We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restful time was had by all.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim (1 BLK/Disneyland)

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim (1 BLK/Disneyland) to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim (1 BLK/Disneyland)
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1240 South Walnut, one block from Disneyland, Anaheim, CA 92802   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #29 of 111 hotels in Anaheim
Ilkeston Derbyshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Restful time was had by all.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel for two nights on a whirlwind tour of California and Arizona, it was a fantastic place to stay, staff were more than friendly, especially in the restaurant area, room very clean and comfortable, not far to walk down to Disney area, the only downside was that the bar and restaurant werent open during the early afternoon, such a shame that Titan Tours wont be calling there in the future, we would definitely go back independantly and would recommend it for adults and children alike!! thanks again.

Room Tip: Try to get a room over the pool area, has a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

717 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    215
    281
    143
    57
    21
See reviews for
378
111
18
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Just stayed here while at Disneyland. They claim to be close to the entrance, but it is pretty far to walk, and there is no free shuttle. It would be fair enough to pay for a shuttle, but you also have to pay for parking, and I just feel that this is a bit much.

We also had made a reservation for 3 adults, for which we were charged an extra $10 when making the reservation. Then, at the front desk, they claimed that we had to pay an additional $10. We just needed to move on, so we agreed, but this was a shady way to begin the stay.

Now, onto the room. We had a suite. It was very spacious and the bedroom had doors, which was great for us with our almost-2-year-old. HOWEVER, we had to wait for them to deliver a crib (even though we requested in advance). Argh.

The beds had inexplicably small pillows on them (smaller than the ones on my couch at home). We all had a terrible night's sleep. WHOSE IDEA WAS IT TO USE MICROPILLOWS?

Finally - the kids eat free / breakfast included business. We did receive vouchers for "free" breakfast, for us and our LO. When we got there, there was a buffet, so we figured this was the "free" breakfast. There was a $3 surcharge for the buffet. WHAT? If it's "free" breakfast, let it be FREE breakfast. Also, for the record, the buffet was gross, so just order off the menu - at least this is actually free.

There were many little confusing and irritating things at this hotel that added up to an unpleasant stay. Don't recommend staying here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim (1 BLK/Disneyland), responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear AmyMCLA,

Thank you for your review of your stay at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim (1 BLK/Disneyland). I am sorry you did not find our hotel to your liking. All of our reviews are evaluated by management, and your review is no exception. Your feedback is very important to us as this assists us in continually improving the services and facilities we have to offer to our guests. Thank you again for your comments. Your business is valued and we hope your future travel plans will continue to include IHG properties.

Regards,

Brenda J.
eMedia Coordinator
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Hotel stay was wonderful! Clean rooms that are upgraded and large, felt comfortable with family of three older siblings and myself.

The restaurant food was great and priced well.

Helpful staff, never ran into any issues.

My only complaint about the hotel (which is not something they can control) is the location. While the location is *technically* a block away, it is actually situated in an odd location to the theme parks where the main entrance is not close at all. if you are traveling with small kids, I can see the walk back to the hotel at night being not enjoyable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

This being our 3rd trip to Disneyland in the last 4 years, we were looking forward to staying at the Holiday Inn Hotel as it billed itself as very close to the theme park...it's not! With 3 kids in tow it is a long 20 minute walk to the Disneyland entrance. There is apparently a shuttle, however they actually charge guests to use it. The hotel is located next to a postal depot center and across from a residential neighborhood, in other words in the middle of no-where. There are no restaurants (other than the one in the hotel), and no services. The hotel itself was OK, however with only 1 small elevator (we stayed on the 4th floor) the wait was ridiculous, especially with luggage when we tried to check out at 8:00am. The pool was small and did not allow a lot of sunshine, as it is shaded by the hotel. The rooms were clean, but hardly enough to make us return. We previously stayed a the Camelot Inn on Katella Street and found that location far superior. If you are planning a family holiday to Disneyland, I would not recommend staying at this hotel.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim (1 BLK/Disneyland), responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear James O,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the proximity of the hotel to the park was not as expected. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Our mistake for booking here as we had no intention of visiting Disneyland. So location is not convenient for much else. The hotel is good. Our room was very comfortable and clean. The pool area is quite relaxing. Restaurant is average and adequate for this style of hotel. If you are a Disney fan, this hotel is family friendly and the location is ideal.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim (1 BLK/Disneyland), responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We do agree that being the closest non-Disney hotel to the only park entrance outside of the main gate is perfect for visiting Disneyland. Many of our guests that don't go to Disneyland also like the fact we are on the quiet side of the park rather than the congested area of Harbor and Katella streets. So we hope you choose us again next time you are in the area. We'd love to see you again!

Best regards,

Tom Van Winkle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I requested the crib for my little one like a month ago but when I arrived they said I didn't requested.OMG! Not close to the park and yes, no mini fridge! My kids need to take medicine and need a fridge to keep the medicine! As the other people said, the pillow is terrible!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim (1 BLK/Disneyland), responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay with us. We are embarrassed about not having your crib ready for you when you got here and we have put better procedures in place to make sure this doesn't happen again. We do have a limited number of fridges and microwaves available and I am sorry we didn't have one for you and your family.

Thank you again for letting us know what happened.

Sincerely,

Tom Van Winkle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

The hotel was very reasonably priced (even a little cheap), so my expectations were low. I have to say that I was impressed. The room was clean and comfortable, plenty of space for my family of four. The onsite restaurant was clean and well priced too. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim (1 BLK/Disneyland), responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad you stayed with us and hope to see you again soon!

Best regards,

Tom Van Winkle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim (1 BLK/Disneyland)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim (1 BLK/Disneyland)

Address: 1240 South Walnut, one block from Disneyland, Anaheim, CA 92802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Anaheim
#28 Family Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim (1 BLK/Disneyland) 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our newly renovated property presents guests with a fun and modern art deco ambiance suitable for both business travelers and families alike. This amenities-rich, full-service hotel offers spacious guestrooms and suites at an affordable rate right in the heart of Orange County, adjacent to Disneyland®, Disney’s California Adventure®, Downtown Disney®, and with easy access to the Anaheim Convention Center, and many other Southern California attractions. Now welcoming small dogs!! A fee does apply. Make us your home away from home for your Rose Bowl or BCS Championship game vacation!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Orbitz, Travelocity, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim (1 BLK/Disneyland) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Anaheim (1 Blk/Disneyland)
Holiday Inn Hotel Anaheim
Holiday Inn Anaheim
Anaheim Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim (1 BLK/Disneyland), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.