We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great discount hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Candy Cane Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Anaheim
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Candy Cane Inn
Save
You added Candy Cane Inn to your Saves list
1747 South Harbor Blvd., Anaheim, CA 92802   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 115 Hotels in Anaheim
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great discount hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We felt very comfortable and at home - pool area is small and intimate, so the kids met some new friends. Unfortunatly room was also small and intimate... very squishy for family of 5. But, who hangs out in their room when disney is just a 15 minute walk to the turnstiles!

Had read service was particualry great, but front desk staff wasn't super welcoming when we arrived, lots of chatter with each other and not with us. Went up to front desk again on second day and gal asked me if I was checking in... not really paying attention (I was in my bathing suit looking for another room key). Spoke to housekeeping about getting our room clean each day by noon (we come back for afternoon) and it wasn't passed on so we came back to disaster. They fixed that the next day though. Our bathtub wasn't draining and they fixed it almost immediately

Issues were minor when compared to overall experience - very pretty hotel with flowers etc. Very clean. Great price. We would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff H, General Manager at Candy Cane Inn, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and providing your valuable feedback. I am extremely apologetic for the incident that you noted, as Guest Service is of the upmost importance to us here at the Candy Cane Inn. I have attempted to reach you through the TripAdvisor email system however have not heard back and wanted to respond. We do listen to our guests and I wanted you to know I have spoken to our Front Office team and used your comments as a training topic. While we never want to disappoint our Guest’s, we do value these opportunities to continue to train and grow our guest service. Please feel free to contact me personally when returning as it would be my pleasure to assist with rates and reservations. Kind regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,463
    647
    142
    54
    42
See reviews for
1,393
285
24
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (416)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We just returned home from another terrific trip to Disney. So grateful to stay for the friendly and thoughtful service we received. James at the front desk is welcoming and so helpful. He made the check-in/check-out process quick and easy and is very knowledgeable about the area restaurants and attractions. We felt truly "at home". We will return again soon. Special thanks also to Amy in reservations who helped book our room. So delightful!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff H, General Manager at Candy Cane Inn, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you for allowing us the opportunity on your recent visit to the Theme Parks, we appreciate your business and kind comments. We take great pride in our hotel and our wonderful staff and we thank you for recognizing this. Kind regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We feel you can't go wrong choosing the Candy Cane. We've stayed numerous times and always feel relaxed at right at home. We were there in june 2013 and our son had an allergic reaction to peanuts. Yjey arranged transportation for us to a hospital and the nest morning James (I think it was) drove my husband to the drugstore and waited until he got the prescription. Moast places would've probably handed us a list of cabs. I think they go out of their way to accomodate their guests. The breakfast is sufficient and can be taken to your room. The shuttle drivers are very helpful and nice. Everyone has already said all the good things. But please save us a room. I'm tryiung to book now and it seems your inn is full . Thanks for the great stays.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff H, General Manager at Candy Cane Inn, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you so much for being a loyal and repeat member of the Candy Cane Inn family. We appreciate your business and kind comments regarding our property and team of service professionals. I’m glad to hear your son was well taken care of and we are very proud of our Front Desk staff, who continue to work hard and give the best guest service possible to all our guests! Please feel free to contact me personally when returning as it would be my pleasure to assist with rates and reservations. Kind regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mendocino, California, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Stayed in May, took grandson to D land. Room was clean, comfy beautiful flowers nice pool area lotsa nice families and kids having fun breakfast buffet was just right. Shuttle service was great. Would definitely return!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff H, General Manager at Candy Cane Inn, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and we appreciate your feedback about our rooms and services. We receive many positive comments about our exclusive complimentary shuttle and I am delighted that you found our service enjoyable. Please feel free to contact me personally when returning as it would be my pleasure to assist with rates and reservations. Kind regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
136 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Got rooms in the back and 2nd floor as most suggested for a little more money. Worth it as more quiet for sure. Rooms are clean and spacious with queen beds. You need shuttle to get to Disney which the inn offers for free. Internet and breakfast were also free. Worth the stay with nice staff and clean place.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff H, General Manager at Candy Cane Inn, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your kind comments with fellow TripAdvisor travelers. We appreciate your business and delighted that your experience was wonderful and you were able to enjoy our many complimentary amenities. Kind regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metuchen, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Beautifully kept landscape, rooms are clean and up to date and the staff, friendly. Breakfast offered is plentiful and the location is convenient to Disneyland. Price compared to the big hotel chains - this place beats them all.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff H, General Manager at Candy Cane Inn, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us and sharing your comments with fellow TripAdvisor travelers. We Do appreciate and work extremely hard to earn and keep your business. Kind regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turlock, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

