We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect first visit to Disneyland!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Candy Cane Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Anaheim
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Candy Cane Inn
Save Saved
You added Candy Cane Inn to your Saves list
1747 South Harbor Blvd., Anaheim, CA 92802   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 112 hotels in Anaheim
San Francisco, California
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Perfect first visit to Disneyland!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

As first time visitors to the Disneyland Resort, we wanted everything about our stay to be easy and convenient. Our stay at the Candy Cane Inn was all I could have hoped for! The property is charming - lots of flowering bougainvillea, cobblestone parking area, all very beautifully maintained. It felt like a little oasis in the busy, tourist area around Disneyland.

Our room (#136) was super clean, the beds comfortable, and on the first night we watched the fireworks display out our window while lounging in bed!

The staff was accommodating, friendly, and always helpful - I'd like to give a special thanks to Danilo Gonzalez (Executive Housekeeper) and anyone else on the staff who took the effort to find my son's lost teddy bear and have it back in our room before bedtime!

The shuttle service was always prompt, and even though we often walked to the parks (took us about 7-8 minutes), the option to ride after a long day on our feet was welcomed. The continental breakfast was fresh and a nice way to start the day. We never had to buy breakfast in the parks.

Thanks to everyone at the CCI who helped to make our stay memorable. We will visit again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff H, General Manager at Candy Cane Inn, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Thank you so much for allowing us the opportunity on your first visit to the Theme Parks. I am sincerely delighted that the Candy Cane Inn delivered “all that you could have hoped for!” I am very happy that Danilo and team were able to reunite your son’s teddy bear and him for a peaceful and restful night. Kind regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,096 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,290
    582
    131
    54
    39
See reviews for
1227
247
21
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Stayed at Candy Cane Inn in March 2013 with a family of 4. This hotel is plane, clean. There is a really nice continental breakfast. No hot food, but good selection of pastries, fruit, yougurt. Nice pool and jaccuzzi, also used as an overflow area during breakfast. Staff was nice and accommodating, although when we arrived at noon, our room was not ready and they had nothing to offer.
Best of all, this motel is within a really short walk to the park gates. There is a convenient shuttle from the hotel to the park too. We did both.
This hotel is a very economical ,convenient and great option when visiting Disneyland.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff H, General Manager at Candy Cane Inn, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. We do believe in providing quality accommodation and exceptional service while being mindful of travelers on family budgets. Kind regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle, Idaho
Top Contributor
222 reviews 222 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Just got back from a 2 week trip through Nor/Socal, we stayed at the Candy Cane on trip adviser reviews. We we not disapointed , good breafast clean rooms helpful staff . all for $130 A NIGHT !!! We will be back ,

Thanks Mike & Cindy !

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff H, General Manager at Candy Cane Inn, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Thank you for staying with and sharing your comments with fellow TripAdvisor travelers, we appreciate your business. Kind regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

