We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Candy Cane Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Anaheim
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Candy Cane Inn
Save
You added Candy Cane Inn to your Saves list
1747 South Harbor Blvd., Anaheim, CA 92802   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 115 Hotels in Anaheim
Tarrytown, NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2005

We stayed at the CCI based on these reviews and we were not disappointed. It was clean, close to Disneyland (close enough to walk
with a 4 & 7 yr. old). The breakfast buffet was perfect for the kids and
also satisfying for my husband and I. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,462
    647
    142
    54
    41
See reviews for
1,393
283
24
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (416)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Or
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2005

The beds were comfortable, there was a separate vanity outside the bathroom which was nice, and it had a great pool and hot tub. It's in a perfect location near Disneyland, yet quiet. The staff is friendly and helpful too. The continental breakfast consisted of rolls, bagels, toast, cereal, juice, fruit, and coffee. The shuttle was always on time. Good place to stay!

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tahoe, Nevada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2005

We just returned from a stay at the Candy Cane Inn. Although we have been to Disneyland several times we had never heard of this property but decided to try it based on all the positive Tripadvisor reviews. We were not disappointed. Check in staff were helpful and friendly and had reserved the second floor premium room we had booked. We had booked an AAA rate but had unfortunately left our AAA card at home however they were happy to let us have the rate we had booked anyway. ($139 + tax) On arrival in our room there was a friendly personalised welcome note and a bucket containing cookies and popcorn.

The room was very clean and pleasantly decorated although smaller than we had expected based on the website description. It felt cramped even with three people so I am glad we had not reserved one of the even smaller standard rooms. The refrigerator and microwave in the room are a plus if travelling with small children.

As part of the premium room package a breakfast basket is delivered to your room but we elected to go down for breakfast. The continental breakfast was pretty good with a nice selection of bagels, pastries and muffins, toast and fresh fruit as well as juice and coffee. I agree with other reviewers that you have to go down early however if you want to get a seat as the breakfast area is very small. We were down there at 7am and only just got a table.

The free half hourly Disneyland shuttle was a bonus however it is an easy walk to the park if you don't want to wait. We took the shuttle half the time and walked the rest.

We didn't get a chance to use the pool area but it seemed very small for the number of guests catered to and it was always crowded when we walked by. We were however very happy with our experience at the Candy Cane Inn. This property sets the standard for accommodation in the area AT ANY PRICE. We have stayed in other much more expensive hotels in the area and not had this level of customer service and cleanliness. I would question their describing themselves as a "boutique hotel" on their website... what this is is a beautifully landscaped, very clean motel. We will definitely be staying here again on return visits and will be recommending the Candy Cane Inn to anyone looking for Disneyland accommodation

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beavercreek, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2005

Four of us in our fifties and sixties attended Disneyland for a week to enjoy the 50th celebration and its honorary inclusion into AARP membership. The Candy Cane Inn was home for us seven nights to sleep, lounge, and consume their breakfast. What a great place! You can believe the reviews you read. They are really true.

First, the landscaping is beautiful, particularly at breakfast by the pool. The guys around the place are constantly trimming and cleaning the grounds. The vines hanging from the balconeys give it a European look of a villa somewhere. You won't be disappointed.

The rooms are first rate. Clean everywhere. My wife pointed out the grout in the tiles in the bathroom, "Do you know how hard it is to keep it that clean?" Candy Cane strives for a clean room. My wife was impressed.

The decor is very tasty inside. The shutters add a charm I've never seen at any hotel in the U.S.. The armoire is stately and matches well the oversized headboards on the queen beds.

The extended continental breakfast was more than adequate for our daily needs. I liked the blueberry bagels with strawberry cream cheese the best.

The service was excellent. They helped us from early check in to the day we checked out with answers to our questions with a friendly attitude.

Finally, the price. We paid $92 a night on AAA rates. Not bad considering the breakfast and free shuttles that run on the half hour. We will definitely return to the Candy Cane with all enthusiasm!


dennis

Stayed August 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, Ca.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2005

We stayed at Candy Cane Inn the first of August when we went to L.A. to celebrate Disneyland's 50th Anniv. - our first stay, but definitely will not be the last. A delightful stay! We chose this motel because of all the good reviews on TripAdvisor.....and found all of them to be true! The rooms were immaculate, spacey, comfortable, and the small refrigerator is a plus. But the most delightful are the quaint, charming grounds. Lots of shade (our car was parked in shade the entire day we were at Disneyland), well cared for lush folage everywhere, many beautiful hanging baskets of blooming flowers (see my pics). The pool is a bit small, but was never overcrowded the times we were out there. There is also a jacuzzi and child's pool. We enjoyed the continental breakfast, and even with the large crowd eating before they were off to Disneyland, the attendants kept everything quickly and quietly stocked. We found all the staff to be friendly....a older gentleman (wish I'd gotten his name) stopped by to chat as we were packing up to leave. He not only inquired how our stay was, but related some interesting history behind the motel. The walk (shady street) to the front gate of Disneyland was just at 8 minutes. Overall, a very satisfying, one-of-a-kind stay!

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2005

We stayed at this hotel on August 5, 2005. Room was extremely clean. Front desk was very helpful. We were in the room on the first floor right next to housekeeping and we were very impressed that we didn't hear any noises from the washing machines. Quiet room. Very nice free breakfast in the mornings by the pool. Private shuttle service was always on time. The hotel is about 10 minute walk or less to Disneyland entrance. Would definitely stay here again and recommened to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRENHAM
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2005

Returning to Disneyland for the 50th anniversary required a must stay back at Candy Cane (with two small children in '93). Again, the staff was friendly, the rooms spacious (we chose the larger) and clean, the breakfast wonderful. Since we were adults this trip (teenager) we were on the second floor and away from the pool. Pool was nice especially after a long day at the park. It seriously IS a 5 minute walk to the park entrance or you can ride the free shuttle, especially at the end of a long day in the park. Candy Cane is on the same side of the road as the park, so you don't even have to cross the road to enter! And, you can see the fireworks from the second story balcony if need be.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.6 mi away
Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground
0.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
#2 of 115 in Anaheim
4.5 of 5 stars 589 reviews
0.6 mi away
Disneyland Hotel
Disneyland Hotel
#9 of 115 in Anaheim
4.5 of 5 stars 1,768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Castle Inn and Suites
Castle Inn and Suites
#12 of 115 in Anaheim
4.0 of 5 stars 1,100 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ayres Hotel Anaheim
Ayres Hotel Anaheim
#1 of 115 in Anaheim
4.5 of 5 stars 1,452 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Park Place Inn - Mini Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candy Cane Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candy Cane Inn

Address: 1747 South Harbor Blvd., Anaheim, CA 92802
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Anaheim
#2 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#2 Best Value Hotel in Anaheim
#18 Business Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 171
Also Known As:
Candy Cane Hotel Anaheim
Candy Cane Inn Anaheim
Candy Cane Anaheim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candy Cane Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.