If you stay off the Disney property Stay Here. Our original plan was to spend two nights in another hotel. Due to the convention in town decent rooms were virtually non-exsistent. I had tried to book with the Candy Cane (we were referred by friends) prior to our visit and was unable due to they were sold out. Many friends had told me this was the place to stay and I was disappointed that I was not able to get a room. We were able to get a room at another establishment right across the street from the entrance so of course we took it due to available rooms were either much farther away or ones I thought I would not consider staying in. Well let me tell you that we spent one night wondering what we were smelling and laying on, totally gross. Desperate to get another room I tried the Candy Cane again in hopes that there had been a cancellation and to my delight there had been. The gentleman I spoke with was pleasant and professional. Upon arriving to the room (243) I made note of how clean it was. The room featured some nice touches. The sample size personal care items actually smelled nice and seemed to be decent quality compared to what hotels in this catagory offer. The small fridge had a couple of water bottles and there was a couple of nice biscotti to go with your coffee. They offer a delivered in room complimentary breakfast which is nice because dragging yourself down to a continental breakfast bar stinks when you would just like to stay in your jammies and drink coffee. The beds were comfortable and smelled and looked super clean. The bathroom was clean and showed that the cleaning staff looks in the nooks and crannies. The only negatives were when I called down to ask a question regarding the in room breakfast the lady I spoke with seemed irritated by my question. It was 1am when I called so maybe that had something to do with that. The last thing is that the quality of the breakfast items was just ok but, it was free and I did not have to leave so overall it was acceptable. Overall a wonderful experience at the Candy Cane. The typical hotel on the Disney strip is just doing what it takes to get by while the Candy Cane seems to be striving to provide a guest with a good expirience. If you measure this hotel against competitors in the same catagory the Candy Cane wins. The small things really do matter and show a guest that you care about making their stay as nice as possible.

Room Tip: Some rooms have table a chairs right outside the door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff H, General Manager at Candy Cane Inn, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
I am delighted to see that you were able to stay with us after we were recommended by many of your friends and that your experience was wonderful. Yes, our Premium Rooms have many nice amenities and guests certainly appreciate these during their stay. Please feel free to contact me personally when returning as it would be my pleasure to assist with rates and reservations. Kind regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.6 mi away
Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground
0.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
#2 of 115 in Anaheim
4.5 of 5 stars 592 reviews
0.6 mi away
Disneyland Hotel
Disneyland Hotel
#10 of 115 in Anaheim
4.5 of 5 stars 1,771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Castle Inn and Suites
Castle Inn and Suites
#12 of 115 in Anaheim
4.0 of 5 stars 1,100 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ayres Hotel Anaheim
Ayres Hotel Anaheim
#1 of 115 in Anaheim
4.5 of 5 stars 1,456 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Park Place Inn - Mini Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candy Cane Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candy Cane Inn

Address: 1747 South Harbor Blvd., Anaheim, CA 92802
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Anaheim
#2 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#2 Best Value Hotel in Anaheim
#20 Business Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 171
Also Known As:
Candy Cane Hotel Anaheim
Candy Cane Inn Anaheim
Candy Cane Anaheim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candy Cane Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.