restaurants. Disney was literally a 3 minute drive. Upon checking in was told hotel was under new management and that I was getting a newly remodeled room. Everything was clean and comfy and I was able to walk right out my downstairs room to the pool. No issues with either the condition of the rooms or pool. For $60 a night in this area it is hard to find something safe and clean and most importantly quiet. I got all of that. The new owners run a tight ship and seem to have put a lot of money into this place. Even though it is nothing super fancy and a basic place to lay your head, I also prefer new beds, upgraded rooms and cleanliness then anything else. For the price and proximity to what I needed I will definitely stay here again next year's convention.

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manistee, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

A friend and I spent a week in California in January 2012, with three nights at the Little Boy Blue. We chose the hotel because I was attending an event at the Convention Center and it was very close, and it was a very inexpensive room. (We were traveling very much on a budget so price was of the utmost importance.)

The hotel staff was very friendly and accommodating. The continental breakfast was nothing to write home about, but it was nice to have the option to grab a danish and coffee before we headed out every day. The location was perfect and the surroundings gorgeous.

The room itself was older and had patched areas on the wall where work had been done and the paint hadn't been fixed, but it was clean. There was a refrigerator and microwave in the room, which was nice to help us save even more money by being able to eat meals in the room.

When we checked out, we were waiting for someone to come pick us up, but they were stuck in a traffic jam in Los Angeles. The man at the desk was kind enough to tuck our suitcases into a secure place so we could go eat some lunch while we waited.

It was a no-frills stay, but it was a good value for our budget trip.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

Subject: Little Boy Blue Motel, Anaheim

I would like to let you know about the service and results of my stay at Little Boy Blue Motel. On March 31st, I arrived around 11:30-12:00. I went into the tiny lobby to be greated by the managers wife. I showed her my reservation papers and the total costs of the room of $420.00 for 9 nights. The lady began punching up numbers on a calculator after taking my bank card that I used, and told me my total will be $490.00.
I asked the lady what the additional $70 charge was for, and she stated that its a state tax of 15% and a hotel tax of 2%, total of 17%. I showed her that taxes have already been added to the price of the room, she stated again that they always charge an additional 17% on top of what the booking company charges. I wasnt happy with that, yet I told her to go ahead. I was issued room #120 (pics will be follow below), and when I entered the room, it had a horible stench of mold, garbage and long beach (fishy). The a/c unit was dismantled and laying on the floor. I continued to check the room finding the tv was about to slide of its rolling top onto the floor (old, heavy set), the refridgerator was dirty and no microwave (no big deal there about the microwave), then walked into the bathroom to find used towels and dirty ones, mold spores on the ceiling corners, broken cabinet, no towel holder-just brackets, rusted light fixture and the walls and doors where absolutely filthy. A friend of mine came over to walk to Disneyland with me and met me at the hotel. When he entered the room, He looked at me and asked what that stinch was cause it was horrible. My friend and I took a few cleaning wipes to clean the place to hopefully make it better, it was horrid. In one pic of the bathroom door, there is a clean strip just about the door knob that I did. It's getting too much to bear at this point now. I shouldnt have to 'clean' their room! He (my friend) also told me that management wanted his information and vehicle number for records. At that point, we both thought he was going to be added on to my room after I already booked as "single'. As we left the room, there were items in the walk way that would have been by Osha standards a "hazard" as you will see in the pics of which were in the entry way to my room.
During the check of the room, I also discovered that the view out of my window was a gargage dumpster and the window was unable to be closed completely.
If a fire should have errupted, the fire alarm was missing. As I pulled back on the sheets, there were a few stains on the sheets like they havent been washed properly. I forgot to add (pics to show)that entering and exiting my room was blocked with miscellaneous items that would possibly prevent me from having a clear passage from escaping a fire.
I returned to the desk and asked for a different room. The manager came out and walked with me to inspect the room for the reasons I stated. He claimed that the window, cabinet and the a/c will be fixed. As he offered me the room 119, next to 120, it to was also in just as bad a shape. Why the fronts of the a/c's were dismantled were never explained. But the stinch in both rooms were horrific. I explained to the manager that Im allergic to mold and does he have anything else? He claimed that the two rooms were the only ones available.
So, I accepted the room and hoped for the best. As I awoke the next morning, I was feeling mighty sick and hard to breath. I immediately went to the lobby and told the management that I am checking out. I could not spend anymore time in the room especially overnight. It was obvious that I was ill. Although he was not happy, he did proceed to do a refund. In this process, the check card machine would not allow a refund. He did, in disgruntlement only charged me $35.10 opposed to the origional $53 per night (much higher than I agreed to) and refunded my money. I made sure all this was in writing as well. During this time, the manager had to make a phone call and contact the company and the owner about the machine to be fixed/programed for the refund and explain to the owner, why the charges and loss of sale.
As the repair man showed up, so did the owner. The manager was desperate to keep me in the hotel at this point and offered me to stay in another room for 1 more night free and no other nights required. I reminded him of his explaining that he had no more rooms, yet now he had another. During this conversation, the owner and the repair man were present. As the manager showed me the room, better, but still had a musk smell. I stated back to him, "this is just for tonight, right? like you said and that would be all for no charge?" The manager turned to me with a mad look on his face and stated, "I said I will give you a free night if you stay for the other 7 too". I replied to him that is not what he stated in the lobby. As we entered the lobby, I told the owner and the repair man, that I definately want out if Im going to be over charged and bribed into staying for the remainder of my stay when he already stated that I would get the 1 night free, and nothing else. They looked at me and agreed, for that is what was said, then changed, I would look for another place as well. At this point, the manager came out and grumbled at me that he is not going to give me the offer. I told him I am fine with that and that I will be looking elsewhere for another place to stay.
I did look on another booking company on my phone and found a true to price, and excellent room for the remainder of my stay. I like to keep my options open, and I will use them again. Just at that moment, my search popped up a place, so I went with that and was extremely happy with the results and the price being $100 cheaper made my vacation fabulous!
I am going to end this letter with letting you know that I will never again accept "Little Boy Blue" ever. They like to overcharge, and put you in hazardous, smelly rooms. The 3rd room was somewhat better, but still was bad.
Travelers beware! what may be cheap is just what you get and pay more later!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandiego
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

