We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel and Price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim (1 BLK/Disneyland)

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim (1 BLK/Disneyland) to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim (1 BLK/Disneyland)
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1240 South Walnut, one block from Disneyland, Anaheim, CA 92802   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save up to 25%
Ranked #27 of 111 hotels in Anaheim
Palm Springs, California
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great Hotel and Price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

I stayed here when I went to Disneyland. location was excellent. I walked to Disneyland in about 20 minutes. You can Take the ART shuttle from the hotel to Disneyland if you want. If you are a senior pay when you ride instead of buying a $5 pass as it only costs $1 one way and you save a lot of money. The hotel staff was great and very helpful and courteous. Rooms were great and I paid a lot less than one of the other hotels in the area. I do not generally stay at Holiday Inns but this was nice and I would consider it again. Parking is $10 per day at the hotel. Rooms were nice and service was everyday. Great place to sleep and refresh after a day at Disneyland. Hotel restaurant was a little expensive however.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

670 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    202
    261
    134
    54
    19
See reviews for
349
103
18
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Walnut Creek, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We rented two rooms here for under $100 each per night. parking is $10 per car, and wifi is free.
Overall the property was clean, staff were friendly, and there was a pool and hot tub.
If you are looking for a family friendly place to stay, get out early to the parks, and have a place to let the kids splash in the pool before bed, it's hard to go wrong with this place.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rushden
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
104 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

This is an excellent hotel It is within walking distance of Disney. There is a convenience store and a Mexican Restaurant at the nearby service station. Other than these, you need a car. We were on a bus tour and felt remote. You can get a pick up bus to three beaches whicfjh weerre interesting.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Huge suite with kitchenette that had coffee machine, fridge & microwave. Both rooms had large flat screen televisions so kids didn't have to watch CNN and we didn't have to watch Cartoon Connection. Staff were friendly and helpful. Quiet, peaceful place to rest after a big day at Disneyland. Would definitely book again.

Room Tip: Room has no utensils or plates so kitchen was not used as much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
179 helpful votes 179 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

This is only geared toward Disneyland guests.

This is the 3rd Anaheim property we have stayed at in 5 weeks, and this is easily the best choice by far...as long as you don't pay too much. The price for us was great (Hotwire) and the $10 parking is okay.

We stayed in a 2 queen room. Everything was clean, quiet, and comfortable. The staff was excellent. We arrived at 8am to 'pre-check-in' (just to secure a specific room, get a parking pass and leave for the day). They upgraded our room and checked us in early. I didn't expect that and it was a great surprise. This property is geared toward families, and the staff knows why they would want to stay here. They meet the expectations perfectly. The pool was super warm and nice. Everything was just perfect for us.

The gripes are few, but here they are. The elevator was super slow. There is no free breakfast. There is no free parking. The benefits for Disney families outweigh these by far.

Tips for getting into the park: I took a lot of time over 3 days trying all options, and I want to share, because the other reviews were very inaccurate regarding walk distance/time, etc.

1) Walk to the Mickey & Friends parking tram: it is .6 miles from the lobby to the tram and takes 8 to 12 minutes, depending on your walking ability. You may have to wait up to 15 minutes for your turn on a tram if it's peak arrival or departure time. The tram takes about 4 minutes. Total travel time with a .6 mile walk: 16 to 32 minutes to the entrance.

2) Walk to the Downtown Disney Monorail station: it is .75 miles from the lobby to the Monorail and takes 11 to 16 minutes, depending on your walking ability. You may have to wait up to 25 minutes for your turn on the Monorail if it's peak arrival or departure time. The monorail stops running 30 minutes before Disneyland closes. The Monorail takes about 5 minutes and drops you in Tomorrowland, not the park entrance. Total travel time with a .75 mile walk: 22 to 46 minutes to Tomorrowland.

3) Walk to Entrance via Magic Way and tram route (sidewalk next to it): it is .9 miles from the lobby to the entrance and takes 12 to 18 minutes, depending on your walking ability. If you walk through Downtown Disney, it is longer, but not by much: Total travel time with a .9 mile walk: 12 to 18 minutes.

4) Parking at Disneyland: A waste of time and $$. Not worth the review.

