We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Family Hotel and Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim (1 BLK/Disneyland)

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim (1 BLK/Disneyland) to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim (1 BLK/Disneyland)
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1240 South Walnut, one block from Disneyland, Anaheim, CA 92802   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #36 of 112 Hotels in Anaheim
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good Family Hotel and Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

While advertised as a "block from Disneyland" is a bit of a stretch it is certainly walkable. We met up with our young family staying at the Disneyland Hotel which is a 10Minute walk. We altered between walking and taking the Monorail just outside the Disneyland Hotel. The Holiday sells park admittance at a discount which you must have before boarding the Monorail. Now for the Pros, The Hotel itself is clean. We had a renovated room on the main floor. The furnishings were not that far off Hilton or Starwood standard. The beds are comfortable with a choice of pillow softness is provided. The toilet is separate from the sink area which is a generous size providing ample room for toiletry kits, etc. The shampoo etc is from Bed and Bath. The TV is a flat screen LG. Ample drawer and closet space is provided with a functional desk. The Ice Machine is behind a door at the end of the hall behind a door at the end of the hall. The hotel is quiet and has a gift shop. The front desk and lobby areas are a good size and service from the front desk is provided with a smile and very prompt. The restaurant has a nice menu and is reasonably priced. For families, TV's are available in booths which we have not seen in our extensive travels prior to this. We did not use the pool however the area looks well maintained and we were told it was heated!

Families with small children may want to consider the shuttle (extra charge and not provided by the Holiday Inn), After a full day at the park it is likely to be well worth the cost.

We certainly recommend the hotel for both value and service and would definitely not hesitate to stay again.

Room Tip: Main floor room will save a wait for elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

781 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    314
    161
    59
    22
See reviews for
409
123
21
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ne england
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

had a three night stay at this hotel, we found it to clean and airy, the rooms were kept clean, the toilet and bathroom were tiny and showed a lot of wear and tear, the bottom of the toilet door was broken, and this stood out as you sat on the toilet, because the door was nearly touching your nose.Our room had a wonderful ground floor view of the car park.
Sorry to say, but the food was only fair, and service was poor, they kept running out of basics such as vanilla ice cream various puddings etc etc
But being so close to Disney, and down town Disney it excusable

Room Tip: ask for a pool view and miss out on the car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim (1 BLK/Disneyland), responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know about your time with us. I apologize for the condition of your bathroom door and we have our engineering department taking care of that. As with most hotels the ground floor rooms don't offer much in the way of scenery but we do hope you visit us again and let us do our best to put you on a higher floor. We are happy you enjoyed our location as it is one of the best in town for access to Downtown Disney and the "secret" park entrance at the monorail stop there.

Best regards,

Tom Van Winkle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We stayed here May 12-15, 2013 for a family vacation to Disneyland and California Adventure. The room was spacious enough for the 4 of us, with updated furniture, carpet and paint and was very clean and comfortable. Although the bathroom area which contains the toilet and shower was small, it was clean and manageable. The hotel is within walking distance to the Disney tram station (1 block down and 1 over). Although this HH doesn't offer free continental breakfast, the hotel restaurant, with a Disney theme, was nice with great service and we received coupons for a free kid's meal for each day of our visit. In fact, we received excellent service from all of the hotel staff who were very friendly and customer service oriented. There's even a little gift shop in the lobby. The hotel, pool area, gym and grounds are well kept. The jacuzzi was a nice treat after spending 10+ hours on our feet at the parks and our 3 year old granddaughter loved the pool. The hotel also offers free wi-fi. There is construction taking place on the north side of the site, I would recommend asking for a room on the south side, we stayed in building 3 on the first floor and didn't hear any of the construction. Hope this review is helpful!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Staying in this hotel greatly enhanced the enjoyment of our recent trip to Disneyland. Our family of seven, including two infants, arrived late at night and we were warmly greeted by Roy, who consistently gave us great customer service throught our stay! Lucy from the restaurant was very kind and she made sure we were all looked after. The food is very good and one afternoon the kitchen staff stayed longer so we could eat and that was certainly appreciated! All the servers were friendly and nice too! Our rooms were really clean and Maria D and all the other staff from housekeepimg for the third floor of the main building were friendly and very helpful. Three of our family members stayed on the fourth floor of another building and they were very happy with the housekeeping staff too. The convenience store was well stocked and the prices were reasonable. We loved the daily walk to Disneyland with the infants in their strollers, but we always took the bus back to the hotel at night and we enjoyed the convenience of being dropped off at our hotel door after a busy Disney day! We all can't wait to return to this hotel and we send our sincere thanks to all the staff, because everyone was pleasant, helpful and truly made our stay Magical!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim (1 BLK/Disneyland), responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you for choosing our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed yourself and hope to see you again soon!!

