We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Friendly Hotel - Location Not Ideal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim (1 BLK/Disneyland)

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim (1 BLK/Disneyland) to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim (1 BLK/Disneyland)
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1240 South Walnut, one block from Disneyland, Anaheim, CA 92802   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #41 of 115 Hotels in Anaheim
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
“Clean, Friendly Hotel - Location Not Ideal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Hotel stay was wonderful! Clean rooms that are upgraded and large, felt comfortable with family of three older siblings and myself.

The restaurant food was great and priced well.

Helpful staff, never ran into any issues.

My only complaint about the hotel (which is not something they can control) is the location. While the location is *technically* a block away, it is actually situated in an odd location to the theme parks where the main entrance is not close at all. if you are traveling with small kids, I can see the walk back to the hotel at night being not enjoyable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

905 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    371
    179
    67
    26
See reviews for
485
135
25
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

This being our 3rd trip to Disneyland in the last 4 years, we were looking forward to staying at the Holiday Inn Hotel as it billed itself as very close to the theme park...it's not! With 3 kids in tow it is a long 20 minute walk to the Disneyland entrance. There is apparently a shuttle, however they actually charge guests to use it. The hotel is located next to a postal depot center and across from a residential neighborhood, in other words in the middle of no-where. There are no restaurants (other than the one in the hotel), and no services. The hotel itself was OK, however with only 1 small elevator (we stayed on the 4th floor) the wait was ridiculous, especially with luggage when we tried to check out at 8:00am. The pool was small and did not allow a lot of sunshine, as it is shaded by the hotel. The rooms were clean, but hardly enough to make us return. We previously stayed a the Camelot Inn on Katella Street and found that location far superior. If you are planning a family holiday to Disneyland, I would not recommend staying at this hotel.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim (1 BLK/Disneyland), responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear James O,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the proximity of the hotel to the park was not as expected. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Our mistake for booking here as we had no intention of visiting Disneyland. So location is not convenient for much else. The hotel is good. Our room was very comfortable and clean. The pool area is quite relaxing. Restaurant is average and adequate for this style of hotel. If you are a Disney fan, this hotel is family friendly and the location is ideal.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim (1 BLK/Disneyland), responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We do agree that being the closest non-Disney hotel to the only park entrance outside of the main gate is perfect for visiting Disneyland. Many of our guests that don't go to Disneyland also like the fact we are on the quiet side of the park rather than the congested area of Harbor and Katella streets. So we hope you choose us again next time you are in the area. We'd love to see you again!

Best regards,

Tom Van Winkle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I requested the crib for my little one like a month ago but when I arrived they said I didn't requested.OMG! Not close to the park and yes, no mini fridge! My kids need to take medicine and need a fridge to keep the medicine! As the other people said, the pillow is terrible!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim (1 BLK/Disneyland), responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay with us. We are embarrassed about not having your crib ready for you when you got here and we have put better procedures in place to make sure this doesn't happen again. We do have a limited number of fridges and microwaves available and I am sorry we didn't have one for you and your family.

Thank you again for letting us know what happened.

Sincerely,

Tom Van Winkle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

The hotel was very reasonably priced (even a little cheap), so my expectations were low. I have to say that I was impressed. The room was clean and comfortable, plenty of space for my family of four. The onsite restaurant was clean and well priced too. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim (1 BLK/Disneyland), responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad you stayed with us and hope to see you again soon!

Best regards,

Tom Van Winkle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We checked into the hotel and were very impressed with the welcome we received from the front desk staff. When we went to the room, however we had to dodge construction that is currently underway at the hotel. Once in the room my daughter sat down on the floor to take offs her shoes and found herself sitting in a large puddle of what smelled suspiciously like urine. We were offered another room but that left us even further away from the front door. On the morning we decided to sleep in we were woken by construction noise. On the issue if sleep the beds were quite comfortable but the pillows were weird squares, stuffed with hard squares of foam-nasty.

The location is not exactly close to the gates of the park. We have no problem walking but found the walk longer than the advertised 1 block. It is one long block to the entrance of the Disney parking area then 3 blocks to downtown Disney, then 10 more minutes to the front gate. I had booked HoJo and regret the change but the deal I got on Hotwire seemed worth it at the time of booking.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim (1 BLK/Disneyland), responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for telling us about how your stay went. We do apologize for the leak in your room and I assure you it was fixed. Our walk time time to the park entrance is averaging 12 to 15 minutes and that is the most convenient way to enter the park at the Monorail stop there if you already have tickets or passes. With our exterior painting nearly complete, we do hope you would reconsider trying us again. Please feel free to call me directly at the hotel if I can be of any further assistance.

Sincerely,

Tom Van Winkle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Paula, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

I took cash w/out thinking to pay for my room. Yes, dumb I know better than that and of course it caused a problem at check-in. Instead of giving me a minute to figure things out, the man at the front desk asked me if I wanted him to call another hotel. If it weren't for other people in our group being checked in I definitely would've have gone to another hotel! After figuring things out, I went back to the hotel expecting to have to deal w the same man and was not too happy but thank goodness I was greeted with a smile by another staff member. What an awesome, awesome person he is! His name was Victor. He was so respectful, he helped me get all checked in and treated my family and I like royalty. Every hotel needs staff members like him! Thanks to Victor, he made our stay a much happier one!

The Restaurant was good, the kids loved it and loved the TVs at the table. Every staff member we came across in the restauant were so friendly and so helpful.

The Walk to Disney was cold and a little far for younger kids after a long day at Disneyland but not too bad for adults and older kids.

My husband and I used the fitness area, it was neat and clean. The hotel is a little outdated but clean. The pillows were terrible. I didn't like to have to pay to park and I also didn't like that the shuttle service to Disneyland was not free.

Would we stay here again? Yes, we probably would. :)

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim (1 BLK/Disneyland), responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us. We are glad everyone had a good time and we hope to see you again soon! I've also given Victor kudos for a job well done and I appreciate you letting me know how he performed.

Tom Van Winkle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.8 mi away
Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground
1.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
#2 of 115 in Anaheim
4.5 of 5 stars 592 reviews
1.1 mi away
Castle Inn and Suites
Castle Inn and Suites
#12 of 115 in Anaheim
4.0 of 5 stars 1,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Comfort Inn & Suites Anaheim, Disneyland Resort
0.6 mi away
Disneyland Hotel
Disneyland Hotel
#10 of 115 in Anaheim
4.5 of 5 stars 1,771 reviews
1.7 mi away
Stanford Inn & Suites
Stanford Inn & Suites
#14 of 115 in Anaheim
4.0 of 5 stars 886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim (1 BLK/Disneyland)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim (1 BLK/Disneyland)

Address: 1240 South Walnut, one block from Disneyland, Anaheim, CA 92802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#34 Family Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim (1 BLK/Disneyland) 3*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our newly renovated property presents guests with a fun and modern art deco ambiance suitable for both business travelers and families alike. This amenities-rich, full-service hotel offers spacious guestrooms and suites at an affordable rate right in the heart of Orange County, adjacent to Disneyland(R), Disney's California Adventure(R), Downtown Disney(R), and with easy access to the Anaheim Convention Center, and many other Southern California attractions. Now welcoming small dogs!! A fee does apply. Book our 60th Anniversary package and receive a $60 food and beverage credit during your stay. (One $60 credit voucher per stay) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Hotwire, BookIt.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim (1 BLK/Disneyland) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Anaheim (1 Blk/Disneyland)
Holiday Inn Hotel Anaheim
Holiday Inn Anaheim
Anaheim Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim (1 BLK/Disneyland), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.