5) ART shuttle bus: Door to entrance is about 5 -7 minutes, and runs every 20 minutes. Cost is $5/day (age 10+) and $2 day (age 3-9), with multi-day passes that save just a little bit. If you just can't walk another step, go to the kiosk in the bus area (against the hedges to the NE) and pay up for a ride to the hotel.

6) Jenks option: we didn't mean to do this, but it worked rather well, so I'm sharing it: Drive the family to the McDonalds on Harbor Dr just outside the east entrance where all the buses go in. Get breakfast, send them into the park while the Superman of the family drives back to the hotel and chooses another option to get him/herself to the entrance. Choose this for ultimate savings for breakfast and avoiding shuttle costs. Choose this if your family will wait in the gate line for you before opening and you are quick enough to join them in line.

We will return here, after trying other properties. We are looking for the perfect Disneyland property with short walking distance or free shuttle, free parking, free breakfast, 2 queens, and super comfy beds, all at a low price. If we don't find any that meet the criteria better than the Holiday Inn, we will be very excited to return to this wonderful Hotel.

Room Tip: Slow elevator, so choose lower rooms and take the stairs if you are in a hurry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Our family of 4 stayed here for 5 nights in October. We found the hotel room was very clean and a decent size for our family (kids were able to play mini-stick hockey in the room).

We routinely walked from here to Disneyland with both kids (3 year old in a stroller). It was an easy walk for us and we enjoyed the quietness compared walking down Harbour Blvd. A few days we did ride the monorail in to Disneyland which was great, we saved waiting in the line-up at the entrance and we didn't have to walk through downtown disney.

One day we rode the ART to disneyland and on to the Outlets at Orange. The front desk staff were awesome and giving us schedules and information and we were able to purchase tickets through them as well.

The service at this hotel is amazing! They were always welcoming and offering to help where they could.

We ate a number of meals in the restaurant, mostly because of the kids eat free special. The meals were good, although be prepared that it is very busy in the morning. The food was good.

The kids swam in the pool everyday and one evening we had a pizza with another family on the pool deck. The deck area is a nice size, with lots of tables and chairs, so it was easy for us to all sit around a relax.

There was a gas station with a mini-store a very short walk from the hotel where we were able to buy snacks and drinks for our room at a very reasonable rate.

We always felt safe walking the streets around the hotel even very late at night with the children.

The only thing missing from the hotel room was a mini-fridge. we did bring a soft-sided cooler which we kept filled with ice, but a fridge would have been great.

We would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

we booked and confirmed a king bed room - upon check in after our group of friends we discovered it was a twin share room with double beds (they say queen but they're hardly queen size).

advised them of this and they said they moved us to be closer to our other friends upon check in and in the meantime (2 hours) the other king room had gone to someone else.

Not being happy with this we then wanted an upgrade to anything else available and were told nothing in hotel is available but the twin rooms - then spoke to another person at the property and i was told sorry but the King room isn't available due to a maintenance issue and the engineers won't allow it to be let out to guests - however we have a queen suite available (thought there were none available) - anyways a long story short.

They will book you a king room (as one of our other friends did) to secure your booking, then when you turn up it's not available and you get a few different stories.

other than this the hotel was a great place to stay - location is great, cleanliness was good, food from restaurant was great value and pool area was great too - just a shame about the initial experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim (1 BLK/Disneyland)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim (1 BLK/Disneyland)

Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Anaheim (1 Blk/Disneyland)
Holiday Inn Hotel Anaheim
Holiday Inn Anaheim
Anaheim Holiday Inn
Address: 1240 South Walnut, one block from Disneyland, Anaheim, CA 92802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Anaheim
#25 Family Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim (1 BLK/Disneyland) 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our newly renovated property presents guests with a fun and modern art deco ambiance suitable for both business travelers and families alike. This amenities-rich, full-service hotel offers spacious guestrooms and suites at an affordable rate right in the heart of Orange County, adjacent to Disneyland®, Disney’s California Adventure®, Downtown Disney®, and with easy access to the Anaheim Convention Center, and many other Southern California attractions. Now welcoming small dogs!! A fee does apply. Make us your home away from home for your Rose Bowl or BCS Championship game vacation!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim (1 BLK/Disneyland) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim (1 BLK/Disneyland), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.