Sincerely,

Tom Van Winkle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

The hotel itself is located about 15 minutes walk to Disneyland. The room we had was clean, had a comfy bed, wifi and the basic necessities. We requested a bar fridge on arrival for our a room which was delivered promptly. We ate in the diner for breakfast most mornings and had dinner there most nights. The service was great and the food was well priced and tasty.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

the site says it's near Disneyland, but it is actually near ONLY for those Marathoners, Triathletes or the like, and especially not for those with little children who cannot walk the 15-20 walk...During the night, after having a long day at Disneyland, it is really very tiring to take that walk to the hotel and scary too coz of the dark, hardly-illuminated streets.,,,I suggest you either stay farther where you can take a taxi (as the taxi won't take us as passengers to somewhere "that" near) or stay at one of the more expensive hotels within the Territory of Disneyland...and there is no Free Parking for hotel guests who brought their own vehicle from out of state....they charged $10 per day! And there is no free hotel shuttle to transport guests from hotel to the theme park....which could have made it perfect...

Room Tip: if you have small kids who can't walk far after a long day at Disneyland, I wouldn't recomme...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim (1 BLK/Disneyland), responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay at our hotel. We are sorry that you didn't find our location suitable for your needs. The majority of our reviewers like our proximity to Downtown Disney and the park entrance there at the Monorail stop. Being away from the crowds and traffic on the east side of the resort area also is a big plus.

As with most full service hotels next to Disneyland, we do charge for parking. However, our $10 charge is at the lower end of the scale for hotels that do charge.

Thank you again for your review and for choosing our hotel.

Sincerely,

Tom Van Winkle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

alright, so it's a holiday, you pretty much know what to expect, normal US looking hotel room, a couple beds, a flat screen TV with cable and WiFi, standard amenities. The place wasn't dirty, but it also isn't clean, I guess it's safe to say it's starting to show some age, and they appear to be doing some modernization here and there, but not in the area of the hotel I was in anyway. Still for the price (around $120 with parking), and within walking distance to the Disney park area, it's a fair deal.
Here's some of the interesting things that happened to us, both good and bad, while at this property:
The first day, both elevators worked, and they dinged at each floor, the second day, only 1 elevator worked and the dinging had stopped (we found the ding, ding at each floor kind of unique). There was no reason given for the elevator to have stopped working, just a sign saying to use the other one, at the far end of the hall, so now 6 floors were all sharing the same one, kind of a busy item at that point.
You see the "1 BLK/Disneyland" in the title up there? well they use that everywhere, only problem is, it's actually TWENTY MINUTES to walk to the main entrance to either park, and about 15 minutes to Downtown Disney, and that is for myself, a fit 30 something. I'd say that is a big stretch to claim 1 block. So if you are not in decent shape, don't plan to walk to and from each day, at least not in any sort of decent time frame.
We had a weird set up where I payed cash for one night, and then used points for nights 2-3. I called and they were good enough to ensure that I'd stay in the same room the whole time which was nice.
The restaurant had a decent breakfast that wasn't overpriced.
Allegedly you can walk 10 minutes and get to the Disney parking lot and then take the tram from there, but no one told us about this, so we walked 20 minutes each way, would have been good if they had told us this. Also, would be nice to offer a shuttle bus every 20-30 minutes, I mean that is the main reason that 95% of your guests are there to begin with, even if it just dropped off at downtown disney, it would be awesome.
back to the 1 block thing, really? 1 block? in what universe is a 20 minute walk considered 1 block?

Room Tip: there is no view, so it doesn't really matter, i'd say closer to the elevator will save you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim (1 BLK/Disneyland), responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience at our hotel. We are a 15 minute walk to the park entrance at the Monorail stop at the entrance to Downtown Disney. This entrance is for ticket holders and pass holders only so please check with our front desk as we sell 2 and 3 day park hopper passes at a discount from maingate prices. We have completely re-done our exterior and are nearly finished replacing the furniture in the rooms. In addition we are adding a Splash Zone that will be great for kids. We do hope you will come and see us again to check out our improvements.

Sincerely,

Tom Van Winkle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim (1 BLK/Disneyland)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim (1 BLK/Disneyland)

Address: 1240 South Walnut, one block from Disneyland, Anaheim, CA 92802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in Anaheim
#31 Family Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim (1 BLK/Disneyland) 3*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our newly renovated property presents guests with a fun and modern art deco ambiance suitable for both business travelers and families alike. This amenities-rich, full-service hotel offers spacious guestrooms and suites at an affordable rate right in the heart of Orange County, adjacent to Disneyland®, Disney’s California Adventure®, Downtown Disney®, and with easy access to the Anaheim Convention Center, and many other Southern California attractions. Now welcoming small dogs!! A fee does apply. Make us your home away from home for your Rose Bowl or BCS Championship game vacation!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim (1 BLK/Disneyland) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Anaheim (1 Blk/Disneyland)
Holiday Inn Hotel Anaheim
Holiday Inn Anaheim
Anaheim Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim (1 BLK/Disneyland), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.