Our church group stayed here for the Religious Education convention. I would recommend another hotel, even though it is conveniently located near Convention Center and Disneyland. Not sure what our Director paid, but I'm sure for a few dollars more, we would all have been more comfortable. Several times our room key would not open the door, I had to go to the office repeatedly for re-keying, until finally the card lock would not work anymore and the manager had to open our room with his metal key, so we were without a key. Inside the rooms are spacious but in need of major updating -- our phone did not have a dial tone, our microwave did not work (manager said we could use his), the smoke alarm was not hooked up, only had the base, no battery or cover (major safety violation), bath towels are thin and itsy-bitsy bars of soap are provided, but no tissue paper, bathroom shower curtains, walls and floors are extremely worn. The continental breakfast is very meager, light brown coffee, orange drink (not juice), didn't try the apple juice, a few danish pastries and mini blueberry muffins (all prepackaged, but not sure if they were fresh) and a loaf of bread for toasting. Time for serious remodeling. Owners tried to accommodate us, but there is just too much needed to recommend this hotel no matter what the cost.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

Okay only reason why we stayed here was because of my Church had paid for the room. First we read all of the terrible reviews and were hoping that they weren't as bad as portrayed. So upon checking in and opening our door, all seemed okay at first. Bed was okay until you really looked at the sheets and pillow cases. They were old and had some holes smaller that a dime maybe not even the size of buttons, but you could tell they were washed. Pillow cases had marks and you could also tell these were washed yet used over and over as some marks were there no matter how many times they were washed. Bathrooms looked like they were right out of the late 60's early 70's. The baseboards in the bathrooms had water damage. Continental B-fast was a cup of juice or milk and a danish (pre-packaged) coffee was like brown water. The owners are from India and acted as if they could care less about how the Hotel and their rooms looked. Anyways, I was there for a Convention and came back after my first day, then my wife noticed bugs in the drain of the tub looked like Lice. My wife went down to the front desk and asked the owner for bug spray. The owner then came up to inspect and told my wife that it was not bugs, but dust. He pressed the bugs with his finger and said look. My wife then looked at the tub where the drain is and saw the bugs still crawling around and told the owner then if it's dust why are they moving. Upon closer look he apologized and started to spray the bugs with a pump spray not an aerosol can spray and the spray wouldn't come out initially after about 8 pumps he managed to get some of the pesticide out of his bottle. We asked that he leave the bottle with us yet he forgot to. Fortunately for us they didn't come back until the next night when we had to ask him for the spray again and this time we kept it. Not sure but could've been lice (RM 122) upstairs above front desk room. Needless to say when we attend this same convention next year we will not be staying here!!

Room Tip: No good rooms here others that were in our group card key readers didn't work, another had no po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.0 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites
0.0 mi away
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
#2 of 115 in Anaheim
4.5 of 5 stars 589 reviews
0.2 mi away
Castle Inn and Suites
Castle Inn and Suites
#12 of 115 in Anaheim
4.0 of 5 stars 1,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Anaheim Plaza Hotel and Suites
0.1 mi away
Ramada Plaza Anaheim
Ramada Plaza Anaheim
#32 of 115 in Anaheim
4.0 of 5 stars 921 reviews
0.2 mi away
Desert Palms Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little Boy Blue Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Boy Blue Motel

Address: 416 W Katella Ave, Anaheim, CA 92802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 115 Hotels in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Little Boy Blue Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Little Boy Blue Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Little Boy Blue Hotel Anaheim
Little Boy Blue Anaheim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Little Boy Blue Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.