We spent four nights at the Candy Cane Inn, and as per the other reviews lived up to its reputation. Good possition and generally well run establishment. We had an issue with non performance of hot water, this was resolved with first a call from the Manager Jeff and followed by a gift basket and of course HOT water, a rare experince these days. If you are a family brave enough to spend 4 days in Disney Land then this is the spot for you.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff H, General Manager at Candy Cane Inn, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and it was my pleasure to speak with you while you were on property. I am delighted that you understood of the situation that occurs at times with the calcium level here in Anaheim and how it plays havoc on water valves and cartridges. Warm regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahwatukee, Arizona, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Our family recently stayed at the Candy Cane Inn for three nights. We chose this hotel based on the reviews we read on Tripadvisor. We have been to Anaheim numerous times and have stayed at nearly all the hotels close to Disneyland. While the grounds are beautiful and the pool/breakfast area is great that is where it ends. When we went to check in the cost of our room had been changed to reflect a $10 a night increase. When I protested and insisted that the confirmation email did not say $139 a night, they did not believe me. They were not rude just irritated that they had to wait for me to pull the confirmation letter up on my phone. Once I showed the letter they changed the price back and could not begin to explain why the price had changed. While parking is free, get there early to find a spot. The lot fills up fast. We checked in at 2:30pm and found ourselves driving around the lot for a spot. Our rooms, on the second floor, were so outdated. The beds were uncomfortable, the furniture was outdated, the TV was ancient, and the bathroom was not clean (hair in the tub and on the floor). While I am not above staying in outdated rooms, I do like the room that I pay $129 plus tax for to have ambiance. Even after housekeeping cleaned the room, there was still hair, that was not ours, in the bathroom that I had to clean up. The room also never dried out and my multivitamins became soggy, odd and gross. These two rooms were just blah. I really expected more and was saddened by the rooms. Breakfast was also a MAJOR let down. The breakfast consisted of nothing but carbs and in today's world that does not fly. Yes, there was bananas, two apples, three oranges, and yogurt, however; the rest was bread, bagels, muffins, donuts (stale), and cereal - CARBS! No protein at all. Gross! The set up for breakfast also needs to be rethought. The flow does does not work and the area becomes EXTREMELY crowded fast. If the hotel would add protein (eggs/bacon/sausage), better fruit, and split the items into two groups, outside and inside, the breakfast would be a selling point. Overall, we would not stay here again nor would I recommend it to friends. Back to the Best Western we go!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff H, General Manager at Candy Cane Inn, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and providing us with this valuable feedback regarding your experiences. We do listen to our guest and certainly discuss and implemented operational changes based on the overall operation and thank our guests for bringing items that will enhance the overall guest experience. Kind regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada, United States
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We picked the Inn based on other positive reviews. We like the very easy location. We could easily walk back and forth to DLR, but we liked having the option to use their shuttle, and it was nice for a midday break and at the end of the day after our feet were tired.

The food was good, but it does get crowded in the breakfast room, and seating is limited, so I recommend going early or grabbing a tray to take it back to your room.

The rooms were very comfortable and nicely decorated. I have to agree with other viewers, though--the floor was gross. The carpet was dirty and bumpy, so I kept my flip flops handy.

We've stayed at BWI and PPI across the street from the DLR, and this was slightly less than both of those. Even if it was the same price and even though they have evening snacks, free water, and a fruit basket, I'd still stay here. I'm going to stay here from now on, because I like knowing the reviews are consistently good and the place really is very pretty. The places across from the DLR look more like seedy motels, this one's very pretty.

Room Tip: We asked for top floor so we wouldn't have kids running around above us. Other than that, there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff H, General Manager at Candy Cane Inn, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and bringing your comments to our attention. I would like to bring up that we have reviewed guest feedback and started renovation in our guestrooms and are continuing the ceramic tile directly across in front of the sink area as this is very high traffic. Kind regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Have just completed a 4 night stay at this hotel and were very impressed. The rooms, although small, have had some upgrading and are quite comfortable. There is a continental breakfast bar which doesnt offer any hot items, but is well stocked with buns, muffins, yogurt, cereal and fruit. The seating area in the breakfast room is small but there is an overflow area outside on the patio surrounding the pool.This can be quite pleasant on a morning when the weather is nice.The staff are exceptional at this hotel. They go out of their way to be helpful and are always smiling and friendly.The hotel has their own shuttle bus to Disneyland which runs back and forth every half hour. While this is an excellent bonus, the hotel is only a 2 block walk from the entrance to the parks, consequently we found ourselves walking if we were leaving between the bus departure times. There is a convenience store next to the property and many dining options within a 2 block radius.Would have rated it 5 stars if not for the slightly dated and smallish rooms. A very good place to stay.

Room Tip: I believe there are deluxe rooms at the back which are nicer than those near the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff H, General Manager at Candy Cane Inn, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us and sharing your comments with fellow TripAdvisor travelers. Yes, our deluxe rooms are approximately 45 square feet larder than our standard rooms allowing additional free floor space. Our premium rooms are another 40 plus square feet larger than the deluxe and provide additional amenities and services. Please feel free to contact me personally when returning as I would be delighted to assist with rates and reservations. Kind regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Candy Cane Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candy Cane Inn

Address: 1747 South Harbor Blvd., Anaheim, CA 92802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#2 Best Value Hotel in Anaheim
#3 Family Hotel in Anaheim
#15 Business Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Candy Cane Hotel Anaheim
Candy Cane Inn Anaheim
Candy Cane Anaheim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candy Cane Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.