We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful family hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Candy Cane Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Anaheim
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Candy Cane Inn
Save
You added Candy Cane Inn to your Saves list
1747 South Harbor Blvd., Anaheim, CA 92802   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 115 Hotels in Anaheim
santa monica
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“wonderful family hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2005

our family is going back to the candy cane inn..we can not wait..this hotel is the BEST.the location is a short walk to disneyland or you can hop on the candy canes free shuttle.(check the times)...my 3 year old loved the shuttle the drivers were very helpful and nice...the food in the morning was a great way to start your day get there early...our room was very clean and comfortable .the front desk will always direct you in any direction you need to go restaurants,shopping.ect...i have stayed at the disneyland hotel and love it ..but i will be going back to the candy cane inn....you can not beat the location ,price,and excellent service....we live in california (santa monica)....about 40 miles away but staying at this hotel is a wonderful family getaway..

Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,460
    647
    142
    54
    41
See reviews for
1,392
282
24
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (415)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2005

we just came back today after five days with our 3 and 6 year old sons...our first visit to disneyland...we found candy cane inn to be just as described online..we booked a package through aaa including airfare.they could only book us a standard room.after calling candy cane inn directly,we were able to upgrade to a premium room with no problem. i also was able to send a box ups with the kids snacks etc.with no problem...the swimming pools were perfect for us.we enjoyed the breakfast..which always came at the time we designated..the room was always made early.the front desk recommended that you call them when you're ready to leave in the a.m. and housekeeping will be there early..the shuttle was excellant to...don't forget to ask for your candy cane pen!!!!

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2005

We just came back from two nights at the Candy Cane Inn. While it is a nice place, advertising it as a “luxury boutique hotel” is not accurate – it is an older u-shaped motel court that has been remodeled but is still a motel. We reserved a premium room, which was nicely decorated, but its one window looked out on the parking lot and it was very, very small for two adults and a teenager. I don’t think it was worth the extra money. The mattress was lumpy and you could feel the coils – my husband could not get comfortable and tossed and turned all night.

One advantage of the premium rooms though is a 2 pm checkout time, which allowed us to go to Disneyland on the final morning of our stay and return around 1 pm to check out and get to the airport without having to move our car. Another plus was the excellent bus service to and from the park. Even though it is within walking distance, it was very nice to take the bus at the end of the day. The drivers were prompt and courteous. It was quiet there at night and the staff was very accommodating. Their website, however, is definitely misleading regarding the boutique hotel description!

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2005

My Husband, Daughter and I stayed at the Candy Cane Inn while visiting DL in early May. The hotel is beautiful from the moment you drive in. We stayed in a standard room, which was ample space, and very nice. The room smelled great, not like most hotels where you enter and you can tell the thousands that have been there before you. The landscaping and flowers are breath taking. We we close enough to walk to DL and didn't feel like you walked forever! The free shuttle is a great option if you exhausted. The complementry breakfast is great too! POOL SIDE! The pool was nice and the hot tub great after a long day at DL. I will only stay here on my return trips!!! A+++++ Hotel!!

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2005

We've just returned from a weeks stay at the Candy Cane Inn.
We stayed in a standard room with 2 queen beds. The room was a bit small for a family of four but we did fine due to the fact that we didn't spend much time in it.
The grounds were beautiful ~ loved all of the flowers!
I agree that the continental breakfast is a huge plus....although we tired of it after seven days of the same thing (as would be expected).
Disney is a very easy walk (with an 8 yr old and a 5 yr old), we utilized the shuttle only a few times due to tired little feet and sleepiness at days end.
We also enjoyed the evening fireworks display from our room.
A couple of issues, but not big ones...
Our room was never supplied with hand lotion. With my first inquiry at the front desk, I was told that the hotel didn't supply lotion. Then when I returned to try and purchase some in the gift shop, they didn't have any and told me that there should be some in the room. At this point the front desk did supply some lotion for me and indicated it should be in the room every day (which never did occur).
The second issue occurred the following day after requesting the lotion (a coincidence?!) was that our room was never cleaned. We returned to the room around 7 pm and were told that all the housekeeping staff had left, thus nothing could be done other than to supply us with clean towels.
Even with these two issues, our stay was very pleasant and I would stay here again.
Why? The price is right, the grounds are beautiful, the location is great, decent continental breakfast, shuttle service, the close proximity to stores and restaurants, etc...

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmichael, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2005

My husband, son and I stayed at the Candy Cane Inn for 4 nights while staying in Anaheim to visit Disneyland earlier this month. I chose this hotel from reading all the wonderful reviews on this website, and was very glad I did!!
The lush grounds are absolutely beautiful and very resort like. The pool was always nice and warm with nice people to meet and talk to. My son, who is 4 years old, love the fact that after a full day at Disneyland was able to go swimming at night, so we had one tired child by bedtime.
The beds were very nice and comfortable, except the pillows were a little difficult to sleep with. Woke up with a stiff neck.
The breakfast in the mornings were great!! One less meal to pay for! The display was very nice with large baskets of muffins, bagels and fruit. Also had some toasters to toast your bagles, bread or danish. They had a nice bar outside with coffee and cereal.
The staff was wonderful, everyone had a smile on their faces and very helpful. Our room was cleaned in the morning and they washed everything down outside including picking up the mats in front of the door. Also saw them exchanging the filters for the air conditioners. Nice!!
The bathroom was a little tight, but no big deal. They had a nice little box filled with shampoo, conditioner, cream, nail file too! Plenty of space to put your stuff in the drawers and closet. And having a refrigerator in the room was wonderful! Especially with a child!!
I would recommend the Candy Cane Inn to anyone!! Very nice and definately worth the price!! I would stay there again in a heartbeat! Made the trip so much nicer and the distance from the hotel to the park was wonderful. Also had some nice restaurants near by, if you didn't want to eat in the park. Tony Romas, Denny's, IHOP and of course McDonalds.
No need to use your car for anything, especially since they had their own shuttle to the park which was very nice too.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2005

We just stayed at the CCI For 6 nights with our two small children. Upon arriving, it was everything I hoped it would be. The landscaping is amazing and beautiful. Our room was just a standard room and it was no problem, our room was cleaned every day and did a great job. We used the pool every afternoon and it was great. The breakfast was much better than most complimentary breakfasts we have had in the past. The front desk people are so - so. They do not make you feel special or overly excited to greet or help you out, but the rest of the stay was very excellent, I would refer this place to all our friends. We did stay on the second floor and would recommend that to all because you did not hear any traffic or people walking by. At night we could see the fireworks if you are facing the park. Request it!

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.6 mi away
Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground
0.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
#2 of 115 in Anaheim
4.5 of 5 stars 587 reviews
0.6 mi away
Disneyland Hotel
Disneyland Hotel
#9 of 115 in Anaheim
4.5 of 5 stars 1,765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Castle Inn and Suites
Castle Inn and Suites
#12 of 115 in Anaheim
4.0 of 5 stars 1,098 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ayres Hotel Anaheim
Ayres Hotel Anaheim
#1 of 115 in Anaheim
4.5 of 5 stars 1,449 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Park Place Inn - Mini Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candy Cane Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candy Cane Inn

Address: 1747 South Harbor Blvd., Anaheim, CA 92802
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Anaheim
#2 Family Hotel in Anaheim
#2 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#19 Business Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 171
Also Known As:
Candy Cane Hotel Anaheim
Candy Cane Inn Anaheim
Candy Cane Anaheim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candy Cane Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.